|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Meatless Monday

A non-profit initiative of The Monday Campaigns aimed at improving people's health and the environment.

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by EcoMama

  • Jan 7, 2011
  • by
  • posted in Grist
When I immigrated to the U.S. I was a little shocked that meat was served at nearly every meal. I think this is the only country with such unethical consumption of meat, not to mention it isn't healthy in such copious amounts. I've been Americanized though, and now even I need a reminder for less meat! We just have random meatless days throughout the week, but not because I plan them, we just choose not to buy a lot of meat.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
January 10, 2011
Great insights into a meat-crazed culture. I don't eat meat too much anymore, and I appreciate it that more people are trying to consume less meat, especially considering the unethical treatment of animals. We could all do with a meatless Monday! Nice QT, Anastasia!
January 11, 2011
Thanks!
January 11, 2011
Welcome!
 
January 07, 2011
Thanks for sharing this very true and interesting point, Anastasia!  Your QT just inspired mine :)
January 07, 2011
Yours is right on as well! :)
 
January 07, 2011
really interesting to have that international perspective on how we consume meat in the U.S. - thx for sharing!
January 07, 2011
You're welcome!
 
1
More Meatless Monday reviews
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2011
When I travel to other countries, I'm always pleasantly surprised by how little meat they serve, which is fine by me considering I was a vegetarian for over a decade. You go to foreign cuisine restaurants in the States and a lot of the time, all you see is meat on the menu, but when you actually go to that actual country and see what people eat at home on a regular basis, it's surprisingly meatless.      Furthermore, a lot of meat in the States is really unhealthy, chalked …
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2011
posted in Grist
Meatless Monday is a GREAT way to make a small commitment that will have a BIG impact on the environment, and more importantly, your wallet and your body!     Eating vegetarian meals can save you a lot of money as they add up (vegetarian entrees at restaurants are typically $2-$5 less, and vegetables are the grocery store are very affordable!)
About the reviewer
Anastasia B ()
Ranked #22
I am a woman, a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a Christ follower, an Interior Designer, a blog author, a cook, an artist, an eco-conscious consumer, a nature lover, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EcoMama
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Meatless Monday is a non-profit initiative of The Monday Campaigns, in association with the Johns Hopkins’ Bloomberg School of Public Health. We provide the information and recipes you need to start each week with healthy, environmentally friendly meat-free alternatives. Our goal is to help you reduce your meat consumption by 15% in order to improve your personal health and the health of the planet.

Presidents Wilson, Truman and Roosevelt galvanized the nation with voluntary meatless days during both world wars. Our intention is to revitalize this American tradition. We’re spearheading a broad-based, grassroots movement that spans all borders and demographic groups. By cutting out meat once a week, we can improve our health, reduce our carbon footprint and lead the world in the race to reduce climate change.

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists