|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Politics » Reviews » Martin Luther King, Jr. » User review

Martin Luther King Jr.

An African American clergyman, activist and prominent leader in the American civil rights movement.

< read all 1 reviews

Martin Luther King, Jr. - A great leader & even better orator.

  • Jan 19, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

Enjoy your day off, if you have it. I would implore you to take 17 minutes out of your day to have a listen to Martin Luther King’s “I have a dream” speech. We have the day off in rememberance of a great American leader. Let us not forget that he was fighting for the rights of ALL Americans.

His greatest power was his oratory. There are plenty of great speakers, but a great orator is a rarity. An orator must not only communicate his/her words with clarity, but he must be able to move the audience much like musician. An orator has a charasmatic presence, a melodic tonal quality to their voice and the delivery is as much music as it is speech.

Listen to this speech given by a master orator. Listen to the chorus’ and the melodies. Listen as he crescendos to his big finish where the words of his speech AND the notes of his oratorical song are a passionate call to action.


 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
January 19, 2010
Thanks for pointing out the difference between a great speaker and a real deal orator.  I've listened to that speech so many times before, but listened to it again after reading your observations, and wow, I totally see what you're talking about.  Great review, JD!
 
January 19, 2010
Excellent! I put the same video on the Wiki on the right. I posted a review a year ago and it's still there -- Dr. King talks of a black president in the near future. We've had black candidates but Obama is the first. Thanks for this.
January 19, 2010
Hey...thanks! I saw that in the Wiki, but since I referenced the video in my review, I thought it needed to be there as well. I hope it's not too redundant.
January 19, 2010
No, not at all considering I have such trouble with videos disappearing. Surprisingly my BBC News video is still on my review, if you want to check it. It's an interview with Dr. King which I thought interesting. I'm sure you've heard the U2 Band tribute, In The Name of Love. I recently found out that Stevie Wonder's birthday song was made specifically to get MLK Day declared a national holiday. So when you hear the birthday song, know it was for MLK.
 
1
About the reviewer
Jeff Daly ()
Ranked #49
Member Since: Jul 13, 2009
Last Login: Mar 4, 2013 03:52 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
dalydose
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Martin Luther King, Jr. (January 15, 1929 – April 4, 1968) was an African American clergyman, activist and prominent leader in the American civil rights movement. His main legacy was to secure progress on civil rights in the United States and he is frequently referenced as a human rights icon today.

A Baptist minister, King became a civil rights activist early in his career. He led the 1955 Montgomery Bus Boycott and helped found the Southern Christian Leadership Conference in 1957, serving as its first president.

King's efforts led to the 1963 March on Washington, where King delivered his "I Have a Dream" speech. There, he raised public consciousness of the civil rights movement and established himself as one of the greatest orators in U.S. history.

In 1964, King became the youngest person to receive the Nobel Peace Prize for his work to end racial segregation and racial discrimination through civil disobedience and other non-violent means. By the time of his death in 1968, he had refocused his efforts on ending poverty and opposing the Vietnam War, both from a religious perspective.

King was assassinated on April 4, 1968, in Memphis, Tennessee. He was posthumously awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1977 and Congressional Gold Medal in 2004; Martin Luther King, Jr. Day was established as a U.S. national holiday in 1986.
view wiki

Tags

Politics, Nobel Peace Prize Winners, American Civil Rights Movement, Ministers

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists