|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Internet » Reviews » Mozilla Firefox » User review

Firefox Logo

A free and open source web browser managed by Mozilla Corporation.

< read all 7 reviews

Firefox: What You Want It To Be

  • Apr 15, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
The life of a web developer/designer would be extraordinarilly easy if Firefox was the only browser in the world.  Unfortunately, it isn't, but if this review can switch just one IE user, then it's purpose would be fulfilled.

Firefox is the best browser out there.  Period.

It uses a tabbed interface, meaning your desktop won't be cluttered by random windows that you forgot even existed.  All of your sites are displayed in a single window.. and you just select the tab you want to view.  Yes, IE7 does that now... but Firefox took it mainstream.

One of the best attributes of Firefox is that it uses extensions and add-ons.  Developers around the world program these extensions to make your life better.... for free.  Things like AdBlock (blocks advertisements), XMarks (syncs your favorites between multiple computers), and StumbleUpon (another great website) make your browsing experience so much better.

Another point is that Firefox follows many of the standards that web developers use today.  This means that the website you're looking at is exactly how the web developer intended it to look like. 

Firefox is also much more secure than IE.  I don't have numbers, but I can honestly say that the number of popups, viruses, and trojans I've encountered have gone significantly down ever since I switched to Firefox a few years ago.

And making the switch isn't hard at all!  After you download the installer on www.mozilla.com/firefox/, the installer will ask if you want to import your current IE settings to Firefox.  It can't get any easier!

Firefox is available for Windows, Mac and Linux.  So go on, make the switch!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
May 05, 2009
Hey, didn't you say you are a Google fan? Go Chrome!!! I like Chrome, it's a lot faster. But when it comes to site building, it's not too compatible with some of the software out there, it seems.. For example, on Lunch, if I post my review via Chrome, the Italics don't work at all! It's fine on IE though...
 
April 24, 2009
OK Justice, Firefox and I have been the best of friends for over a year. It's all Firefox, all the time at my home and work. I learned the joys of the tabbed interface with FF. And so easy to download and set up. All that other techie stuff you wrote, I don't know about that; taking your word for it. But last week it turned on me and I can't use gmail any more without Firefox instantly crashing. I'm not about to switch off gmail so this weekend FF has to go, so sorry to say. Yes, I'm going to download another browser. What do you know about that, anything? If you have any advice, now's the time--48 hours and I'm giving it the hook.
April 24, 2009
Hmm... sounds interesting. Have you installed any plugins for Gmail? That might cause the issue. If not, you can always clear your cache, as that might be what's causing the problem. Go to Tools > Options. Click on Privacy, then look for Clear Now. Restart Firefox, and try Gmail. If that fails, a reinstall might work as you might have a corrupted install. I also Googled your symptoms and found this: http://www.plexusweb.com/staff/adam/blog/pos...irefox-Crashes-on-Gmail
 
1
More Mozilla Firefox reviews
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2011
A cool browser, much better then IE. What annoys me are the frequent updates, and the automatic restarts after the updates are installed. If I don't specifically ask for the updates, they shouldn't pop up. But all in all, a good browser.
Quick Tip by . October 22, 2010
A better browser than IE. I like the flexibility and versatility that it has, a great tool for web developers and SEO. What i hate about this browser is that every time i open it it has to load a bunch of updates and or restart. It seems i take more time to load the browser than it takes windows to load.     I have since moved on to chrome and have been much happier with the speed and extensions.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
i love to use this. it works so much better then my internet explore does.
Quick Tip by . November 09, 2009
Firefox just graduated from preschool & is onto kindergarten. Happy 5th birthday, Firefox!
About the reviewer
Justice Erolin ()
Ranked #132
Hmm... let's see.    I'm a 20-something living in Los Angeles, CA. I was born and raised here, with the exception of a 3 year stint in the Philippines. This "long" vacation helped … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
justiceerolin
Your ratings:
RSS
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Mozilla Firefox is a free and open source web browser descended from the Mozilla Application Suite and managed by Mozilla Corporation. A Net Applications survey put Firefox at 24.07% of the recorded usage share of web browsers as of October 2009, making it the second most popular browser in terms of current use worldwide after Microsoft's Internet Explorer.

To display web pages, Firefox uses the Gecko layout engine, which implements most current web standards in addition to several features which are intended to anticipate likely additions to the standards.

Latest Firefox features include tabbed browsing, spell checking, incremental find, live bookmarking, a download manager, private browsing, location-aware browsing (aka "geolocation") based exclusively on a Google service and an integrated search system that uses Google by default in most localizations. Functions can be added through add-ons, created by third-party developers, of which there is a wide selection, a feature that has attracted many of Firefox's users.

Firefox runs on various versions of Mac OS X, Microsoft Windows, Linux, and many other Unix-like operating systems. Its current stable release is version 3.5.5, released on November 5, 2009. Firefox's source code is free software, released under a tri-license GNU GPL/GNU LGPL/MPL.
view wiki

Details

Polls
Flock Logo

Browsers

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists