|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Entertainment » Reviews » Kooza » User review

Kooza

Cirque du Soleil Show

< read all 1 reviews

Its a Circus for Adults

  • Nov 9, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
This is the 3rd Cirque du Soleil Show I’ve been to and it was just as awesome as the Vegas shows. Kooza (Sanskrit for "treasure" or "box") uses an actual circus theme, complete with clowns, high wire acts, and other death defying stunts. One big difference from the other shows I’ve seen is the huge amount of audience participation. From delivery men giving packages to people actually getting pulled onto the stage, the show was hilarious and there was always something going on somewhere in the room. We spent the whole show nudging each other, saying, “Hey look over there.”

The storyline was original, impressive and flowed flawlessly from act to act. The music (live band and vocalist) fit the action perfectly! But was really stood out was the actual performance! The gymnasts were twisting their bodies in ways I never knew a human body could, the unicyclist could dance better on his one wheel than I could with both feet, and the tightrope acrobats were amazing! I don’t really care for clowns, but the ones in this show were hilarious and theirs parts in the show were perfect. The most amazing part for me, however, was the “Wheel of Death.” Appropriately named, I really thought those guys were going to die. Like watching a scary movie, I was squeezing my fists so tight my nails were driving into my palms. I had to remember to breathe; it was so terrifying and amazing.

Needless to say, I recommend this show to anyone who wants to have a great time. And I can say this from experience: It’s a great place to take a date!!
Its a Circus for Adults Its a Circus for Adults Its a Circus for Adults Its a Circus for Adults

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
42
Thought-Provoking
31
Fun to Read
41
Well-Organized
28
Post a Comment
November 14, 2009
I can't wait to go check it out now to see guys twist their bodies in ways that no one should be able to. :)
 
November 13, 2009
neato
 
November 09, 2009
I've never been to Cirque du Soleil but now that it's here in LA, I gotta go see it! Thanks for the review!
 
November 09, 2009
Kevin! I so wanted to see this and your review makes me want to see it more! My nephew is coming to town over the Thanksgiving week so maybe I'll take him to see it.
 
November 09, 2009
Awesome review, Kevin!  I've still yet to catch a Cirque du Soleil show, but this looks and sounds like an amazing performance.  Where did you catch Kooza?
November 09, 2009
Its here in Santa Monica!
November 09, 2009
Darn. Well, I hope they travel soon. Thanks! :)
 
1
About the reviewer
Kevin Pak ()
Ranked #61
I'm a total nerd. I like comic books, science fiction books and movies, and I like LOST. I also used to be a huge World of Warcraft junkie but I don't have a whole lot of time for that. The X-Men are … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kevinism
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Like Cortéo, KOOZÅ (Sanskrit for "treasure" or "box") is another show that goes back to Cirque du Soleil's older styles. Premiering in Montreal, Quebec, Canada on 19 April 2007, the show's music is often inspired by South Asian (Indian) sounds. KOOZÅ makes use of a large traveling tower on the stage called a "bataclan". The bataclan moves over the course of the show and reconfigures the performing space.[29]

This show was directed by David Shiner, who had previously worked as a clown in Cirque's production of Nouvelle Expérience. He was another example of Cirque's trend of using new directors for each new performance. His past experience being a clown and working with the Swiss National Circus ("Circus Knie") are an influence on the lighthearted and whimsical nature of the KOOZÅ production.[30]


Website to buy tickets:
http://www.cirquedusoleil.com/en/shows/kooza/default.aspx

 

view wiki

Details

Polls
Alegria

Cirque Du Soleil 25th Anniversary

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists