|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Communter Bike » Reviews » Linus Bikes » User review

Linus Bike

Bicycle by Linus

< read all 1 reviews

The Bike of my Dreams

  • Nov 5, 2009
Rating:
+5

About a year ago I was on a mission to find the perfect bike. I had a vision in my head of what it would look like: white, elegant, affordable, and most of all aesthetically gorgeous. The type of bike that would make cyclists, and bystanders jealous. After scouring craigslist and online bike stores on an almost daily basis, not to mention hitting up what seems like every bike store in Los Angeles, I was beginning to think that my "perfect bike" didn't really exist. Enter Linus bike.

It was in June of this year that a friend sent me an email which included an online article from the site Yo Venice, and the email subject was simply, Look no Further. I opened the email with cautious optimism because so many times my search resulted in a bike that was almost what I was looking for, but not quite. Not this time. The bike was perfect, it was called The Dutchi, a commuter bike inspired by the French bicycle design of the 50s and 60s. Voila!

I quickly picked up the phone and dialed the new Linus bike shop on Abbott Kinney in Venice and asked a few more technical questions about the brakes, warranty, custom add-on options, and if I could come in for a test ride. That weekend I made a special trip to the Linus store to see if this bike was all that I had hoped for - it was. It was the color I wanted, had curved leather handle bars, leather seat, front and rear fenders and the medium-sized tires I was looking for. Practically perfect in every way.

After my first test ride, I quickly determined that this was my bike. Linus Bikes are not only gorgeous, but extremely comfortable to ride. They have four different models: Classic Roadster, Roadster Sport, The Dutchi, and The Mixte. Each are unique in their own way, with consistencies throughout like Shimano front wheel hubs, Tektro brake system, alloy rims and stainless steel spokes. Linus offers custom rear racks, and in my case I purchased a single speed Dutchi but added a front brake in addition to my existing rear brake.

Linus has received some great press like an article in Dwell and mentions is Daily Candy. This bike brand has a timeless quality that I think a lot of people will appreciate. Their customer service is top notch and the quality of the design and the overall aesthetic cannot be beat for the money. I highly recommend this bike for the expert or novice bike rider.
The Bike of my Dreams The Bike of my Dreams The Bike of my Dreams The Bike of my Dreams The Bike of my Dreams The Bike of my Dreams

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
35
Thought-Provoking
27
Fun to Read
32
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
August 03, 2011
This looks like a solid purchase. I still like the Schwinn bicycles for a high quality construction and smooth ride.
 
January 15, 2010
Just curious how much they cost and how that compares with other similar bikes. I tend to buy cheap (and get what I pay for).
January 15, 2010
My bike (The Dutchi) cost me around $500, however, I did customize it slightly. I had them add a front brake, and bought the rack for the back. But altogether with tax, etc, it was around $500. Each model varies, but I don't think there is a bike there that cost more than $600.
October 27, 2010
I LOVE this bike! I have 4 bikes right now and have been wanting a 5th. I have a racing road bike, a mountain bike, a fixie, and a junker cruiser. I hope there are vendors up in NorCal.
 
November 11, 2009
the bike they make for the Swedish army are amazing too...http://www.kronanstoreusa.com/
November 11, 2009
Oh my gosh, those are radical!!
November 11, 2009
they are super smooth...the guys at the bike shop we're drooling over my friends...that's how you know it's good! I still have the banana seat, handle bars with tassels though:)
 
November 05, 2009
Yeah, definitely gonna get this one if I ever buy a bike! Did you take the two top photos? I like them! If so you should write a review on your camera! :)
 
November 05, 2009
Awesome!  Do you have a cute little basket to take Sancho riding in?  If I were ever to get a bike, you've got me sold on this one.  I've always wanted a classic bike!

...Let's just try not to be like one of these guys ;P
November 05, 2009
I LOVE that 'Performance' video. My boyfriend and I sing that song while we are on the bikes all the time. So funny. Not to worry, I will never be that much of a bike fanatic.
November 05, 2009
Oh, and to answer your question about the basket, see the new photo I just posted. ;)
November 05, 2009
Ahhh, too cute! Thanks for posting! :)
 
November 05, 2009
great review, thx aunny! i'd love to hear more about what types of riding this bike is best for (beach cruising, vs long distance road biking, etc).
 
1
About the reviewer
Aunny ()
Ranked #144
Hi, my name is Aunny D. I was born and raised in the city that Mixmaster Mike made famous in the song 'So Wat'cha Want.' I have an obsession with my Boston Terrier, Sancho. "Sancho" … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
aunnyd
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki


Linus Bike is a Venice-based company that makes custom bikes, inspired by French communter bikes of the 1950s and 1960s. They make affordable, stylish bikes for men and woman that are elegantly designed and comfortable to ride.
view wiki

Tags

Linus Bikes, European Bike, French Design, 1 Speed, 3 Speed, Linus Dutchi Bike, Communter Bike

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists