|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Politics » Reviews » President Barack Obama Wins 2009 Nobel Peace Prize » User review

Nobel Peace Prize

The 2009 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to US President Barack Obama.

< read all 19 reviews

Obama: Poised For Peace Prize

  • Oct 9, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
“Let me be clear. I do not view it as recognition of my own accomplishments but rather as an affirmation of American leadership on behalf of aspirations held by people in all nations," Obama said, speaking about being awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

He, along with the rest of the world, were surprised, and many not pleasently, this morning when the Norwegian Nobel Committee annouced him as the recpient.

Obama has now joined the ranks of MLK, The Dalai Lama, and Mother Teresa.

I cannot argue against the incredible accomplishments of the other Nobel nominees and awardees. But I don't need to.
 
President Barack Obama has inspired hope for billions of people in the U.S. and across the world. There has never been another political figure, probably ever, that has stirred this much excitement, hope and awareness. He has almost single-handedly reversed the the direction of the worlds pessimistic public image of our country. Anyone who has traveled or talked to foreigners before and after the 8 years that Bush was in office, you know what I am talking about.
 
I traveled to Nairobi, Kenya, two-years after Obama made his appearance at the DNC in 2004. There were murals painted all over, on buildings, buses and fences across the city and across the country, including the Muslim town of Mombassa.
 
I was so taken aback by the hype surrounding the movement behind this man. For once, young people actually cared about politics? I saw more evidence when I traveled to Denver for the DNC in 2008, to hear him give his acceptance speech. I didn't have a place to say, or tickets to the speech or any money to afford the 20 hour drive, or the GPA to be able to skip a week of class to attend the conference. I went anyways.
 
Obama did something to me that he has done to so many other Americans and people around the world. He inspired me. He inspired the spirit of any human being who was willing to listen.
Every president will be scrutinized from every angle for their time in the office. Most are scrutinized even long after their dead.
 
If you cannot agree that he deserved the Nobel Piece Prize honor, at least give him the
respect that he accepted it as a "call to action,” and not an acknowledgment of what his has done.

The reason why he was awarded the Nobel is because they are trying to build momentum behind Obama's objective to ease tensions with the Middle East and similar environmental dangers (see Al Gore receiving the prize in 2007). His strategy is to use diplomacy and cooperation, something that is drastically different then other U.S. President’s strategies on both fronts.
 
Of course Obama is going to give his prize money to charity, hopefully an organization that is parallel with his mission of a “call to action.”
 
Instead of hating the political component of the situation, people should look at the bigger picture of the effect he's had. If that happens, maybe a few more people will join the call to follow through on the peace-fueled swing from President Obama.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
43
Thought-Provoking
41
Fun to Read
28
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
October 12, 2009
Great review. Thanks for reminding how Obama changed the way young people think about politics! It definitely makes me feel differently about the award.
 
October 11, 2009
what a fantastic and inspiring review - awesome to hear your perspective, thx!
 
October 10, 2009
Great review, Aria. I'm a little embarrassed to admit that I had no idea who Obama was until he started running in the presidential election. I love how you threw in that bit about your visit to Kenya and how there were murals of him up. I didn't realize that he had such an impact around the world. Thanks for sharing.
October 10, 2009
Yeah, and its the same thing in Rio, his face is used to advertise Baile Funk parties and he was ALL over peoples t-shirts. AND part of an elaborate sand castle right on Copacabana beach during New Years. Its really hard to describe how much he as touched people all over the world.
October 10, 2009
Agreed. Your poignant Nairobi example gives us a much needed reminder that President Obama has been on the front lines of strengthening international diplomacy for quite some time now. Thanks for sharing your heartfelt, and endearing point of view, Aria!
 
October 09, 2009
Great review! I still think the award is premature but you have some great points.
October 09, 2009
well, Its no secret i love Obama and am nothing but optimistic about the outcome of this award. That does not mean I haven't enjoyed the intense wave of sarcasm that has flooded the internet today.
October 10, 2009
Speaking of stuff from the internet about this, did you see the quotes about how he "bombed the moon AND won the Nobel Peace Prize on the same day!"? Hilarious!
October 10, 2009
Yes America is da O BOMB A !!!
 
October 09, 2009
Excellent write up.  I couldn't agree more.  I'm actually preparing a write up as we speak.  It'll be posted within a few minutes.
 
1
More President Barack Obama Wins 20... reviews
review by . October 09, 2009
   I don't think it's a secret that I'm a conservative but before you write me off as someone who can only find fault in President Obama, let me say that I don't "blame" Obama for this one. He has been very gracious about receiving the Nobel Peace Prize, saying, "I do not feel that I deserve to be in the company of so many transformative figures that have been honored by this prize." and announced that he will donate all of the prize money to charity.   …
review by . October 09, 2009
Within ten months of his Presidency, Barack Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize for what he has done to bridge the gap between America and other nations.  It came as quite a shock to everyone, including himself.  And thus the Two Sided Politics has started again.  With the left saying this is a great thing for the nation and the right saying it's a horrible thing.  I've already talked once about how the Right isn't going to support anything Obama related.  As has already been …
review by . October 10, 2009
Get on the Peace Wave!
Yesterday AM  and before the Peace Prize announcement I mentioned to a  friend that I thought Obama was doing a great job. Asked why  replied that the world is so much calmer. We don't get daily Palestine  Israel  bad news, we are disarming, there was a UN vote and Russia France China voted with US, things are better in Middle East and  finally Cuba!  America has a most elegant  and inspiring world leader.       He became President …
review by . October 10, 2009
Tenacious Pufferfish
For those who think it was premature for President Obama to win the Nobel peace prize, pleas evaluate what you think one man can do. Obama can only bring us to the well of peace, it is up to us to drink/embrace it. He needs your positive support.  He can create the possibility of peace, will you help make it happen?   He is bringing the nations of the world back together that splintered away when Ex-President Bush was in office.  He is bringing back the respect that the United …
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
What did he do for this?
Quick Tip by . March 14, 2010
The Noble Prize has lost all credibility. The most ridiculous award ever.
Quick Tip by . January 29, 2010
Possibly the most ludicrous Nobel nomination ever. Shame on the Nobel committee.
review by . October 14, 2009
President Barrack Obama's Nobel Peace Prize award win is a giant step forward in bringing peace to the Middle East and rehabilitating America's image after the debacle of Bush Jr.'s eight years in the Oval Office.  It took a lot of stones for the President to Address the Arab nations and apologize for our country's past digressions in the Middle East.  This award win is also an excellent move in the right direction towards bringing dialog to our so called "axis of enemies", moving …
Quick Tip by . October 17, 2009
Obama's hugh ego is being played like a 10 cent kazoo! "The Nobel Peace Prize", indeed. It was an insult...and the boob fell for it.
Quick Tip by . October 13, 2009
While I am happy that President Obama won, I feel like it may have been a bit pre-mature. Never the less, Congratulations!
About the reviewer
Aria Juliet Castillo ()
Ranked #45
I'm a graphic designer, originally from Hawaii and now I'm living it up in L.A.   I've been a vegetarian my entire life, but I am still obsessed with fast food, and I love eating … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ariajuliet
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The 2009 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded on October 9, 2009 to U.S. President Barack Obama for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples. He was awarded the Prize for his work to promote nuclear nonproliferation and for international relations especially with the Muslim world.

There were mixed reactions to Obama winning the award including criticisms such as the award was premature and inappropriate. Obama is one of three sitting US Presidents to receive the award.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists