|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Ipod » Reviews » Nike+ iPod » User review

Nike+

A device which measures and records the distance and pace of a walk or run.

< read all 3 reviews

Running shoes for OCD people

  • Mar 13, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
So I have this issue where I love to workout, but only if I know exactly how many calories I'm burning and how far I'm going when I do it. For instance after the calorie/distance thing broke on my elliptical I completely stopped using it, although it is still a completely functional piece of exercise equipment.

The Nike+ shoes take care of my "need to know" as far as runnig in concerned. There is a tiny sensor in the shoes, and then another attachment I put on my iPod Nano. When I run, my ipod keeps track of what my average pace is, how far I've gone, how long I've run, and how many calories I've burned. When I get home I sync it up with the website and can track how much I've gone for the week or the month, or the year so far. You can set goals such as "I want to burn 10,000 calories this month" and the website will let you know where you should be on your goal and where you are. You can challenge other people with the shoes to virtual races, and literally keep up with every possibly detail about your running you could possibly need to know.

I won't run without it. I highly recommend!

Nike+ sensor

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 13, 2009
Nike+ Challenge is extremely motivating! You may be tired and may not want to go out for a run -- but if you see you are being outrun in a challenge; it makes you want to go out and run!
 
March 13, 2009
It is really FANTASTIC. I've very OCD about my workouts, but I really love tracking everything on the website. Really, Nike is OCD for me :)
 
March 13, 2009
Oooohh!! I've always looked at these shoes, but knew I'd become totally OCD about my workouts if I got them. I thought I'd avoid that, but you make it sound so fun :)
 
1
More Nike+ iPod reviews
review by . February 16, 2009
If you like to run on the treadmill because it records your mileage for you, but you get very bored of running in the same place for a long period of time, the Nike+ is right for you!   What is it? The Nike Plus is a device that you place in your shoe (a compatible shoe), with a small insert you connect into your ipod that records the statistics for your workout while you run outdoors. It records workout time, calories burned, total mileage, and mile pace.   The Set-up: You record …
review by . January 19, 2010
I am on my third chip.  I run with it everytime I run, with or without music.  I LOVE the challenges. The new and improved Nike + website is great too!  I highly recommend the Nike+ system to any runner! 
About the reviewer
Emily ()
Ranked #882
Member Since: Mar 7, 2009
Last Login: Mar 16, 2009 08:11 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EmilyP
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The Nike+iPod Sports Kit is a device which measures and records the distance and pace of a walk or run. The Nike+iPod consists of a small accelerometer attached to or embedded in a shoe, which communicates with either the Nike+ Sportband, a receiver plugged into an iPod Nano, or directly with an iPod Touch 2nd Generation or iPhone 3GS. If using the iPod or the iPhone 3GS, iTunes software can be used to view the walk or run history.

The sensor and iPod kit was revealed on May 20, 2006. The kit is able to store information such as the elapsed time of the workout, the distance traveled, pace, or calories burned by the individual wearing the shoes, and display it on the screen or broadcast it through the headphones of an iPod

The sensor and Sportband kit was announced in April 2008. The kit allows users to store run information without the iPod Nano. The Sportband consists of two parts: a rubber holding strap which is worn around the wrist, and the receiver which resembles a USB key-disk. The receiver displays information comparable to that of the iPod kit on the built-in display. After a run, the receiver can be plugged straight into a USB port and the software will upload the run information automatically to the Nike+ website.

As of August 2008 "Nike+iPod for the Gym" launched, allowing users to record their cardio workouts directly to their iPods. No Sport kit or shoe sensor is required; all that is needed is a compatible iPod (3rd–4th generation iPod Nano ...
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists