|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Green Living » Reviews » Precycling » User review

Precycling

the practice of reducing waste by attempting to avoid bringing into the home or business items which will generate waste.

< read all 3 reviews

Precycling is Thinking-Before-You-Buy to avoid waste later

  • Mar 6, 2010
Rating:
+5

Precycling is the process of thinking things through before buying something. Before buying a product ask yourself, "When I am finished with this product what will happen?" Will it go off to a landfill, am I going to recycle it, will I be able to reuse it somehow or am I going to donate it to someone? Knowing the answer to these questions before buying a product is a great step in a great direction. Precycling is a very good way to reduce the buildup of waste, items to landfills and even can save you money.


Below are ways to think ahead and Precycle:

  • buy items in bulk in recyclable packaging and avoid individually wrapped items
  • buy loose fruits and vegetables instead of packaged
  • buy concentrates because they last longer and then recycle the container
  • use a reusable coffee and travel mugs instead of using disposable cups
  • use cloth napkins instead of paper
  • use washable plates and utensils instead of disposable
  • bring your own canvas or reusable bags with you to the store; don't use the store's bags

  learn to precycle

  • use rechargeable batteries
  • find clever ways to reuse common household items
  • compact fluorescent bulbs are more energy efficient and they also last longer than regular incandescent bulbs
  • save used brown paper bags, twist ties, plastic food bags, foam packing chips, boxes, gift wrap, holiday cards for reuse
  • learn to Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle
  • borrow or rent items you only use occasionally or consider buying and sharing that equipment with friends or family
     

Get together with your family and think of ways to precycle.  You may find that you eventually will be buying less often.  You can reduce your waste while saving money. Think ahead and Precycle!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
30
Fun to Read
29
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
January 29, 2012
My favorite current green thing is reusing every glass jar that comes into the house over and over again. I make big batches of veggie broth and beans and freeze them in glass. It feels great to reuse up things we would have "recycled" in the bin. Also cardboard is great for craft projects, think canvas.
 
August 09, 2011
Response:

* buy items in bulk in recyclable packaging and avoid individually wrapped items - I do.

* buy loose fruits and vegetables instead of packaged- I do .

* buy concentrates because they last longer and then recycle the container- I do.

* use a reusable coffee and travel mugs instead of using disposable cups- I do.

* use cloth napkins instead of paper- I don't. I do save extra paper napkins given out by restaurants.

* use washable plates and utensils instead of disposable-
I do

* bring your own canvas or reusable bags with you to the store; don't use the store's bags- I do.
 
March 07, 2010
Some great suggestions here and so many of them could be implemented without seriously cramping your lifestyle.
 
March 07, 2010
Something I usually do at the grocery store is check if the package is recyclable. If the package doesn't have the recycling number on it (if it's plastic), then I usually will either not buy it or find an alternative that is in a paperboard or other more easily-recycled package. This is a great review. Thanks for sharing!
March 07, 2010
Thank you very much. What you do is great. It reduces so much waste later and that's never a bad thing.
March 07, 2010
Very true.
 
March 06, 2010
Good ideas. I try to remember to bring my canvas bags when I go grocery shopping but forget more than I remember. I use the flourescent bulbs.
March 06, 2010
Thanks. You mention two great Green habits to have. We can all do something.
 
1
More Precycling reviews
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
posted in Mongabay
Precycling is really just about buying less junk you don't actually need. Ever since I left my full time job to stay home with the baby (and work from home part-time) we have been a lot more selective about what we buy, many things people consider 'necessities' we do just fine without. Healthy food is our biggest necessity.
Quick Tip by . March 23, 2010
This is the hardest thing to incorporate into your shopping, but it's so important! Pre-cycle!
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Ranked #50
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Precycling is the practice of reducing waste by attempting to avoid bringing into the home or business items which will generate waste.

It includes such practices as buying consumables in bulk to reduce packaging, buying consumables in recyclable packaging over non-recyclable packages, avoiding junk mail, and using electronic media for reading materials, especially throwaway items such as magazines or newspapers. It can also include the practice of using an item or material for another purpose prior to use for its original purpose, thus avoiding using some other material or object. For example a bowl of fruit and nuts on a holiday table as decor prior to eating it precludes buying or using something else.

As recycling requires large amounts of energy to "melt down" and then re-manufacture items, it also sends large amounts of pollution into the air. While it may cut down on the amount of trash that is going into landfills, it is not a sustainable answer to the problem of waste. The original three pronged push for trash management is "Reduce, Reuse, Recycle." Precycling then, is an emphasis on "reducing and reusing", while harnessing the momentum and popularity of the term "recycle."

One way to participate in precycling is to carry a "precycling kit" with you when you are out. Include a Tupperware or non-diposable container, silverware set, a cloth napkin or handkerchief and a thermos or water-bottle within a cloth bag that can...

view wiki

Details

Polls
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists