|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Occupy UC Davis Pepper Spray Incident

An incident that occurred at UC Davis in November of 2011.

< read all 2 reviews

A Quick Tip by jbeswick

  • Nov 23, 2011
  • by
Shameful. Truly shameful. They should fire the cops involved.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
13
Post a Comment
January 30, 2012
Like priests or federal politicians, police officers are an institutionally protected group, usually only consigned to imprisonment for the most egregious repeated violent crimes. Were the protestors my political polar opposites (by the look of them, they're hardly my idea of polite company), I'd not feel any less nauseous to see them brutalized. I'm not surprised though - this is to be expected in an encroaching police state.
 
November 23, 2011
Agreed and I think the cops that were involved were fired but, don't quote me on that one :)
 
November 23, 2011
Completely agreed.
 
November 23, 2011
It was disturbing in a way....
November 23, 2011
It's bullying of the worst way. Pepper-spraying a line of people sat down who pose no physical threat is the sort of thing you expect to see in some tinpot dictatorship rather than California.
November 23, 2011
I thin it's actually funny that it happened in California, of all places. It's a fitting tribute to the sunshine lunacy!
November 23, 2011
Ha ha, I know what you mean. I think they were trying to ban pet stores the last time I was there.
 
1
More Occupy UC Davis Pepper Spray I... reviews
Quick Tip by . November 22, 2011
Seriously, pepperhosing a group of peaceful protesters? I don't see how the other cops could stand around watching another cop spray down students like he was watering plants. I hope that chancellor Linda Katehi and all of those involved in this unfortunate incident resign. I never thought that this would happen in the United States, much less in Davis of all places.
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Ranked #12
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

On November 18, 2011, Chancellor Katehi ordered Occupy movement protesters on the UC Davis campus to remove their tents from the quad. When a group of protestors engaged in nonviolent civil disobedience refused to move, campus police officers pepper sprayed them. Eleven protesters received medical treatment; two were hospitalized. Nathan Brown, assistant professor at UC Davis, said, "One of them, forty-five minutes after being pepper-sprayed down his throat, was still coughing up blood."  The police have not responded to these claims.

According to police and university officials, the 35 or so officers present felt surrounded. One of the officers who used pepper spray was identified as Lieutenant John Pike. Ten arrests were made. A demonstrator said that the police were encircled by the demonstrators. "A collective decision was made on the fly to just sit in a circle arms linked legs crossed, with police officers and "prisoners" in the middle because we didn't want them arresting only 3 of us. It wasn't fair that 50 of us were there, and only a few arrested who hadn't volunteered to be arrested. There was still one walkway open that the police were going to use to walk the arrestees out. I saw some friends of mine sit down there, and they were my friends, so I joined them. We linked arms, legs crossed."
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists