|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Photography » Reviews » Photoshop.com iPhone Application » User review

Photoshop.com iPhone Application

An image editing application for iPhone.

< read all 4 reviews

iPhone Photos CAN Look Good

  • Jan 28, 2010
  • by
  • posted in iApps
Rating:
+4
I've been getting quite a few compliments about the lighting of my current profile picture (thank you, Lunchers!).  Well, here's a shocker: this photo was actually taken with an iPhone on a dark, rainy night with just the lighting of a fast food restaurant drive-through glowing on me, then it was edited with this magical Photoshop.com iPhone application.  Check out the before and after.  It's amazing how about a minute's worth of a few simple strokes made such a huge difference.


 
As all iPhone users know, the iPhone takes some pretty crummy photos.  So what if the iPhone 3GS has 3MP, selective focus, and a macro setting?  Unless your photos are always taken in well-lit areas, none of those features really matter since the there's no flash or any crucial adjustable camera settings like brightness and contrast.  Solution?  Enter Photoshop.com's iPhone application.  Dun duh-duh-duuuh!

First things first, this Photoshop app is nothing like the actual Adobe Photoshop software that runs on a computer.  It actually runs like the Photoshop.com web app, or if you're familiar with flickr, it runs like Picnik, where you can upload a photos and easily edit them right on the web.  What's different with the iPhone, of course, is that edits are all based on touch, you can scroll with your finger to achieve various intensities of the effects.  You have the option of taking a new photo to edit, or using an existing one. 

If you've ever done traditional photography, or better yet, have photoshopping experience, you'll get this in a cinch, and if not, playing around with it for just a few minutes will get you up to speed.  It's very intuitive.

  • Things you can do to your photos with this app: crop, straighten, rotate and flip.
  • You can also adjust exposure, saturation, contrast, tint or make your photos black and white.
  • There are also different textures, where you can use a sketch effect, soft focus, or sharpen.
  • Other special effects include vibrant, pop, vignette blur, warm vintage, rainbow, warm glow and soft black and white.
  • And various borders can be added, include white borders in various shapes, and black borders like a vignette, half-tone or film emulsion.

It's really a piece of cake.  You can check out my video review for my little demo of it with Ferdinand:

(btw, that is my first video review ever, so if you've got any feedback or advice, I'd really appreciate it!)

This app isn't perfect and it doesn't have everything on it, but for the most part, it gets the job done, which is -- making your photos looks way better than when they were originally taken with your iPhone.  It's got all your basic photo editing needs covered.  There's no longer a need to upload the photo elsewhere and then edit; you can just edit on the iPhone and it's ready to use.  I know there are plenty of photo editing apps out there, but what set this apart from the others?  Well, for one, it's made by Photoshop, and oh, did I mention that it's free, too?  You can't beat that! :)
Unleash Your Inner Photographer With This App!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
30
Fun to Read
30
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
February 12, 2010
Great review. I'm sold :)
February 12, 2010
Thanks, Jessica! Do you have an iPhone, too? :)
 
February 12, 2010
Ya know, I totally read this and watched the video and everything, gave it kudos and totally forgot to comment on this.  I really enjoy the app, good work!
February 12, 2010
Ha, I do that sometimes! Thanks, Julian! :)
 
February 06, 2010
Great review. Were you shooting the video with someone in the room? I know from my old TV days in high school, that it was easier to have someone in the room and make believe I was talking to him rather than being by myself with a camera. I like that Ferdinand is completely symetrical no matter which way you flip him. Now I just need an iPhone. :)
February 06, 2010
Thanks, Jim! And nope, nobody else was in the room, but that's a good idea! And I love that Ferdinand is completely symmetrical, too -- that's the sign of a gorgeous face ;D
 
February 02, 2010
 Question: why did you choose Vimeo over YouTube?
February 03, 2010
Good question! I definitely use YouTube more often for looking at videos since it has all sorts of random, offbeat, entertaining stuff, and it's the more popular site, but with that, comes a lot of noise and trash as well, plus a pretty rampant, childish community.

With Vimeo though, the community seems much more mature and thoughtful, and there's a higher percentage of quality, thought-provoking videos when I actually click around the site, versus all the mindless stuff that I might find on YouTube.  When I first saw Vimeo a couple of years ago, I knew that that was the type of community that I wanted to be a part of when I started making videos.  Granted, mine are far from good now, but I'm hoping to make them better!  Was that too long winded of an explanation? :P
 
February 02, 2010
OK, OK, OK...I'll admit it. I'm *jealous* of this b/c Photoshop didn't make a WinMo app!

I liked the picture and told you so, but I *love* that you did a video review.  I might have to copy you! :)  

Nice lunch.com case too.
February 03, 2010
Neener neener neener! :P  And thank you! *blush*  I hope you do some video reviews, too! :)
 
February 02, 2010
Looks easy enough but I do not know that I have the where with all to operate this thing. Nice job
February 03, 2010
Thanks for your comment, Harold! Like I told @Dave79 in the comment below, if you've figured out how to use your computer and the internet, then you'll probably figure out how to use the iPhone in a jiffy! :)
 
January 29, 2010
superstar! That vid is so good...I think we need to hire you as spokesperson for the iphone! I am really impressed on the amount of thought that you put into this review, Your vid is very...shall we say 'user friendly". . whoo-hoo! roll out the red carpet for Lady D...I am so forwarding this to apple ;-).
January 29, 2010
That iphone cover looks familiar...hmmm...
February 01, 2010
Aw, thanks a bunch, Woo! I think I need some background music, and that the length needs to be cut by 1/2 or 1/3... working on it!

And it does?  I wonder where you've seen it... ;P
February 01, 2010
I have to say, Devora, I've been reading your earlier reviews (yup I am up to something...good) and you have become quite a reviewer; this video review is very creative and informative. One of these days, I will give you my iphone secrets...and you can do all the reviewing about the apps! ;-P
 
January 29, 2010
Love the video review, you've inspired me! It really takes a review to a different level. A picture is worth a thousand words, but a video - a million! I think what would help is if you held the iPhone even closer to the lens so that we could see in more detail what you were pressing. Although that would be hard of course because you need to put your hand between the camera and the iPhone! You could zoom in though. 
With a baby I'm not sure if I'll ever get around to doing video reviews, that's tough! I'll have to say yours is really great for a first!
January 29, 2010
Thanks a ton for your feedback and advice, Anastasia!  Yeah... that is a conundrum -- me needing to see my iPhone while I film, lol, maybe I'll experiment with different placements of my camera.  Zooming is a good idea, I may just try that!

Maybe Eliana can be part of your videos as an assistant in your demonstrations since you do so many parenting reviews!  I know you want to keep her off the web for a while, but maybe someday :)
January 29, 2010
You're welcome :) I did get that thought when watching you video, to have Eliana demonstrate the products. Maybe, we'll see!
 
January 28, 2010
Great review. The video quality was a little rough, but I'm not much of a tech person, so I can't offer anything in the way of advice. But you did a good job. Also, I love your closing on the second paragraph:
"Solution? Enter Photoshop.com's iPhone application. Dun duh-duh-duuuh!"
Hilarious!
You ought to add a video of Ferdinand the frog to your review of the White's tree frogs.
January 29, 2010
Thanks for your feedback, Sean!  I underestimated the space on my free Vimeo account (which is 500 MB a week, but I had already uploaded four other videos this week).  Now I've reuploaded the video.  Should be better quality now!

I've tried making videos of Ferdinand before, but he is sooooo boring!  He just sits there, and never moves.  It seems like he moves about twice a day.  Plus, he doesn't move much in well lit areas since he's a nocturnal little critter, so any good action shots would have to be shot with night vision.  I need to get a critter that looks good in stills and on film! ;)
January 29, 2010
He's a frog... he must hop every now and then, right?
January 29, 2010
He doesn't... He doesn't even croak! Ferdinand's extremely quiet and chill. I have guests who come over and stare at him, expecting him to do something, but no, that's just Ferdinand :P
January 29, 2010
Oh, and that picture of him with the red background -- he literally sat there for about three hours just chilling until I scooped him up and put him back into his tank.
January 29, 2010
So, he's a Zen frog. =D
 
1
More Photoshop.com iPhone Applicati... reviews
Quick Tip by . May 07, 2010
My go to image editor.
Quick Tip by . March 12, 2010
.
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
Not perfect or the best, but it's free & gets the job done! :)
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists