|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Environment » Reviews » Littering » User review

anti-littering campaign

Not throwing away your trash

< read all 7 reviews

Litter bugs me

  • Feb 10, 2010
Rating:
-5
Don't Be A Litterbug

Wikipedia defines litter as "waste that people unlawfully dispose of out of doors. It can be packaging or other unwanted items. Litter can be vandalism, carelessness, or inadvertence. Litter is a form of visual pollution. It can harm health, safety, and welfare. It adversely affects wildlife and environmental quality."  That’s a pretty darn good definition.


I think that littering is the ultimate act in laziness and is such as selfish act. However, some people seem to feel that everywhere is their personal wastebasket. I can't tell you how many times I've found trash in my front yard from passer-bys who throw what they just finished eating or drinking from their vehicles. 

For example, a few months ago I awoke one morning to over 30 cigarette butts in my front yard sitting in a perfect pile.  Apparently someone stopped their vehicle, pulled out their dirty ashtray and dumped their entire ashtray in my yard.  Needless to say I wasn't very happy.   All I could do then was to clean it up.  What I can do now is to try to get some people to acknowledge their bad habit.

Not littering is about as easy of a green activity to get in the habit of doing as there is in this world.  If you are a habitual litterer: Stop littering!  Put your trash in the proper trash receptacle.  Cleaning up litter in the U.S. costs hundreds of dollars per ton, about ten times more than the cost of trash disposal, for a cost totaling about $11 billion per year.  Think of all you throw away which can be recycled as well.  Keep your corner of the world clean.  Think before you litter.  If you do that, you won't litter.
 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
19
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
13
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
March 26, 2010
Excellent video, I just loved it. Nice job Harold
 
February 12, 2010
Completely agree. I hate lazy selfish bastards who litter. Especially cigarette butts thrown from the window while on the freeway. Like it if you are going 80 mph it isn't littering? Not sure what they think to justify it but really litterbugs... you pack in, you pack it out and if you wouldn't throw on your living room floor don't throw it on the ground either.
 
February 12, 2010
Preach it! Completely agreed with you and your great review, Clay. Thanks for spreading the word!
 
February 12, 2010
Great review! I agree, littering is terrible and it always surprises me that people have such disrespect for the planet, it's very lazy and inconsiderate. Nice touch adding the video, very cute and poignant!
 
1
More Littering reviews
review by . September 25, 2010
posted in That's Beat
You seriously can't throw away your garbage?
Working as long as I have in retail, there is one thing that I will never get over.  When you see that shelf for merchandise to go, why do you think it's a place for your GARBAGE?!  I've seen kids leave whole Styrofoam trays of CRAP lying around on shelves, empty coffee cups and soda cans among other things.  I've caught and called out some people doing this and the response is always the same "Well there are no garbage cans around."  Any checkout station …
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in That's Beat
Seriously people, throw your crap away where it belongs. Don't be a child or lazy.
Quick Tip by . March 24, 2010
posted in Green Living
Nothing pisses me off more than to see trash flying out the window of a moving car. Ignorant people.
Quick Tip by . February 12, 2010
posted in That's Beat
We don't own the Earth and after we're gone, any animals still living will have to suffer because of our slovenly laziness. So don't litter!
Quick Tip by . February 12, 2010
Don't be a litterbug! For the sake of the environment, others, & yourself.
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Ranked #50
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Littering is when you throw your trash, cigarette butts, or any other refuse that's not thrown in the appropriate receptacles (ie. trash can or recycling bin).
view wiki

Tags

Green, Environment, Trash, Litter, Trash Removal

Details

First to Review

"Litter bugs me"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists