|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Moammar Gadhafi

The leader of Libya since a coup in 1969.

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by CharlesAshbacher

  • Mar 20, 2011
  • by
A thug, a known terrorist and a man universally despised. When the Arab league votes to have western powers engage in military action against an Arab state, nothing more need be said about his stature in the world. I opposed the war in Iraq from day one yet I support this action against Gadhafi. There are fears of what may come in his place but the Arab states will see to it that a more stable leader emerges.
Share  
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
1
Post a Comment
March 21, 2011
I expect with the UNs help we will kill far more than Gadhafi ever did !
March 21, 2011
Ghadaffi openly talked about killing tens of thousands of people if he were to regain control of Benghazi so it is very unlikely that the UN will kill anywhere near the number of people that he would have. He also has a long history of killing people that you may not be aware of.
 
March 21, 2011
LOL! Seriously? You seriously think that the Arab states will see to it that a more stable leader emerges? You must follow some other Arab states than the ones I follow in the current news. It's interesting to note that, statistically, the folks defined as the "rebels" in Libya are most likely the same "insurgents" the US was facing in Iraq. If that's the case, then we're truly in for much more of the same with any new regime. Still, I'll give you that it's hard for A-N-Y-O-N-E to be a worse "leader" than Gadhafi.
March 21, 2011
Yes, I am serious. The other Arab leaders have for years wanted to remove Ghadafi from power. It was U. S. pressure that prevented the Egyptian army under Anwar Sadat from invading Libya and toppling Gahdafi. When he is gone the other Arab states will make money available for the rebuilding of the infrastructure. It is in the interests of the other Arab states that a stable regime exists in Libya and that there is no massacre of the population by the ruling class. That would be a terrible precedent for them as they battle through their own internal troubles. It is to their advantage to be seen as preventing a massacre by Ghadafi in Libya. Your lumping together of the insurgents in Iraq with the rebels in Libya is wrong on four levels. *) Mesopotamia has been the site of a highly advanced civilization for thousands of years while the people of North Africa only recently ceased being nomads. The two regions have vastly different native cultures and the settled Arabs have a history of being contemptuous of their nomadic brethren. *) The colonial power in Iraq was Britain while the colonial power in Libya was Italy. Both powers imprinted a vastly different culture on the people in those two areas. *) The insurgents in Iraq were responding to an invasion by a foreign power while the rebels in Libya are fighting against their own government. The borders of Libya were drawn by a colonial power and so do not represent ethnic, cultural or tribal borders in any way. Loyalties in the Arab world are still largely tribal and the native tribes of eastern and western Libya are very different.
March 21, 2011
Well, I wrote a long reply, but it somehow didn't save, so I'm not gonna rewrite all of it. I'll try to be brief.

I couldn't disagree more strongly with your take, and that's largely because your grasp of the territorial history is impressive, but it doesn't mean squat when you're dealing with the cold, stark, militant reality of these various tribes.  Of course, other leaders have wanted to see Gadfly removed, and that's largely b/c -- despite what any of us might say today -- Gadfly's done a fairly impressive job at keeping all of these tribal influences in order.  He's done what any totalitarian thug would do to keep these various peoples in order for the last two to three decades.  Yes, they'd want him removed, but they'd hardly want us going to all of the trouble that appears necessary for us to do it (especially by way of air strikes, as you've seen the immediate about face from most of these Arab leaders not more than 48 hours after the no-fly zone was enforced).

AS for the true heritage of these Libyan rebels, all you have to do is take a gander around the web at what any military strategist and/or political intelligentsia agents are telling you, and you'll see easily that the make-up of these "rebels" is precisely the folks that we've (the US) been facing in Iraq, Pakistan, and Afghanistan.  If you want some links, then send me a message, and I'll be happy to do the heavy lifting for you.  I'm just saying that it's out there, in plenty of places, and it's very clear that this is quickly becoming "the enemy of my enemy is my friend" politics.  Why else would the US be so openly reticent (sp?) to jump into this quagmire?  You're telling me it b/c of Italian influences?  That's laughable.

Now, granted, when all is said and done, some of these various tribal influences may add more to the equation than they do now, but do you seriously believe that any regime or government put in place in Libya (of all places) is going to embrace either European or other Western nations?  Again, that's laughable.

Granted, I'm not a supporter of Obama, but I think he's played this as close to the vest as any good political card player can.  Did any of us seriously think that we weren't going to see the eastern influences (Russia and China, especially) decline and/or abstain from what's necessary?  Sadly, those nations are still far more interested in "upsetting the applecart" that is any decidedly Western influence, and this just plays largely into their hand.  Besides, Russia and China certainly don't have the alliances built around Arab states like the U.S. and much of Europe has done, so I'll cede the point that -- when all is said and done -- some of these tribal influences may end up factoring more INTO the equation than they currently do ... however, I stand by the fact that few of these tribes have any positive relationship to the Gadfly precisely because he's done everything a totalitarian thug could do to keep all of them in check.  Such is the nature of managing conflicts hundreds if not thousands of years old.

(I'm sure this isn't all of what I wrote, but I had no desire to rewrite it.  I think you get the gist anyhow.)
 
1
More Moammar Gadhafi reviews
Quick Tip by . March 01, 2011
An international terrorist, if there ever was one. It's good that his time in the limelight appears to be waning. It's long overdue.
Quick Tip by . March 27, 2011
posted in People Power
Caption
Insane and certainly a failure when it comes to being a good leader. This guy turns on his own people! How he ended up a leader is beyond me!
About the reviewer
Charles Ashbacher ()
Ranked #78
Charlie Ashbacher is a compulsive reader and writer about many subjects. His prime areas of expertise are in mathematics and computers where he has taught every course in the mathematics and computer … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
CharlesAshbacher
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Muammar Muhammad al-Gaddafi, also known as Colonel Gaddafi, has been the leader of Libya since a coup in 1969. His regime was associated with numerous acts of state-sponsored terrorism in the 1970s, 80s and early 90s.

From 1972, when Gaddafi relinquished the title of prime minister, he has been accorded the honorific "Brotherly Leader and Guide of the First of September Great Revolution of the Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya" (or more concisely as "Brother Leader and Guide of the Revolution") in government statements and the official press. With the death of Omar Bongo of Gabon on 8 June 2009, he became the longest serving of all current non-royal national leaders and he is one of the longest serving rulers in history. He is also the longest-serving ruler of Libya since Libya, then Tripoli, became an Ottoman province in 1551. Gaddafi is reported to have amassed a fortune for himself and his family.

In January 2011, major political protests (inspired by recent similar events in Tunisia, Egypt and other parts of the Arab world), which quickly turned into a general uprising, broke out in Libya against Gaddafi's government. As of 26 February 2011, Gaddafi is reported as having lost control of much of the country.
view wiki

Tags

Politicians, Politics, Libya, Middle Eastern Politicians

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists