|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Celebrities » Reviews » Kim Kardashian and Kris Humphries Divorce » User review

What Happens When Your Courtship is Aired on E!? Your Marriage Ends in Divorce.

  • Oct 31, 2011
Rating:
-3
After 72 days, countless hours on E! Television, and a $10 million dollar wedding, Kim Kardashian filed for divorce from Kris Humphries earlier today, citing irreconcilable differences. This is the second marriage for Kardashian and the first for Humphries.

Some of the irreconcilable differences have been the inability to agree on a place to settle down (Humphries' Minnesota vs Kardashian's LA), separate outings without wedding bands, Kardashian spotted having lunch with ex-love Reggie Bush over the weekend, her dedication to fame, work and her mother, her view that Humphries was lazy and a mooch because he's unemployed due to the NBA lockout, her dislike of being the major breadwinner, and the need to put Humphries on an allowance (friends of Humphries denies this, he has his own money to spend).

"After careful consideration, I have decided to end my marriage," Kardashian told E! News in a statement. "I hope everyone understands this was not an easy decision. I had hoped this marriage was forever, but sometimes things don't work out as planned. We remain friends and wish each other the best."

Humphries immediately responded: "I love my wife and am devastated to learn she filed for divorce. I'm committed to this marriage and everything this covenant represents. I'm willing to do whatever it takes to make it work."

Who can honestly say that they're surprised over this one? I think that Kardashian is in love with the idea of marriage without any real idea of what it takes or desire to learn what marriage means. She had no interest in attempting to work things out or having these important conversations about where to live, who will be the breadwinner, who will take care of the house/kids, who takes care of the bills, what marriage means to each person before she went on this whirlwind wedding planning craziness.

Their entire marriage was a farce, a joke on the sanctity of marriage. The $10 million wedding had 500 guests, FIVE HUNDRED of their "closest friends", which included: Demi Lovato, Babyface, Vera Wang, Mario Lopez, Mark Ballas, Ciara, Carmelo Anthony, Eva Longoria and Eduardo Cruz, Ryan Seacrest and Julianne Hough, Alan Thicke, Cheryl Burke, Melanie Brown, Maria Menounos, Sugar Ray Leonard, Serena Williams, Kathie Lee Gifford, Brittny Gastineau, Greta Van Susteren, Jillian Barberie, Brody Jenner and Avril Lavigne, Scottie and Larsa Pippen, and Dina, Ali and Lindsay Lohan. What a joke! It was hyped up by the E! PR team and played out for everyone's amusement- could Kim, who rose to fame after the release of a sex tape with Ray J, have found true love with a professional athlete....FINALLY? After all, everyone had assumed that her and Reggie Bush were going to be married which never came true.

For a man that isn't a fan of pappos (paparazzi) in his face and wanted to settle down in Minnesota, I'm a little surprised that Humphries would go on this goose chase and allow for himself to be tabloid fodder as well as followed by the Kardashian camera crew 24/7....maybe he did need to make extra money because of the lockout.

When I first heard of this, I turned to F and asked, do you think this is a publicity stunt because Kourtney and Kim Take New York is already being hyped (though it's not due to premiere until November 27th)? They had all decided to live in the same place and that's just a recipe for great ratings- Kim and Kris with Kourtney and Scott. Just saying....it wouldn't be such a stretch for the fame hungry/workaholic Kardashian Klan, would it?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
27
Well-Organized
24
Post a Comment
November 04, 2011
Do you think that, before the marriage, the two of them ever actually sat down and, you know, TALKED about these issues?
November 04, 2011
Ummmm.....no. She had told him that she would change her last name, her mom had a conniption because it would harm her brand, she then told him she wouldn't change her name, he was mad but, didn't really say anything. That's probably a good example of how any possible conversation about important marriage defining conversations went.
 
November 02, 2011
Good comments and I agree with you on all of them. The whole thing makes me sick. There goes our society down the drain.
November 02, 2011
Me too, it makes me really sick. As a newlywed, myself, I could never imagine exploiting myself, my marriage or my husband under any circumstances. And she did it for an average of $140,000/day...disgusting. While our teachers, non-profits, and fire/police/EMTs along with plenty other people don't even get a fraction of that for doing work that builds up our community. Ugh!
November 02, 2011
Congratulations, newlywed! Many years to you.
November 02, 2011
Thank you! Well, we've already outdone Kim and Kris, so that's a good thing lol
 
November 01, 2011
I wish someone would sign us up for a reality show...I bet we can come up with much more involving drama and storylines than these so called 'reality shows'.
November 01, 2011
Word.
 
November 01, 2011
She's a spoiled little rich brat who has nothing else better to do than advertise herself in any way possible and he is just plain stupid to think someone like her really wanted to be with him - he was a pawn in her immature publicity stunt -- marriages, (or relationships for that matter) with women like that (ex. Paris Hilton) NEVER work because SHE will always come first; they have no conscious where other people are concerned. Just shows you how easily some men can be manipulated by looks, fame and money - they're blind to anything else or just don't care at the time!
November 01, 2011
Exactamundo, Brenda! You could see it whenever she would try to stick up for the relationship and put that first her mom would just rail down on her, guilt her into doing what she wanted because Kim is her moneymaker. It's actually sad that those girls aren't allowed to live their own lives, thank God the younger ones have Bruce, who is a saint to live with all that craziness.
November 01, 2011
I don't keep up with the Kardashians so I'm not really sure who everyone is - only by seeing previews, etc. but I just loathe women like that..period! The women who are famous and rich for no apparent reason just get under my skin as they are spoiled, demand attention at anyone's cost and will do damned near anything to keep the attention to themselves...and it is a shame because they all are beautiful women. I'm not beautiful or rich, but at least I can sleep at night cuz I'm not worried about who's life I'm gonna ruin tomorrow!! Is it the mom that causes all the problems or is it them? -- since I don't follow them closely I don't know....
November 01, 2011
I think it's both...the mom has gotten much more selfish and fame hungry as the show has been given more seasons. She refers to her daughters as brands and got angry when Kim even thought of changing her name to Humphries. So, yeah, you're not missing anything because it would just make you angry. I can't stand people like that- men or women that put themselves above everything and everyone. There's so much more that people in position of fame (however they found it) could use it for and for far better causes than furthering their own selfish cause.
November 01, 2011
It would make me angry; you're right about that! Do you think the mom is really like that, or is it all just show for TV and ratings? I'll never understand reality TV - I just hate it LOL
 
November 01, 2011
Poor Kris Humphries. I love the Kardashians. Their antics amuse me, but I feel bad for anyone who gets caught in it. 'm sure this was all a publicity stunt on her part. Not sure about Kris' position on it though.
November 01, 2011
He had no idea she was filing. I think someone told him about a tweet about it...isn't that the worse? It's like that Sex and the City episode when Carrie gets dumped via Post It but, so much worse! I think he really wasn't comfortable with Kris' (mom) control/obsession with Kim's career and all the cameras and BS that comes along with dating a Kardashian. Him and his family wasn't a part of the wedding at all....so that's a red flag. Too bad on all sides, though- divorce is never a good thing.
November 01, 2011
What?! That's so wrong!
November 01, 2011
Actually I did some digging because I didn't want to mislead you and yeah, he found out through TMZ, the same way everyone else did. I think that's worse!
 
October 31, 2011
It looks she wanted the fantasy of the wedding, but couldn't cope with the reality of marriage. I think perhaps she should have told her husband first of her intention to divorce, rather than make a press release. Two words. Class act. You certainly would not have be a psychic to know this one would not work out.
October 31, 2011
Exactly! Poor guy had no clue it was coming. I have two words: Classless act lol
November 01, 2011
And now her Mom is hitting the talk shows to talk about her book, her daughters divorce, and her guilt over how she could could have prevented Nicole Brown Simpon's death. Great timing. It seems like everything is a business opportunity with these people. On the one hand I respect it, on the other it makes me cringe. I don't think she will make as much with next wedding. Marry in public, repent in private. There are a lot better things to do with 10 mil than give it to Kim K.
November 01, 2011
Well, at least I'm not alone in thinking it's all for PR purposes. It is so disgusting that she uses her kids and doesn't put their happiness first, ruining marriages and lives along the way all in the name of money and fame. As for the $10 mil, that disgusts me more than Kris Jenner because in this day and age, it could've been put toward so much more than a joke of a wedding that should never have happened.
November 02, 2011
Now Kris Jenner says Kim never made a cent on the wedding. I find that hard to believe as it broadcast on the E! network.
November 02, 2011
Well, that's B.S. She made over $14 mil on the wedding and on average, during the time that they were married, she made $140,000/day. Now, doesn't that make you reeeeaaally sick? While our teachers and police/fire/EMTs don't even get paid a decent fraction of that, this person is making money exploiting herself and her marriage. Ugh!
November 07, 2011
I am in the UK at the moment. Don't hear anything about the Kardashians over here. Yippee.
November 08, 2011
Jim- I don't think they deserve large sums of money just because of that. It is true, that actors and musicians work incredibly hard (musicians historically and typically more so) and deserve a decent windfall because of the hard work, not just because. I don't think anyone feels that way about KK though I would argue that she does work hard under her mom's reign, no one can argue that- the girl hustles.

@- Lucky you!
 
1
More Kim Kardashian and Kris Humphr... reviews
review by . November 09, 2011
It's not that I hate Kim Kardashian so much as a toxic media culture that enables these kind of shallow, vapid avatars to thrive. It seems like there's no end of Paris Hiltons and Lindsay Lohans to fill the airwaves with countless hours of inane bullshit.      There's something screwy with our priorities when people freak out about gay marriage but think that a $10mm televised sham is just fine. We worry when Janet Jackson's nipple makes an unscheduled appearance …
Quick Tip by . November 01, 2011
posted in Pass The Remote!
Caption
Couples and gimmicks like this RUIN the true sanctity of Marriage...
Quick Tip by . November 01, 2011
So the most famous for nothing person gets an immediate divorce? Is this supposed to be news? At least the Brittany Spears divorce after one day of marriage was entertaining and yes by the way she does have a singing career.
Quick Tip by . November 04, 2011
posted in Pass The Remote!
And we thought the short marriage between Nick Lachey and Jessica Simpson was bad because they spent two years on reality TV before a divorce! Do you think anybody ever bothered to sit these two down in front of a therapist to give them a good long talking-to about what marriage means? I have a better grasp of what marriage requires than these two, and I've never even been in a serious relationship. And we're worried about gay people getting married? Sheesh! Maybe we should amend the constitution …
Quick Tip by . November 01, 2011
Consider all the poor people in this country who could have used these idiot's wedding money - $10 million goes a long way and I'm sure the poor's gratitude would have lasted MUCH longer than the marriage itself......
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #15
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

After 72 days of marriage and a $10 million wedding, Kardashian filed for divorce from Humphries.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists