|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Sports » Reviews » NASCAR » User review

nascar

The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing

< read all 2 reviews

Can somebody help me out here 'cause I just don't get it!

  • Jun 9, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-3
Let me make it clear right from the outset--I am not trying to be a wise guy.   I understand that NASCAR has a huge following around this country.  I just never understood why.  Perhaps it is the region of the country that I hail from.  As a percentage of the population you won't find a whole lot of NASCAR fans here in the Northeast.   I can honestly say that I do not know anyone who is even remotely interested in it despite the fact that there is a fairly successful NASCAR track located just  a few hours away in Loudon, NH.  Although I have never attended a race in person I have tried watching NASCAR on television.  To me it is like watching paint dry.  How long can someone sit at home and watch these cars zooming around a track?  Are the people who watch just waiting for an accident to occur?   Just what is the fascination?   I need someone out there to explain it to me. 

I imagine that much of the appeal of NASCAR is cultural.  Certainly the folks down South love their NASCAR!   I am constantly amazed at the number of people who jam these tracks each weekend in places like Darlington, SCBristol, TN, Talladega, AL and Atlanta, GA.   These people seem to be very passionate about the sport.  In the parlance of the 1960's these races appear to be a giant "happening".   Just for fun I wanted to know what kind of celebrities enjoy NASCAR.  Among the devotees of NASCAR are Steven Tyler of the rock band Aerosmith, Jay Leno, Jamie Foxx, Jessica Simpson, Adam Sandler, Ryan Seacrest, Sheryl Crow and Mark Wahlberg.  Quite the diverse group!  I was also stunned to learn that of all people Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas is a huge fan!    In fact,  Justice Thomas and his wife spend a great deal of their spare time travelling to races all over the country in their RV.   He is really into it.  Go figure!

So while NASCAR remains of little or no interest to me personally I would still like to hear from those who really do enjoy it.  To me the exchange of opinion and ideas is what Lunch is all about.   Perhaps there is  someone out there who loves this stuff that can set me straight by writing a favorable review of the sport.   I look forward to hearing from you!
NASCAR 1 nascar 2 NASCAR3 NASCAR 4

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 20, 2011
It's an amazing experience that either (a) you get or (b) you don't ... and I say that as one who came to the sport only a mere five years ago when my wife and I were given the opportunity to attend a race and its corporate village as part of a sponsor program. Before our day was over, we had fallen in love with the sport, and we've been to a race every year, along with watching the entire season on TV.
 
June 25, 2009
Yea I don't get it either. I mean... its an oval track?!?! How exciting is watching cars going around an oval track for hours fun and entertaining? What would be cool is if they threw in some obstacles like a giant ball rolling around on the track or even be like death race and mount some machine guns on those cars.
 
June 13, 2009
ha ha, i completely agree.
 
June 09, 2009
Honestly, I am not a NASCAR fan but I know quite a few people who are. It is the rush of hearing those engines and seeing the events in person. Seeing the race is a lot better live--focus your eyes and see how drivers manipulate each other in a team effort. There are strategies involved, if you're a speed freak or are in for the driving skills, then NASCAR is exciting. Sure, for most folks, it seems boring on TV unless there's a crash but the event is almost like baseball, with a lot of side events. It is also very difficult to go 500+ laps in one race. One has to understand the mechanics involved in an event to really appreciate it.
 
June 09, 2009
I'm with you......It's about exciting as watching a doorknob! I don't pretend to understand the attraction here, unless it is the ultimate in voyeruism....some people do watch things (like hockey) to see if there's going to be an accident. It is a cultural phenomen though and it's growing. To me, the whole thing is unappealing. Can someone help me here? I'd like to understand this crazy a little more.
 
June 09, 2009
Well, I can't tell you why people are obsessed with NASCAR racing, but I can tell you that NASCAR fans are the most coveted marketing demographic in the country. If you can partner your brand with NASCAR or a NASCAR driver, you are touching the largest and surprisingly, one of the most wealthy group of consumers in the country. Newsweek did an article a while back about how fans are so loyal to their favorite drivers that they will purchase almost anything they endorse!
 
June 09, 2009
Totally with you on this one Drifter...can't imagine watching on TV and the thought of going to a race is even more unappealing. Perhaps I am being closed minded and would enjoy it...so I look forward to seeing the other comments.
 
1
More NASCAR reviews
review by . March 18, 2011
     Maybe you missed this, but I thought it was worth mentioning.           On March 16, 2011, FX aired an episode of its stellar crime drama, JUSTIFIED, titled “Blaze of Glory.”  The episode featured an aging criminal mastermind who’s slowly dying of emphysema.  Hoping to go out in one final ‘blaze of glory,’ the bandit conspires to double-cross his two young upstarts/partners by sending them out …
About the reviewer
Paul Tognetti ()
Ranked #2
I guess I would qualify as a frustrated writer. My work requires very little writing and so since 1999 I have been writing reviews on non-fiction books and anthology CD's on amazon.com. I never could … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drifter51
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

A brief history of NASCAR

 

By David Maillie

NASCAR stands for National Association of Stock Car Auto Racing. It was founded in 1948 by two Americans, William France and Ed Otto. These men enjoyed watching car races and realized that other people also enjoyed races. They were looking for a way to standardize the races and the industry as a whole.

 

The idea of their plan was to attract more racers and at the same time make the races equal for all the competitors. This was a fantastic idea because a greater number of racers also meant that the number of fans increased, and these are willing to pay to watch their idols. 

In the early years, the cars raced as NASCAR were big standard stock cars.  These stock cars are basically exactly the same as the ones that come out of the manufacturers factory, this means that nothing is changed or altered in any way.

In these early years accidents were very common, and so it was agreed that some form of modifications were required to make the racing safe. These safety modifications were adopted well before the modifications focused around increasing speed and the characteristics of the cars.

 

Many people that enjoyed this type of car racing started designing and building cars that were exclusively designed for NASCAR racing. These cars utilized all of the modifications permitted by the NASCAR rules. The only thing that the NASCAR car resembled would be the body.


It didn't take long until the companies ...
view wiki

Details

Polls
(MLB) Major League Baseball

Sports on TV

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists