Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >


An album by Mercyful Fate

< read all 1 reviews

A Quick Tip by RabidChihuahua

  • Jan 9, 2013

Mercyful Fate's "Melissa" has been considered a classic in the heavy metal community for many years, and for good reason, this album kicks ass.

This album showed off the power in King Diamond's piercing falsetto vocals, which absolutely ooze of the heavy metal spirit and perfectly fit the dark, creepy tales in these songs.  The lead guitar by Michael Denner and Hank Sherman is nothing short of amazing, especially the guitar solos.  The music contained is loaded with power and is pretty damn creepy.  Some of the best songs on this masterpiece are "Curse of the Pharaohs," "Into the Coven," "At the Sound of the Demon Bell," and "Satan's Fall."

Roadrunner Records reissued "Melissa" with "The Beginning," and I urge all metalheads to go get this 2-for-1 deal ASAP.


Was this helpful?
Post a Comment
January 22, 2013
wonderful. awesome.
January 22, 2013
Have I converted you to the awesomeness of Mercyful Fate?
About the reviewer
David Kozak ()
Ranked #20
I'm a morbid cynic who thinks very, very differently from most other people. Chances are, if the majority says X is the greatest in its category, I'll disagree with that notion, because I tend … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic


Mercyful Fate: King Diamond (vocals); Hank Sherman, Michael Denner (guitar); Timi Grabber (bass); Kim Ruzz (drums). Recorded at Easy Sound Recording, Copenhagen, Denmark in July 1983. Includes liner notes by Don Kaye. Digitally remastered by Chris Gehringer (The Hit Factory, New York, New York). One of the most important metal bands of the 1980s, Mercyful Fate took the gloom and doom of Black Sabbath, infused it with the faster tempos of Judas Priest, and added the complexity of prog rock. Meshing the sinister riffs and vibrant guitar harmonies of Michael Denner and Hank Shermann with the sterling rhythm section of bassist Timi Hansen and drummer Kim Ruzz, then topping it all off with the ghostly baritone and infamous falsetto of King Diamond, Denmark's renowned Satanic quintet took dark metal to a whole new level. Five-minute gems like "Evil" and "At The Sound Of The Demon Bell" feature enough ideas for two separate numbers apiece, with the band creatively using unexpected rhythmic and dynamic changes a...
Song List: Disc 1
1. Evil
2. Curse of the Pharaohs
3. Into the Coven
4. At the Sound of the Demon Bell
5. Black Funeral
6. Satan's Fall
7. Melissa
view wiki


Label: Roadrunner Records (USA)
Artist: Mercyful Fate
Release Date: November 11, 1997

© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since