|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Paper » Reviews » Junk Mail » User review

Junk Mail

The delivery of advertising material to recipients of postal mail

< read all 3 reviews

Stop Junk Mail and Save Some Trees

  • Mar 18, 2010
  • by
Rating:
-5

In the average year Americans receive 19 billion catalogs in the mail. That boils down to 3.6 million tons of paper at the cost of 53 million trees. Production of the paper used for American catalogs uses the same amount of energy required to power 1.2 million homes in a year, and contributes annual emissions equal to that created by 2 million cars. The junk mail that comes to your house can be controlled.  The following will help you to reduce your junk mail.


Register online for Mail Preference Service

There is no fee for online registration. Visit: https://www.dmachoice.org/dma/member/regist.action


Register for the Mail Preference Service by mail
. Send a letter plus a $1 check or money order to:

Mail Preference Service
Direct Marketing Association
PO Box 643
Carmel, NY 10512

Click here for a simple mail-in form, www.privacyrights.org/Letters/jm1a.htm.
 

When you register, your name and address are placed in a do not mail file which is updated monthly and distributed to DMA members quarterly. DMA members are required to update their lists at least quarterly, and some do it monthly. Businesses who are not members of the DMA also take advantage of this do not mail list, so registering with the DMA will reduce much of your junk mail.
 

Register names of deceased


The Direct Marketing Association also gives you the ability to register the names of deceased loved ones with their Deceased Do Not Contact list (DDNC) at: https://preference.the-dma.org/cgi/ddnc.php. Click on the Continue button at the button of the page to get to the form.
 

Hey, want to stop telemarketers too?  For information on the federal "Do Not Call" list to avoid telemarketer calls, see: https://www.donotcall.gov/default.aspx


No one likes getting junk mail or being interrupted by a telemarketer in the middle of a Dukes of Hazzard marathon so these steps should be beneficial for you.  I know they are for the environment.
Stop Junk Mail and Save Some Trees Stop Junk Mail and Save Some Trees Stop Junk Mail and Save Some Trees Stop Junk Mail and Save Some Trees

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
24
Post a Comment
February 03, 2011
Thanks for the info, Clay! I went ahead and opted out for everything, I hope that works since junk mail just annoys me to no end. Now, if only I can figure out how to get my email address off of spam lists LOL. Thanks again!
 
March 29, 2010
hate junk mail...hate them so much! there's no purpose for them since e-mail...but it does get the postal workers employed. Thanks for all the great info and contact lists!
March 29, 2010
Good point. Since many email spammers aren't getting to their targets they are trying again via snail mail. Signing up for the Direct Marketing Association can be spam filter for your junk mail.
 
March 24, 2010
Some excellent suggestions here. I just registered to have a lot of this junk mail stopped. However, I will believe it when I see it but it sure is worth a try. Landfills and recycling centers are simply overwhelmed by this stuff. A great topic!
March 24, 2010
Registering did reduce junk mail for me. However, it may take a few months to fully take effect. Thanks.
 
March 23, 2010
Very helpful, Clay! I knew about the do not call list but not about the junk mail one. Thanks!
March 24, 2010
Thank you. Same with me. I hadn't heard of the junk mail list until a couple of years ago. I registered immediately and I'm glad I did.
March 24, 2010
I signed up the same day I read this with the junk mail list. I'm curious to see whether it makes a difference and how much.
 
March 22, 2010
Fabulous review, and SO very helpful. Once again, great job, Clay. If there is anything I hate is being interrupted by a telemarketer during my Dukes of Hazzard marathon. ;)
March 22, 2010
Thanks. I just knew using Dukes of Hazzard in the review was going to hit home for some.  I'm glad I didn't go with Mork and Mindy
 
March 18, 2010
Just what the planet ordered!:) I need to be on a "do not mail or call" list asap! Thanks for this valuable information. I'm signing up today. It really is unbelievable how much paper goes to waste!
March 18, 2010
I am on both lists and I practically receive no telemarketers anymore and my junk mail has been dramatically reduced. After a month or so the only solicitations from mail or phone are those you've worked with before in the past (credit card companies, banks, etc.) Thanks.
 
March 18, 2010
I loathe junk mail. I never even look at it, it goes straight into the recycling bin. All the shopping flyers are the most annoying because I don't do shopping! Thanks for those links, I just opted out of receiving everything. Hopefully giving them my email will not bring more junk to my inbox!
March 18, 2010
Yep, what little junk mail I end up with it goes into the recycling bin. I don't think they will send email spam to you, if they do at least there's email spam guard.
 
1
More Junk Mail reviews
Quick Tip by . May 17, 2011
Bad enough that the mailmen in my part of the country have stopped caring about junk mail to the extent that they ignore apartment numbers and shove all the catalogs into a single mailbox. Worse how much paper gets wasted in catalogs that not everyone reads.
review by . April 24, 2009
I hate junk mail with a passion. I realize that marketers are slow to adopt new technologies, but despite decades of all us complaining about it they now have an electronic alternative that doesn't waste endless piles of paper in email. It's cheaper for them too, easier for us - every company that sends unwanted crap in the mail is simply showing that they don't understand their potential customers. Even my parents - nearly 70 and first-time Internet users about 5 years ago - said, and I quote, …
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Ranked #51
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Junk mail is the delivery of advertising material to recipients of postal mail. The delivery of advertising mail forms a large and growing service for many postal services, and direct-mail marketing forms a significant portion of the direct marketing industry. Some organizations attempt to help people opt out of receiving advertising mail, in many cases motivated by a concern over its negative environmental impact.

Advertising mail includes advertising circulars, catalogs, CDs, “pre-approved” credit card applications, and other commercial merchandising materials delivered to both homes and businesses. It may be addressed to pre-selected individuals, or unaddressed and delivered on a neighborhood-by-neighborhood basis.
 

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists