|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Transportation » Reviews » Modern Trains » User review

Modern Trains

Trains that were built for passenger use from the 1970's onward.

< read all 1 reviews

The Return of Train Transportation

  • May 26, 2010
Rating:
+5

Whether we recognize it or not, as gas prices, maintenance fees, insurance, and cost of owning a personal vehicle rise, people around the world are looking into the future and noticing a need for the return of train transportation. Technology has allowed us to design and engineer environmentally friendly trains that get us from point A to point B at speeds in excess of 220 miles per hour. These trains, monorails, and speeding bullets are the modern and future possibilities that show us that we are returning to train travel, and for many it will be a luxurious ride.  No need to rev up your own engine; just sit back, relax, and enjoy!  That's the beauty of trains.
 

Mokpo High-Speed Railway, South Korea


General Motors High-Speed Rail System


Obama High-Speed Rail Plans


Pride of Africa Private Train


IBM High-Speed Rail


Renfe Trains


Luxury Train Interior


Electric Multiple Unit Train


Electric Multiple Unit Train


Chinese High Speed Rail Link Between Asia and Europe


Electric Multiple Unit Train Unveiling


Intercity-Express Train


Dining on the Eastern & Oriental Express


California High-Speed Rail System


Luxury Train Accommodations


Seattle's Monorail Plan


Bordeaux City Train


Chinese Tibet Train


Japanese High Speed Rail


Bombardier Zefiro High-Speed Train


Interior of Bombardier Zefiro


ULTra (Urban Light Transport) -- Future Personal Train


Kawasaki Environmentally Friendly Super Express Train

 
The Return of Train Transportation

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
37
Thought-Provoking
37
Fun to Read
38
Well-Organized
39
Post a Comment
June 06, 2010
Some of the photos took awhile to show up and wow! I don't ride trains too much since i am more powerful than a locomotive LOL! Nicely done.
June 07, 2010
LOL, nice, Woo! Don't even take BART? Well, I guess you don't really have to in the city :P
 
June 04, 2010
What a good collection of train pix! The trip from Montreal to Toronto--a distance of 313 miles or 504 kilometers--takes between 4.5 hours to 5.5 hours, depending on the number of stations the Via Rail train stops at (there are five trips a day at least.) Flying time in the air is less than an hour, but you have to get to and from the airports. I figure that when I have a meeting in downtown Toronto, it's about the same time from my house to the meeting location whatever I take, but I can read or work on the train for the whole time. Besides it costs less and the carbon footprint is smaller This of course is nothing like the TGV and other high speed trains in Europe. The one from Paris to Lyon is a little less than TO-MTL (425 km) but the time is less than two hours. Now that's the way to travel.
June 07, 2010
Thanks for your comment, Mary! That would be great if more routes between major cities started implementing high-speed trains, then planes might eventually only be available for flying overseas. Unless they created even higher-speed planes :P
 
June 02, 2010
Very interesting topic to review, love the pics. Great job.
June 07, 2010
Thanks, Alex!
 
May 30, 2010
Such sexy trains! Sleek and fast, love it! Although by the time bullet trains run across America, I think the others in the world will be ready to fly, LOL...
June 07, 2010
Indeed they are! With soaring gas prices, I'm looking forward to a bullet train across America!
 
May 28, 2010
I've never traveled via train, but this review/list makes it look fun! Some of those compartments are really posh. I wouldn't have expected that. I thought if you wanted that kind of treatment you had to be rich and go for the first-class plane travel.
June 07, 2010
Whoa, really? That's a real eye opener for me because where I live, it's really common (not high-speed bullet trains, though!) and when I travel, I mostly only travel to big cities, where of course, they have trains there. So what's the main mode of transportation where you live? Cars and buses? Would your city benefit from trains? I'm pretty sure that I've been to plenty of cities and towns that don't have trains and just never thought about it :P And yes, some of these train rides are like riding first class in a plane! In fact, some trains that I've been on have "first-class" accommodations as well.
June 07, 2010
We have trains, but they're mainly freight trains used for transporting wood for the paper mills. There is a passenger train, but I've never taken it. For the most part, we don't really have a public transportation system in our county, other than a couple of small buses and a taxi cab company (with only 2 cabs). Other than that, people have their cars and trucks (most people have a truck, jeep, or SUV). And then there's me with my mountain bike and my feet. I think I like your transportation better. ; )
 
May 28, 2010
My son is a train freak and will totally love these photos! Nice one, D.
May 28, 2010
Awesome! Thanks, Christopher! :)
 
May 27, 2010
I haven't ridden many trains in my lifetime... On rare occasion during my childhood, I'd ride the Metrolink just for fun since that was the mode of transportation that my dad used to get from the valley (where we lived) into Los Angeles (where he worked). I never rode it for longer periods of time, however, and ever since the fairly recent Metrolink accidents that have taken place here in Southern California, I've grown to somewhat fear train rides altogether.

I do have a fascination with luxury trains, though. As a voter in favor of a high-speed bullet train in California (I'm hearing talks of a project that will get commuters from Southern California to Northern California in just a few hours), I'm intrigued by the prospect of high-speed travel at a comfortable level. I love flying, so comfy train travel is right up my alley, no? Some of those photos up there are amazing, and luxury train travel is definitely on my list of things to do!
May 27, 2010
Wow, that's shocking to hear! Well, I live in a pretty metropolitan area with a decent train system (BART), so I ride it pretty often. Definitely not luxurious though :P And I would really love for a high-speed train to zip through North and South Cal! Thanks for your comment, Ken :)
May 29, 2010
Ahh, you're based up in Berkeley, right? I guess different regions dictate different modes of transportation; you'd expect a traffic-heavy area such as Los Angeles to have more train-dependent commuters, but everyone still loves to drive down here. You know what they say: nobody walks in L.A. ;P
 
May 26, 2010
Nice review Debbie! I used trains everyday when I lived in Europe and I truly believe we need to be using train more here in the states.
May 27, 2010
Thanks, Ryan! I'm surprised at how few cities in the U.S. have great, speedy transportation like these ones. Yes, bring 'em to the States!
 
May 26, 2010
Wow, amazing photos! I would love to ride a train like that any day! When I was a child I would take the train to my grandparents every summer, they were not nearly as fancy! :)
May 27, 2010
Thanks, lady! I wouldn't mind taking a ride on any of these trains either, they sure have gotten luxurious! :P
 
May 26, 2010
Nice review on an important topic. Super photos!
May 26, 2010
Thanks, Paul! :)
 
1
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists