|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Gifts » Reviews » Planned Parenthood Gift Certificates » User review

Planned Parenthood Gift Certificates

Gift certificates now offered by Planned Parenthood

< read all 1 reviews

Unplanned Presents

  • May 4, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-1
I've been known to exchange, re-gift, and return gifts, I can't help it; I can be one hard gal to shop for. Which, to the exhaust of my family and friends, is why many have simply given up and retreated to the faithful standby of gift cards and certificates. Haters say the cards or certs are thoughtless, but not me; normally I'd say bring it on, that is until Planned Parenthood got in on the game.

That's right, Planned Parenthood gift certificates. The certificates come in $25-100 increments and cover all services including abortion.

It's the gift for the person that has everything, including genital warts or an unplanned pregnancy.

Planned Parenthood says it was in response to the large number of newly unemployed and uninsured women seeking an array of services. They don't think the gift certificates will be used for abortions, but for other services, like breast exams.

Oh? They offer other services, like PAP and breast exams, birth control and STD checkups?  Um, here's the thing Planned Parenthood…One: That's not what you're known for and Two: those "other services" aren't good gifts either.
 
How do you even give one as a gift? Do you say, ‘Honeybunch, don't ask me how I knew about your Crabs, but here, this is for you.' or ‘Sweetie before we go the that Christmas play about Jesus birth, let's use that gift card to stop one of our own.'

What's next, little memberships cards you could put on your keychain for discounts? Or Buy One Get One free? I'm here to tell you, something has gone horribly wrong with communications if you're getting a Planned Parenthood gift certificate.

Officials at Planned Parenthood say, the certificates are only offered in Indiana and Illinois.

 I guess I'm lucky because the folks I know here in Colorado don't usually travel out of state for my gifts. Speaking of the present department if you're wondering what I want this year, let me tell you; I'm not that hard (or knocked) up for gifts. A robe will do just fine, just save the receipt.

Now offering gift cards!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
May 09, 2009
can I have one in the future? ;P
May 09, 2009
One can never have too many Planned Parenthood Gift certs in ones wallet!
 
May 08, 2009
This may be the funniest review I've read here on Lunch.com. Who even knew that they made gift certificates? :D
May 09, 2009
Yeah, the PR Department may need to rethink this concept...lol
May 09, 2009
Out of curiosity, who would actually give you one of these?
May 11, 2009
OH, God! No one I'd know would ever! Why you got someone in mind for this "handy gift? (did you check out my review of the online STD notification site, 'Itchy Inbox'? Heehee..
 
May 05, 2009
This was HILARIOUS- great article! All I can say is wow...
May 05, 2009
Just give me an iTunes card, ya know?! Thankf for checking out the review
May 05, 2009
No kidding...or Safeway, something practical that you can use that has nothing do with your personal health.
 
May 04, 2009
ROTFL!!!! This is classic. I came to comment on the new pic(I like the cowgirl look) and i ended up dying of laughter because of this awesome article. Where did you find out about this? Who was the clown that thought that would be a good idea?? Too many questions for these folks...
May 04, 2009
"Thank you kindly sir," she said with a tip of her hat.
 
1
About the reviewer
E. Brown ()
Ranked #275
Member Since: Feb 10, 2009
Last Login: Sep 8, 2010 09:57 PM UTC
Recent reviews by BrnWriter
About this topic

Wiki

Planned Parenthood is the collective name of organizations worldwide who are members of the International Planned Parenthood Federation (IPPF). The Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA) is the U.S. affiliate of IPPF and one of its larger members. PPFA provides reproductive health and maternal and child health services. Planned Parenthood Action Fund, Inc. (PPAF) is a related organization that lobbies the U.S. political system for pro-choice legislation, comprehensive sex education, and access to affordable health care.[3]

The organization has its roots in Brooklyn, New York where Margaret Sanger opened the country's first birth control clinic. Sanger founded the American Birth Control League in 1921,[4] which changed its name to Planned Parenthood Federation of America, Inc. in 1942. Since then, it has grown to about 880 clinic locations in the United States, with a total budget of approximately US$1 billion, and provides an array of services to over three million people.

Dealing with sexuality, the organization is often the centre of controversy in the United States. The organization's status as the country's leading provider of surgical abortions has put it in the forefront of national debate over the issue. Planned Parenthood has also been a party in numerous Supreme Court cases.

view wiki

Tags

Gifts, Gift Cards, Planned Parenthood, Gift Certificates

Details

First to Review

"Unplanned Presents"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists