|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Lost (season 6) » User review

Lost (season 6)

The sixth and final season of the American serial drama television series Lost.

< read all 7 reviews

LOST in Ridiculousness

  • Feb 9, 2010
  • by
Rating:
-2
For those of you who missed the season premiere of LOST last week, here are just some of the Sci-Fi premises you might have missed:
  • Parallel Universe
  • Resurrection
  • Talking to dead people
  • Metamorphasis (both looking like someone else as well as transforming into a different creature altogether)
  • Teleportation
  • Time Travel
  • Surviving a hydrogen bomb blast at ground zero
  •  "I could have sworn I just put my keys there.." in the case of a missing coffin.
  • Underwater city of Atlantis
Any one of the story lines above would be a sufficient premise to launch a Sci-Fi TV series... However, the creators of LOST decided to take ALL of them and shove them into a single episode for last week's season premiere.  It's like someone blew up a creative writing seminar and the LOST writers pilfered all the crappy ideas still stuck to the walls.

The big reveal for this season is the parallel universe where the passengers on Oceanic Flight 815 don't actually crash into the Island but continue on to land safely in Los Angeles.  Casual fans of the show will notice a few differences in this parallel universe such as a slightly different passenger list or the fact that Hurley is incredibly lucky now rather than unlucky.  LOST fanatics will point out even more minute differences  such as in the Pilot episode, the flight attendent hands Jack TWO bottles of vodka, but in this altered universe, he is handed only one.  No one, however, has commented on the biggest discrepancy in that all the actors appear approximately 6 years older than when the flight first took off.

LOST has spun completely out of control.  Any type of suspense or character empathy has completely been destroyed now that there is no longer any continuity.  If someone dies, it may or not be permanent, or it may or may not have really happened, or that person may or may not have been a "good guy" -- whatever the case, I just don't care.  At this point, I don't have any expectations that any of the story lines will find resolution in this final season.  Will I still watch it?  You bet your ass I will.  With all the crap they unleashed in the season premiere, it's only a matter of time before we get spaceships, godzillas and hobbits... wait, scratch that.  Hobbits have been on the island the entire time thanks to Dominic Monaghan.  

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
22
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
16
Post a Comment
February 11, 2010
hilarious, and SO true! frustrating yet addicting all at once. I literally huffed and puffed my way through last night's episode, I was so aggravated.. but did I turn it off? nope ; )
 
February 10, 2010
LMAO. Great review. I'm watching now solely for the unintentional comedy factor.  In episode 2 I was fully expecting Claire to have an alien as her baby and see Sigourney Weaver in a robotic forklift come in to arrest Kate. But even watching for the unintentional comedy isn't delivering as it should... the absurdities have made the show completely boring too (from all standpoints).
February 11, 2010
I'm really hoping that once it's all over, they'll re-release the entire series on DVD with the director/writer commentary feature. I'd love for them to just come clean. "By this point, we had no idea what we were doing with the story, so we just started some internal bets to see how far off the edge we could go before ABC realized we were clueless."
 
February 09, 2010
I don't even watch Lost, but I still feel like it's such a tragedy that this saga is coming to an end for the sheer fact that you will no longer be writing your awesome Lost reviews, including this little gem.  On a side note, I may have to start Hulu-ing this stuff because I have a thing for ridiculously bad TV :D
 
February 09, 2010
Classic! It seems as if the writers are taking the shortcut route, rather than resolve all the questions and BS, if you will they have decide to just reboot the story and close it out in one season... perhaps this was the original idea.
 
February 09, 2010
Even with all this, you're still watching it??? Wow. What a brand they have built that they can keep you so loyal and engaged. Andrew, i LOVE your brand loyalty.... it makes wonder... Just think how bad Apple products could get before you'd abandon them... wait... that would be a Sci Premise that hasn't been created yet. How funny would it be if in the parallel universe in Lost, Apple was lame and PC was cool... that would probably get me watching Lost actually.
February 09, 2010
I think that the reviewer was halfway joking about the island under the sea being Atlantis. I don't think that he meant it literally was the lost city Atlantis; just something similar.
 
February 09, 2010
Haha I agree. I stopped watching this a while back after the writers became lost in their attempt to "wow" people with their twisted storylines and Sci-Fi premises, focusing less on why people fell in love with the show in the first place: it's characters. It seems like the writers are trying to be intelligent, but instead ended up making a mess.
 
1
More Lost (season 6) reviews
review by . December 21, 2010
NOTE:  Before I begin, the only point of this review is to say I was underwhelmed by the ending.  There may be spoilers in my review.  If you're anything like me,  you might want to bump the last season of LOST a little lower on the Netflix list and explore something new.  You've been warned.        SPOILER ALERTS:      A while back I wrote about the LOST Season 6 premiere, and now (thanks to Netflix recently getting access …
Quick Tip by . September 19, 2010
Though a bit of a let down ending, it was still up to the standards of quality and storytelling and awesomeness that was Lost
Quick Tip by . June 01, 2010
You have to watch it from the very beginning for it to be worth it.
Quick Tip by . March 01, 2010
First we had flashbacks, then they gave us flash forwards & now we have flash sideways. I'm sticking with the show through it all. Namaste.
Quick Tip by . February 03, 2010
Was more entertained w/ a WSJ article on Ben Bernanke when Lost was on. Made me realize I'll watch the last episode to see what it all means
Quick Tip by . February 03, 2010
premier left me lukewarm. it's just so convoluted at this point & has gone full tilt scifi - vs adventure/mystery. overacted more than ever
About the reviewer
Andrew ()
Ranked #24
I'm a technology early adopter. I thoroughly enjoy geeking out with the latest hardware, software and electronics. I probably have as much fun setting up, tweaking, and configuring systems as I do actually … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TeamAWAC
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The sixth and final season of the American serial drama television series Lost commenced airing in the United States and Canada on February 2, 2010. The sixth-season premiere was the first to climb in the ratings year-over-year since the second season, drawing 12.1 million viewers. The series finale will air on May 23, 2010. The season continues the stories of the survivors of the fictional September 22, 2004 crash of Oceanic Airlines Flight 815 on a mysterious island in the South Pacific. The survivors must deal with two outcomes of the detonation of a hydrogen bomb on the island in the 1970s. While the on-island story continues, "flash sideways" show an alternate timeline, in which Flight 815 never crashes. The season is reportedly scheduled to be released on DVD and Blu-ray on August 24, 2010, alongside a complete series boxset.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists