|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Soda » Reviews » Pepsi Throwback » User review

Pepsi Throwback

Pespi-Cola made with real cane sugar.

< read all 2 reviews

Pepsi Throwback? Toss some over here!

  • Jan 18, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+4
I'm a big Pepsi fan, so when I saw the commercial for the limited edition Throwback version, I had to give it a try.  How is the version with "real sugar" the limited time version?  We live in a time of HDTV's, unlimited cell phone plans, and wifi on airplanes -- is it too much to ask that we put real sugar in our soft drinks??

The Throwback Pepsi is less "sweet" than the regular Pepsi I'm used to.  Although it may sound blasphemous, it did have a hint of "Coca Cola" flavor, but still maintained the character of Pepsi that I prefer.  The flavor was rich and it had a vibrant bouquet (ok.. just kidding about the bouquet, but I did try to sniff it -- @babymama swirled it in her glass for a bit to let it breath).

So don't tease us, Pepsi! Don't let the Throwback Pepsi go the way of the Chilito and the McDLT.  I'm casting my vote for real sugar! 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
35
Thought-Provoking
33
Fun to Read
40
Well-Organized
31
Post a Comment
July 11, 2011
Alas, pre-diabetes has relegated me to enjoying the Diet Pepsi solely.
 
January 19, 2010
nice write up. This was advertised as "made with real sugar" I guess the original wasn't? I guess it had high fructose syrup which makes the difference. I rarely drink soda but I may try this sometime. Thanks!
 
January 19, 2010
ha ha ha...I found it funny that they advertised "real sugar" in this limited time recipe! I'm a Coke fan myself, so maybe I'll give this "less sweet" version of Pepsi a try, plus I'll be supporting the use of real sugar. Thanks for the review!!
January 19, 2010
Exactly! It is sad that even our "sugar water" doesn't contain real sugar. But I guess we're also just as excited to see "made with 10% real juice" on the juice bottles. I wonder how long until our water bottles come with a sticker that says "contains real water"!
 
January 19, 2010
Man I cant believe you wrote this review. I am trying to cut weight and cut soda from my diet for two weeks. Every time l look at my Lunch screen there is your review,with that pretty retro can of soda calling me. That's it, it's 12:22 a.m. and I am sneaking out to Walmart (my nemesis) to get a six pack. Dude if I don't make weight it's all your fault!
January 19, 2010
By the way our Costco here has Coke "made in Mexico" with pure cane sugar in the bottles. Believe it or not it is about $8 more for the case but many of the TEX-MEX joints sell it as well.
January 19, 2010
I'm pretty sure it's easier to lose weight from pure sugar when compared to corn syrup. Trust me.. I'm a scientist.
January 19, 2010
Ohhh well then, what was I thinking a Case of Pepsi it is.....
January 20, 2010
Drew you evil evil guy. Finally found some throwback here, picked up 2 cases from a Kroger they have about 8 left. Well just had two of them back to back...300 calories of pure sugar WOW they are good. I am having to skip a meal and hit the elliptical again to cut weight. I am weak with no will power I submit to the power of Pepsi.
 
January 18, 2010
Oooooh, I've gotta try this!  The only soda I've ever had with real sugar is Jarritos.  Must try this, and the Coca Cola version.  Thanks for giving non-TV watching me a heads up on this! :)
 
January 18, 2010
I totally think the Throwback one taste better than the regular one.  There was something in it that really made me love it.  It takes a moment to adjust to the taste (for me it tasted a little sweeter at first) but I rather like t.
 
January 18, 2010
Cane sugar sounds great! I'm a fan of Coke but I'm adventurous and I wonder what cane sugar is like in a pop!
 
1
More Pepsi Throwback reviews
review by . January 04, 2010
Old school Pepsi-Cola is back and it's made with real sugar.
Pespi Throwback is a retro brand of soda that hasn't been made in over 25 years.  I saw a commercial for it Sunday afternoon during NFL football.  I had to buy some and it was worth it.  I haven't tasted a Pepsi like this since I was in the fifth grade.  This stuff is awesome.  The soda is nowhere as sweet and syrupy tasting as the current product.  If Pepsi continued to make this instead of the nasty HFCS soaked sodas that are on the shelves then they would have a …
About the reviewer
Andrew ()
Ranked #24
I'm a technology early adopter. I thoroughly enjoy geeking out with the latest hardware, software and electronics. I probably have as much fun setting up, tweaking, and configuring systems as I do actually … more
About this topic

Wiki

A limited edition version of Pepsi made with real cane sugar instead of HFCS.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists