|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Fruits » Reviews » Lychee » User review

Lychee

A tropical fruit tree that is the member of the genus Litchi in the soapberry family Sapindaceae.

< read all 2 reviews

Lychee Fruit ...now available at Trader Joe's!

  • Aug 14, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
The Lychee (sometimes called the "Lychee nut") is an Asian favorite among tropical fruits.  Personally, I rate it at the very top of the list of my favorites.  Although very similar to the "Longon", the flavor of the fresh Lychee is more "flowery" and complex than it's cousin.  And unlike other Asian fruits (like Durian), enjoying Lychee doesn't require an  "acquired taste".  This means that most people would enjoy Lychee without fear (unlike people that have tried Durian).  It's hard to describe the taste of Lychee because it's very hard to compare with other fruits. My advice is just to be brave, and try it for yourself.

Also, the reason I decided to review Lychee is because I recently saw it at Trader Joe's!  It came in a medium plastic box (not  unlike strawberries) and costed about $4.00. Lychee is a seasonal fruit, so when it's in season (July/August) ... make sure you get your fix! :)

Note: Lychee is also available "canned"... but it's not half as good as it is fresh, and just doesn't taste the same. So I recommend trying it "fresh" first!

Lychee fruit Lychee fruit off the tree and cut in half

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
August 14, 2009
Trader Joe's is awesome for carrying lychee!  It's coincidental that you write a review on an Asian fruit, because I just wrote ones on durian and mangosteen, and created a list of my Favorite Exotic Fruits!  Of course, lychee is somewhere on it :D
August 14, 2009
I know that's crazy! I was just going to write one on Durian and Mangosteen too, but realized you beat me to it! What the heck is going on? We must be strangely connected or something! So who should write one on Longon, Rambutan, and Jack Fruit? ;)
August 14, 2009
I don't know... Looks like we're gonna have to duke it out for First To Review! :P
August 14, 2009
By the way, Polly Ann lychee ice cream (available at Ranch 99) is pretty darn good!  Lychee martinis are yum, too :)
August 14, 2009
LOL! "Duke" it out huh? Nice! Pun Intended? :)
August 14, 2009
I'm not following you :P
 
1
More Lychee reviews
Quick Tip by . April 29, 2011
posted in Fruit Lovers
Caption
Another one of the heaty fruits. Lychee looks like Longan internally but doesn't quite taste like it. When it's in season, it's awesome! It is less crunchy & chewy but a lot sweeter and juicier!
About the reviewer
Duc Truong ()
Ranked #63
I'm a man with many hobbies. I work a full-time job in the field of 'Lyophilization' for a small Pharmacuetical company. It's a dream job because it gives me lots of days off to pursue … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
dtruong
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The lychee (the U.S. Food and Drug Administration spelling) or laichi and lichu is the sole member of the genus Litchi in the soapberry family Sapindaceae. It is a tropical fruit tree. It is primarily found in China, India, Madagascar, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, southern and central Taiwan, northern Vietnam, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Southern Africa and Mexico. It is a fragranced fruit with a sweet taste.

It is a medium-sized evergreen tree, reaching 15–20 m tall, with alternate pinnate leaves, each leaf 15–25 cm long, with 2-8 lateral leaflets 5–10 cm long; the terminal leaflet is absent. The newly emerging young leaves are a bright coppery red at first, before turning green as they expand to full size. The flowers are small, greenish-white or yellowish-white, produced in panicles up to 30 cm long.

The fruit is a drupe, 3–4 cm long and 3 cm in diameter. The outside is covered by a pink-red, roughly-textured rind that is inedible but easily removed. They are eaten in many different dessert dishes. The inside consists of a layer of sweet, translucent white flesh, rich in vitamin C, with a texture somewhat similar to that of a grape only much less moist. The edible flesh consists of a highly developed aril enveloping the seed. The center contains a single glossy brown nut-like seed, 2 cm long and 1–1.5 cm in diameter. The seed, similar to a buckeye seed, is not poisonous but should not be eaten. The fruit matures from July to ...
view wiki

Tags

Fruits, Tropical Fruits, Lychee, Drink Ingredients

Details

Polls
banana

Tropical Fruits

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists