|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tea » Reviews » Matcha Powder » User review

Matcha Powder

Green Tea matcha powder from Malden

< read all 2 reviews

Value Matcha That Delivers

  • Aug 10, 2010
Rating:
+4

I am new to matcha tea (this was my first) but I am very happy with Malden's powdered green tea. I bought it based on the other positive reviews and a little research, and was very pleased. Sixteen bucks for 1/2 a pound puts it in a league of its own. Most of the other matcha powders are much more expensive. I've been drinking it daily for over two weeks (even sharing it with others) and still have well over half of it left.

Now if the matcha quality wasn't good then it wouldn't be worth it. After the sensory overload of my very first cup, I learned to prepare it properly and have grown to really enjoy the taste and extended "lift" it provides. It might not be "ceremonial" grade, but it blends well, has a lovely green color and has a bright, fresh flavor. Some people have said it has a fishy smell but I don't detect that. It is really more akin to freshly mowed grass. The added bonus is the health benefits associated with consuming the whole tea leaf -- win win!

I highly recommend getting a bamboo whisk and proper matcha bowl, but for quick office preparation, some hot water in a mug and a small spoonful works fine. Just be sure to stir it up a lot, and re-stir if you let it sit for a minute or two. It isn't bad with a little vanilla creamer and honey/sugar in the raw either. Matcha may not be to everyone's taste, but for those that enjoy it, Malden's bulk Matcha Powder is hard to beat.
Malden 1/2 lb. bag of Matcha

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
July 11, 2011
I agree.
 
July 11, 2011
The description sounds like an interesting choice for a tea party.
July 11, 2011
Thank you JS. It would be idea for a traditional Japanese Tea Ceremony: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japanese_tea_ceremony
 
September 22, 2010
Matcha is also pretty good for baking green tea cake. Thanks!
September 22, 2010
I've yet to try it in baking it's on my to do list. Thanks!
 
August 28, 2010
I've never made my own matcha before, but this sounds tasty and fun to make! Even if I end up not liking it (which I highly doubt will be the case since I love green tea!), the little bowl, mat and bamboo whisk looks like they'd be cute decorations for my kitchen :) Thanks for sharing, Kort!
 
August 12, 2010
Matcha is indeed one of my favorite beverages. I got mine mostly from Japan or Japanese supermarkets. They are one of a kind, isn't it? Interesting that you can find bulk Matcha Powder in the states. Do you know the ideal temperature for the water should be around 75-85 degree C and not boiling hot? Try it next time, that way, it's the best!
August 12, 2010
Thanks for the tip Sharrie. Yes indeed, don't use boiling water, it can make the tea more bitter. At the office the hot water from our water cooler works just fine. :)
August 12, 2010
Good for you :-)
 
1
More Matcha Powder reviews
Quick Tip by . August 10, 2010
posted in Tea Time
Matcha powder grades vary so in most cases you need to be willing to spend more to get a good matcha. Malden's matcha seems to be the sole exception.
About the reviewer
Kort ()
Ranked #50
Art Director & Graphic/Web Designer • Photographer • Gadget Lover • Hubby • Dad • Amazon.com Reviewer • Wine, Tea & Coffee Drinker • Foodie
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Kort_Kramer
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Matcha, or maccha, is powdered green tea, principally grown and manufactured in Japan. It can be part of the Japanese tea ceremony, or it may be added to certain foods to provide color and/or flavor. Soba noodles may get their green coloring from matcha, and most Americans familiar with Japanese dining have tasted matcha in the form of green tea ice cream.

matcha powder and matcha tea

Matcha is made with very specific tea leaves that have been covered a few weeks prior to harvesting, to slow growth and thus produce a greater share of amino acids. The leaves are then laid out flat on the ground to dry. Once dried, they are called tencha.

Tencha can then be made into the stone-ground matcha. Only tea that is first tencha can become matcha. Konacha is the name for other powdered teas that are not made from tencha.

Matcha varies in grades. The highest grades are very sweet and intensely flavored. This is due to the significant amounts of amino acids in the matcha. Less expensive versions may have a somewhat less intense flavor, and some have even called cheap matcha bitter.

Matcha used in a tea ceremony produces a thick drink called koicha. This is an expensive and highly prized portion of the tea ceremony. Generally matcha is mixed at a ratio of six teaspoons (about 30 cubic mm) to six ounces (.17L) of water. A thinner tea called usucha is made with a much lower matcha to water ratio. Even though matcha is considered sweet, koicha still has bitterness and may be served with a small candy to cut the ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists