|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Beverages » Reviews » Mexican Coke » User review

Ese gusto clásico de la cola a partir antes de 1985

  • Jun 14, 2011
Rating:
+5
Ahhh, Coke from before 85.  No not 26 year old bottles, the same flavor and recipe that we North of the Border have been missing for a long time.

Where am I going with this?  Well remember when Coke launched it's new flavor in 85 with a huge media buzz and a contest to win a new sports car and the drink was branded "New Coke"?  Hell I was a wee tot and I remember.  New Coke was a little sweeter then the old kind but still good and some say it tasted more like Pepsi.  Well it was a hit and people did like it but many hated that they're flavor of Coke got shelved  completely for the new flavor and after 3 months, the old Coke was back and dubbed Coca Cola Classic and New Coke was, well Coke and it stuck around with various names, including "Coke II" till 2002 and some countries still have it.  Coca Cola however made it's comeback right!?  No, there was a change.  Coca Cola Classic, the kind we have been drinking since 85 in the states was different.  It had that dreaded corn syrup instead of sugar.

What has been dubbed "Mexican Coke" due to being bottled and printed in Mexico and now imported into most grocery stores and Wal-Marts up here in the states is the original and classic SUGAR powered Coke drink from the early 80's that many of us grew up drinking and loving.  Think of it as "Coke Throwback" the way Pepsi and now 7 up have been doing with the old sugar instead of corn syrup flavoring.

It may be a tad steep at a $1 to $1.30 a bottle for that CLASSIC GREEN tinted bottle that you can find in grocery displays with Sprite and Fanta, but if you want that genuine Coke flavor with the real stuff in it, then look for it or ask in your local grocery store.  Very retro and very Awesome.
Ese gusto clásico de la cola a partir antes de 1985

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
20
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
August 01, 2013
Nice review. I recently read up on the history of coke. It started in the 1800's using cocaine but towards the end of the century the cocaine was removed.
 
January 02, 2012
I wish that less sugar would be placed into these sodas. Diet sodas are a help but there is a downside to them also.
January 02, 2012
mmmm....ASPERTAME!
January 02, 2012
That and other things are a problem. i.e. potassium benzoate, caffeine, caramel color and potentially other odious things In the end, water is the best.
 
June 20, 2011
Just a short hop across the state line for me and I can get more Mexican Coke than I can handle! Nice review. Oh, and if you didn't know this, Dr. Pepper made in Texas has more kick to it than Dr. Pepper outside of the state due to the water used in making the drink. Every single time I visit my father-in-law in Beaumont, I make sure to stop by a local store and pick up some Texas Dr. Pepper.
June 21, 2011
Awesome to know. If I ever make it to the Lone Star State, I'm getting some Dr. Pepper.
 
June 15, 2011
If I had to drink a soda, it'd be this, or any other soda that uses real sugar for that matter. Great review, John!
June 16, 2011
Corn Syrup can't replace the real thing.
June 16, 2011
And it never should! That stuff is mad unhealthy for you.
 
June 14, 2011
nice one. I like those traditional cokes as well, they still have them in Asia too. awesome in bottles!
June 15, 2011
Japan at one time I heard had it's own Pepsi flavors that we never had. I don't remember they're names but I hear they were odd.
 
June 14, 2011
Woohoo for sugar instead of corn syrup. I actually had no idea that that was the difference but, it makes sense as to why we like it better than the new stuff. Thanks for sharing :)
June 15, 2011
Sugar is awesome.
 
1
More Mexican Coke reviews
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2011
posted in Awesomeness
The taste thats been missing here in he US since 85 and tastes just as good as it did before.
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists