|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Las Vegas » Reviews » Nutbag » User review

Palumbo's First Independent Horror Feature

  • Dec 3, 2009
Rating:
+4
I was finally able to watch my copy of Nutbag last nite on the portable DVD player & can finally report back to you guys. First of all, let me advise it's nowhere near as graphic nor brutal as Palumbo's second feature M-S-P but it's a pretty good indie flick. Fans of Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer, Maniac, or M-S-P will most likely enjoy this film.

Mack Hail plays the serial killer who spends most of his time contemplating suicide (when he's not slaughtering beautiful prostitutes) but somehow can't off himself because there would be no one to take care of his dear pet spider Heinrich. Sadly, Heinrich is the only real friend the nutbag has. Through the course of the film, we are subjected to lengthy monologues in which the psychopath tells his pet about his turbulent childhood & the voice overs also reveal why the guy has such a morbid obsession with death. Sadly, this man is one seriously troubled case but I found it somewhat difficult to feel sorry for him even after witnessing his mother being stabbed to death in one rather traumatic flashback.

Palumbo does make good use of the haunting electronic score, fully undraped women who are more beautiful than life itself, & remotely grotesque imagery. The dialogue/monlogues are naturally very thought-provoking & well-written although the acting leaves much to be desired. Mack Hail is not always completely believable but he still manages to disturb or frighten the intended audience as only Palumbo can do. For an indie horror flick, Nutbag is a cut above the typical slasher fare & deserves to be seen by enthusiasts only.

Unpleasant dreams, my friends.
Palumbo's First Independent Horror Feature Palumbo's First Independent Horror Feature Palumbo's First Independent Horror Feature

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
January 14, 2010
More like HENRY or more like MANIAC?
February 05, 2010
A bit of both actually. Probably favors Henry moreso as it doesn't look quite as glossy. Nutbag is an indie film all the way. I don't see this one being as visceral as reviewers claimed but a pretty decent film for what it is. Palumbo's second film Murder-Set-Pieces is great also but extremely graphic if you get the Director's Cut. MSP would probably have more in common with Maniac but does echo Henry also.
February 06, 2010
MSP plays on On Demand but I doubt that it's the Director's Cut even though it still is fairly graphic.
February 06, 2010
No, I don't think they would give us the Director's Cut on TV. I'd be really shocked if they did. It's still edgy in the R-rated cut but nowhere near as graphic or shocking. If you enjoy the sanitized version of it or are curious, you may want to see the Unrated version. Personally, I think they edited too much to obtain an R-rating but the MPAA never fails to amaze me.
February 07, 2010
Good to see your back among us again!
 
December 03, 2009
I can't say that I am a full-fledged slasher fan but you have peaked my interest with 'monologue'. Sounds like an original attempt. I think Dave will dig this one.
December 04, 2009
Nah, this is more like a modern day Jack The Ripper film only it's more for the indie crowd or the thinking person. That's not to suggest that a slasher film fanatic wouldn't like it but I don't think this would be the first thing I'd recommend to a fan of Friday The 13th. Dave probably would like this one although I'm a bit more impartial to Palumbo's second film Murder-Set-Pieces. Knowing your taste in disturbing cinema, I tend to think you would dig those films too. Check 'em out if you get the chance.
 
1
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Nutbag is the horrifying, true-life story of a man who murders without provocation. The lonely, depraved killer stalks the neon city we call Las Vegas. Killing young women at random, there seems to be no end to his madness. Nutbag is a claustrophobic, ghastly thrill-ride that pulls no punches in its depiction of violence. Set to a haunting musical score, this shockingly gory film spins a frighteningly contemporary story of a modern day Jack the Ripper.
view wiki

Tags

Horror Movies, Las Vegas, Independent Films, Slasher, Serial Killers, Low Budget, Psycho, Nick Palumbo, Mack Hail, Murdersetpieces

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists