|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Living Social » User review

Living Social

An international social buying company based in Washington, D.C.

< read all 2 reviews

50% off a $20 Amazon Gift Card?

  • Jan 19, 2011
Rating:
+5
Yep, it's a Lunch Public Service Announcement: get a $20 Amazon gift card for $10 - but today only. There's no catch - they're just buying customers (naturally there's only one per person - poosticks).

Click here for the deal.




Regularly, this is a pretty decent GroupOn clone that has deals for cheapskates like me - I signed up for pretty much all of these sites through http://yipit.com so I don't get buried in email. Cheap is my middle name! Hopefully this fad for businesses to give away the shop every day won't go away. :-D

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
February 20, 2011
Cheap may be your middle name but these sites are certainly NOT cheap to have a stake in! Oh, my middle name is travel, LOL... Bangkok here I come (yes, again!)!
February 20, 2011
As for Amazon, well, hopefully it doesn't follow Borders' footstep! ;-)
February 20, 2011
Indeed - GroupOn has become the fastest growing company in the history of planet Earth. And that just doesn't seem right. I could definitely use a vacation but I think that will have to wait until 2012!
February 20, 2011
2012? Oh, I hope it's not to outerspace ;-)
February 20, 2011
GroupOn is ads on steroid!
 
January 30, 2011
I took advantage of this real quick!
 
January 19, 2011
I totally bought one of these today. I can't believe that they sold over half a million -- that's the most sales that I've ever seen for one of these deal of the day sites! I subscribe to all of these deal of the day sites, too, so thanks for the heads up on Yipit, I'll have to check it out.
January 19, 2011
Good move - apparently Yipit aggregates from over 291 similar services. Who would have believed that coupons could be so popular...
January 19, 2011
Ah, gone are the days of coupon clipping :)
January 19, 2011
I should of course mention the other coupon mecca of awesomeness - http://retailmenot.com. I never buy anything without checking here first! My cheapness is staggering.
January 19, 2011
Ooooh, thanks again for yet another great tip! :D
January 20, 2011
they sold over a million altogether! wow lol
January 20, 2011
Quite amazing - and it would probably had been 10 million if everyone I sent it to had signed up!
 
January 19, 2011
here's my code... if anyone want to buy this and get me a freebie!! https://livingsocial.com/deals/21336?ref=per...box-4488981&rpi=4488981
 
January 19, 2011
nice! did you put your code in the link so you could get yours for free? Wow!! they have already sold 717,000 of them and still 16 hours to go. We should use this thread to put other codes in here so people can earn them for free.
January 19, 2011
Yes - code inserted! I'll update the review when 3 have purchase so others can get the referral. Good thinking!
January 19, 2011
I just bought one using James' link. Here is mine: https://livingsocial.com/deals/21336?ref=conf-jp&rpi=4486885
January 19, 2011
sorry James... i bought mine off my wife's link.
January 19, 2011
Gah! I'm trying to convince my friends/family but everyone seems to think it's a scam. It's quite funny how when genuine things happen on the web, everyone becomes an instant skeptic.
January 19, 2011
Thanks PeccatorImpius - I owe you $3.33 of beer!
 
1
More Living Social reviews
Quick Tip by . March 17, 2011
posted in Social Good
For the next 18 hours, donate $5 to the Red Cross to aid relief efforts in Japan and Living Social will double your donation.  What a wonderful thing that they're doing!
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Ranked #12
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

LivingSocial is an international social buying company based in Washington, D.C. They specialize in daily deals offered in cities across the United States, as well as in Canada, Europe (at present only the UK and Ireland), and Australia. As of September 22, 2010, LivingSocial serves 89 markets The company first gained notoriety for their Visual Bookshelf application on Facebook which was the first and largest application allowing users to catalog and share their favorite books with friends. Later they released PickYourFive and Polls applications which made them the number one application developer on Facebook as measured by page views. Most recently, LivingSocial launched a daily deals business in 2009 which has become its highest grossing venture to date.

LivingSocial is a deal-of-the-day website notable for being a key competitor to market leader Groupon. According to reports in the Wall Street Journal and in the Huffington Post, it received $175 million in financing from Amazon. The site lets users sign up for a daily discount which is usually in the range of 50% to 75% off normal prices, at local businesses such as "pizzerias and hair salons". In December 2010, LivingSocial offered deals in 120 locations with 10 million subscribers getting daily emails. The firm also offers deals via the Google Android platform, and has promotions with Facebook. One report suggested that when a deal went live, that the retailer's phone began ringing immediately, requiring ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists