|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Penn State Sexual Abuse Scandal

A sex abuse case that surfaced in November of 2011 at Penn State.

< read all 1 reviews

A Quick Tip by djevoke

  • Nov 15, 2011
  • by
The stupidest protest EVER, the students at Penn State didn't do the school any favors when they rioted over a firing instead of the cover-up of child sexual abuse. In fact, it cemented the fact that I'll never have any child under my watch apply there for any kind of program or education.

So, the students are mad because the head coach is fired for his involvement in the Sandusky scandal? They're not protesting the sex abuse, child abuse or the cover up done by the school but, they're rioting because Paterno, who failed to alert authorities that Sandusky had raped a 10-year-old boy, is fired? I'm sorry but, that is just ridiculous. Paterno himself offered to retire at the end of the season due to this scandal. Sandusky was recently quoted as saying that he showered with the boys, touched them on their legs and backs and that this is all normal behavior for jocks.

I've played sports- heck, I was even the only girl on an all-male snowboarding team and let me tell you, I showered and dressed by myself. When I was on co-ed teams, we'd shower at the same time but, NEVER with our coach. So, no, that is not normal for a grown man to be performing those actions with children- specifically in this case, 10 year old boys.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
9
Post a Comment
November 17, 2011
This is par for the course in PA, where sports idolatry trumps all moral considerations. I accurately predicted that Michael Vick would be enlisted in the revolting cesspool popularly known as Philadelphia.

Although I miss its forests, scarcely a day passes when I don't breathe a sigh of relief that I escaped my disastrous state of origin.
November 17, 2011
Really? I've never been but, I've heard that this same type of craziness occurs in states like Texas or the MidWest.
November 18, 2011
My awareness of Texan (or any southwestern) corruption is nil, but I can state with certainty that institutional venality hasn't anywhere near so much public support as it does in the northeast. This isn't to suggest that Chicago has anything less than what may be the most corrupt local government nationwide, or that its counterparts in Milwaukee, Indianapolis, Cleveland or godforsaken Detroit are at all decent, but most residing therein are either too indifferent, embattled or credulous to consider organized protest.
I needn't inform you that healthy and vigorous dissent is alive and well on the left coast, and especially in local politics. Eastward, this is usually reserved for federal and private malfeasance. Widespread support for abusive, broken, rotten, ineptly administered establishment is one reason why so much of the northeast is uninhabitable for anyone who's neither wealthy nor stupid.

Had this scandal occurred in the midwest, it might be quietly and tidily swept under the rug, but I can't believe that something like this would be tolerated - much less supported - in L.A.
November 18, 2011
Well, I think that Cali tends to pride itself on liberal politics, LA is a bit more conservative than SF. I hope that this wouldn't be tolerated anywhere but, I guess we have a long way to go on that front. I've never been to the Northeast, I hope to visit next year, so I can't speak on their politics or view but, I do know that they take their sports REALLY seriously. I know families have been split over the fact that half of them love the Jets and the others love the Giants.
 
November 16, 2011
Yeah, I kinda shook my head when I heard the news about this one.
November 17, 2011
I just don't get it. They're upset over him getting fired but, not the fact that he didn't report sexual abuse of a 10 year old boy?!? Craziness.
 
1
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #15
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The Jerry Sandusky child sexual abuse scandal involves allegations made in 2011 against former Pennsylvania State University football assistant coach Jerry Sandusky and an alleged cover-up of those incidents by the university.

Sandusky, a longtime defensive coordinator under head coach Joe Paterno, retired in 1999 but retained access to Penn State's athletic facilities. A 2011 grand jury investigation reported that in 2000, a Penn State janitor named James Calhoun witnessed Sandusky in Penn State football's shower facilities performing oral sex on a boy between the ages of 11 and 13. He reported the incident to his immediate supervisor, Jay Witherite, but passed it along to neither school nor police officials. The grand jury further reported that in 2002, Mike McQueary, then a graduate assistant, told Paterno that he had seen Sandusky sexually assaulting a 10-year-old boy in Penn State football's shower facilities. Paterno then reported the allegations to Penn State athletic director Tim Curley.

In November 2011, Sandusky was arrested on 40 counts of molesting eight young boys over a 15-year period. In addition, Curley and university Senior Vice President Gary Schultz resigned after being charged with failing to report the incident to police and lying to a grand jury regarding what they knew about the incident. Paterno and University President Graham Spanier were not charged, but both received criticism for their handling of the allegations. On November 9, ...
view wiki

Tags

Human Sexuality, Sex Scandals, Joe Paterno, Penn State, Jerry Sandusky

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists