|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » La Traviata (opera) » User review

Fancy a real drama opera? Spoil yourself with the The Tragic One!

  • May 19, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
This is the tragic (very operaesque) story of a love that's just not ment to be and in the end the tragic woman (who else) passes away after a lot of beautiful singing.
Well, don't get me wrong; opera is wonderful but the stories tend to be rather basic. Like this one: A party girl in Paris falls in love with a young man. After spending some happy months together, the money is gone. The boy's father shows up to tell the woman that she has to go for she is just a prostitute (well, kind of).
They part: she is desparate and he is furious. They have a huge row and seperate definitely. But in the end, just before she dies they get reunited to show their love and affection for one another. Too late.

Rating in opera actually depends on the performance, but let's just take the dvd-recording of Anna Netrebko and Rolando Villazon in Salzburg. Both singers perform splendidly and are able not only to sing but also to play the parts of the two lovers. Well, next to La Bohème this is a real true classical getting-tears-in-your-eyes opera that will haunt you (in a positive way) for the rest of your life.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1ELC9RBsqM

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
May 24, 2009
Great to see some opera content! Have you checked out Live Opera Screenings from the Met?  I saw a fantastic production of La Traviata at the La Fenice opera house in Venice, Italy.  As you say, the stories are simple, but its the music that lifts the drama to soaring heights. 
May 24, 2009
Ha, I'll see Madame Butterfly next month in Cologne. I'll tell you about it.
May 24, 2009
You better! Are you living in Germany now? I used to live in Italy and loved how all these amazing countries were nearby, so I could check out opera and plays all over Europe. :)
May 24, 2009
Actually, I live in the Netherlands now. But my city isn't far away from major cities like Cologne, Düsseldorf, Antwerp, Amsterdam or The Hague. That makes travelling around a lot easier.!
 
May 22, 2009
Awesome! I'm so excited so see an opera review! I was in the Children's Chorus for our community operahouse's production of La Boheme ages ago and it sparked a love for opera. I'll be checking this one out as well! You might be interested in weighing in on this discussion on opera.
May 24, 2009
Well, thanks for your helpful opera discussion tip. I checket it out and contributed my little share to the discussion.
 
May 19, 2009
I've seen La Bohème, and if La Traviata is comparable to it, then I've got to check it out!  I'm lucky enough to live really close to the San Francisco Opera House :)

By the way, if you want to edit your review, you can embed that YouTube video into your review (beautiful singing, by the way, and what a young opera singer!).  On top of where you edit the review, you'll see a a row of buttons, and clicking on the fourth one from the right will allow you to embed media.  An example of this is @Sharrie's review of Haylee Dee Westenra.  Just let me know if you have any questions about that :)
May 19, 2009
Thanks for your tip, Devora. But actually that's how I tried to embed the film from Youtube.... I'll get to La Boheme in another review!!
May 19, 2009
Hmmm.... How odd. Are you positive that you clicked on the "Embed Media" button and not the "Add Link" button? If so, this could be a glitch that needs to be fixed.

I'm looking forward to reading your La Boheme review! :)
May 19, 2009
Hmmm, I'm just new here, so probably I just made something wrong... Well, we'll see next time.
May 19, 2009
Oh, that's okay, at this rate, I'm sure you'll be up and running on Lunch in no time! :)
 
1
About the reviewer

Ranked #1452
Member Since: May 19, 2009
Last Login: Jan 10, 2010 06:39 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kaysachse
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists