|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Paperback Swap » User review

Paperback Swap

an online book swapping community

< read all 3 reviews

Very good deal

  • Sep 27, 2010
Rating:
+5

I used to spend hours each week in the bookstores. But I've been a member of Paperback Swap for over three years now, and haven't purchased more than 5 books a year ever since. The one drawback to this club is that you have to wait, sometimes on a lengthy waiting list, for newly issued titles. But it rarely takes more than 6 months to reach the top, and in the meantime, there's always the mountain of TBR books to tackle. On the positive side, members do a tremendous amount of good for local landfills by recycling amongst themselves, the cost (about $3.00 for postage), and of course, the savings and convenience. I've made more than 1000 swaps, and can say that in only 4 or 5 instances did I encounter any problems. Lots of responsible readers and traders out there. Highly recommended.
Very good deal

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
September 27, 2010
Nice review! I just recently started swapping books on Goodreads. I've heard good things about Paperback Swap, but I haven't tried it yet.
September 28, 2010
If you join, Adrianna, let me know and I'll friend you over there.
September 28, 2010
Sounds good. I'll let you know when/if it happens. :)
 
September 27, 2010
1000+ swaps? That's impressive! I'll have to check out the site. Thanks for sharing!
 
September 27, 2010
Sounds interesting. I'd not heard of them. I'll have to look into it further.
 
1
More Paperback Swap reviews
review by . May 16, 2010
   I joined Paperback Swap on the internet last year looking for an inexpensive way to get books.  I've got the Kindle and the iPad and do love them both but you have to buy every  newer book on the devices.   With Paperback Swap you only pay the postage to mail the books.  I've been really pleased with the results.  You earn a book for every book you send to someone who requests it and you can order whatever book you want.  I have a love of …
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
Wow great idea! Recycle, reduce, reuse, and make someone's day!
About the reviewer
Linda ()
Ranked #53
After 21 years as a school psychologist, I now work part-time at two local historical museums, giving tours and teaching special programs. This leaves me more time to enjoy my little grandchildren, and … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
katknit
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Tags

Books, Cafe Libri, Reading, Book Swap, Book Exchanges

Details

First to Review

"Trade Books"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists