|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Iphone Applications » Reviews » Kindle for iPhone » User review

Kindle App screen photo

iPhone application that allows you to read books on your iPhone and syncs with the Kindle book reader.

< read all 8 reviews

I may go blind but I'm enjoying myself.

  • Apr 4, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

I didn't think this application would interest me. The thought of reading an entire book on my iPhone didn't seem like something I would enjoy. Considering that I haven't had time to read a "real" book cover to cover in a decade I thought I would give it a shot. I have now finished my third book in less than two weeks. Having it on my iPhone has enabled me reading opportunities that I wouldn't have had before. I am reading everywhere with a device that is already on me at all times. 

It's easy to use as well. I buy the book on Amazon, send it to my phone, open up the app and tell it to sync. It's there within 5 seconds. No long downloads or waiting. I also hear that it syncs with your Kindle device so you can read from either device and it always knows what page you are on. I am now contemplating actually buying the Kindle 2 as a way to get more words on the page at once. For anyone worried about readability on such a small screen you are able to change the size of your font. 

The best part about this app is it is free. Books range in price with most new releases being $9.99. While I can appreciate people having the love of a real book in their hands you just can't beat the convenience of having dozens of your favorite books on you at all times. It has brought back my joy of reading. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
45
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
February 13, 2010
I do not own one of these but nice job anyway.
 
August 20, 2009
Concise and consistent review. Well organized writing but needed a bit of balance. The iPhone application does have some drawbacks, I expect.
 
April 22, 2009
You convinced me! I just bought 16 Charles Dickens classics for $0.99!
 
April 10, 2009
Whoa, this has got to be one of the best iPhone apps I've ever heard of. Thanks for sharing!
 
April 04, 2009
All you need is the iPhone :-) I don't own a Kindle but I'm thinking about it now.
 
April 04, 2009
I'm waiting for the day that the iPhone Kindle app. will read a book out loud to me. ...Amongst other things for the iPhone ... like a projectable keyboard. But I'll definitely take a look at this in the App Store for this one. : ]
 
April 04, 2009
So, you don't need to own the Kindle? Just the iPhone?
 
1
More Kindle for iPhone reviews
review by . January 14, 2010
If you own an iphone and are an avid reader this is a great app. If you own a kindle this is a must have app. If you don't own a kindle and have been thinking about getting one the Kindle App is a great way to test your ability to read digitally before investing in a Kindle.       For all the reasons I love the kindle I equally enjoy this app. It's not as full featured as the Kindle but it provides the same convenience of the kindle: Lower cost books Access to …
review by . October 06, 2009
I'll be the first to admit that I don't read a much as I should.  When I do read, I enjoy it, but for some reason, finding the time to read has become more and more difficult lately.  For a recent flight I thought I'd purchase a book using Kindle for the iPhone to see if perhaps a technology gadget could get me to start reading again more.      While I didn't get to read at all during my cross-country flights (anyone flown with a 9 month old recently?), I have …
review by . March 30, 2010
posted in iApps
Kindle for the iPhone is a good reader if you don't mind the small screen size, and it is convenient for adding Kindlebooks from the iPhone.   The UI is simple and un cluttered, it is just for reading - as well it should be.
Quick Tip by . May 01, 2010
posted in iApps
I love reading on my Kindle and then switching to my iPhone when I'm on the go. I read twice as much!
Quick Tip by . April 07, 2010
Still relevant, and works great with the iPad kindle. amazon is till my source for books and music.
review by . June 09, 2009
The "Kindle" is a e-book reader that uses "electronic ink" instead of an LCD screen for it's display.  It's offered through Amazon.com, but there are other readers that use similar technology.... most notably the ones from Sony.   But these new readers are pretty expensive.       But now, for owners of an Apple Iphone or Ipod Touch, there's a free App from Amazon (Also called the "Kindle") that lets you Buy, Download, and Read the books offered in the "Kindle …
Quick Tip by . September 01, 2009
The Kindle app for the iPhone is a must, especially when used in conjunction with the kindle. http://lunch.com/t/gmn
About the reviewer
Marilyn ()
Ranked #536
I'm a Apple Systems Engineer for a company called mac-fusion in Signal Hill California. I'm here to try and stay up on all the stuff I don't have time for ;-)
Recent reviews by macgirl
About this topic

Wiki

Kindle for the iPhone allows iPhone and iPod touch owners to read Kindle books using a simple, easy-to-use interface. You can shop for hundreds of thousands of books at www.amazon.com/kindlestore, and wirelessly transfer the books to your iPhone or iPod touch. 

Read Kindle books on your iPhone or iPod touch
• No Kindle required
• Access your Kindle books even if you don't have your Kindle with you
• Automatically synchronizes your last page read between devices with Amazon Whispersync
• Adjust the text size, add bookmarks, and view the annotations you created on your Kindle
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists