|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Politics » Reviews » President Barack Obama Wins 2009 Nobel Peace Prize » User review

Nobel Peace Prize

The 2009 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to US President Barack Obama.

< read all 19 reviews

President Obama doesn't deserve it...at least not yet

  • Oct 9, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-3

I don't think it's a secret that I'm a conservative but before you write me off as someone who can only find fault in President Obama, let me say that I don't "blame" Obama for this one. He has been very gracious about receiving the Nobel Peace Prize, saying, "I do not feel that I deserve to be in the company of so many transformative figures that have been honored by this prize." and announced that he will donate all of the prize money to charity.

However, I don't believe President Obama has done enough to deserve such a high honor. The Nobel Committee praised him for promoting a message of peace, cooperation, nuclear disarmament, and promising to ease conflict. While President Obama definitely has a strong desire to bring more global unity, there hasn't been much to show for it, other than some speeches and visits abroard. I just don't think there has been enough action to warrant such a highly distinguished award.

My opinion on this only grew after reading an article on Time.com about Greg Mortenson, who was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by some members of Congress. His organization, Central Asia Institute, has built over 130 schools for girls in Afghanistan and Pakistan, where the girls desperately need them. Personally, I think Greg Mortenson should have gotten the prize over President Obama.

I think the Nobel Committee may have been a little too star-struck by President Obama's rock star qualities this year. I hope President Obama at least considers donating some of the prize money to Greg Mortenson's organization so he can continue building more schools for girls.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
46
Thought-Provoking
54
Fun to Read
35
Well-Organized
44
Post a Comment
October 19, 2009
Although I am an Obama fan, I think that it is a fair assessment that not much has been done by him to warrant him to recieve this reward. I'd like to know of whose agenda was that to see that Obama get the Nobel prize?
 
October 12, 2009
Cool review. It was nice to see a conservative viewpoint (I don't read much of those from younger people these days!) I totally agree with you re: Obama's modest acceptance. I think that's something we can all agree on!
 
October 10, 2009
I like that you are involved and care. Just curious... Are you a William Buckley, a Pat Buchanan or Michelle Bachmann kind of conservative?
October 11, 2009
I actually don't know who any of those people are other than Pat Buchanan and only because he ran for president a few (?) times. (And no, I didn't vote for him in the primaries.) LOL! I don't find that I really identify with any one conservative figure really. I find things I agree with and don't agree with for every politician or pundit. I just listen to the news and form my own opinions. =)
 
October 10, 2009
Very good thoughts. Obama was chosen after he had been in office for only 11 days and hadn't done nothing except make speeches to run a political campaign. There are individuals who were nominated who are sitting in jail for their struggle for freedom. Is the world power structure supporting and their struggles for peace and freedom? The Nobel Peace Prize is all about politics and not about the real struggles for peace and freedom that is happening around the world.
 
October 10, 2009
I thinkt he best part about your review, is that while you admit you're a Conservative but at least your review doesn't seem politically motivated.  I agree that he hasn't done much to deserve but also I don't feel he's been given a chance to do much to warrant it.  But I do like to think that it's a good sign for America.  I just wish it didn't get skewered by the politics.  This is one of those moments that doesn't even really warrant politicizing.  There are a few too many people letting their political beliefs get the best of the moment for them.  It's like... being a Conservative or Liberal or being a Republican or Democrat doesn't really have much of anything to do with the fact that it happened, and it certainly has nothing to do with whether or not he deserved it.  So I'm glad so many people are able to separate their own politics from it.  But I'm still happy about it, to be honest with you.
October 10, 2009
sean - you are one cool guy! - i truly appreciate your spirit - your intellect has heart to it. you show balance, willingness to see both sides!
October 11, 2009
You ought to read some of Sean's other pieces, Verb.
 
October 10, 2009
solid! but the whole Nobel Prize thing to me seems like just so much window dressing.
 
October 10, 2009
On the anniversary of John Lennon's birth, President Obama wins the Nobel Prize as we simultaneously bomb The Moon. In related news, George Orwell says, "I told you so....'War is Peace'".
 
October 10, 2009
I agree with your review. I don't feel he's really done anything to even be nominated for the NPP. If I were Obama I would have asked the committee to give me the prize in a year or so, so he could prove himself.
October 10, 2009
He should say "Imma let you finish but..." LOL!
October 10, 2009
LOL!!
 
October 10, 2009
Great review. I think that the prize was a bit premature for Mr. President. If we were closer to the end of his first term, or somewhere in his second term i wouldnt have too much to say other than congrats.
 
October 10, 2009
I'm still not sure where I stand on this, but I agree that the way Obama received this honor was outstanding.  And I did not know that about the other Nobel Peace Prize contender, but that's a great suggestion that you made.  Thanks for the sharing your thoughts on this.  Jogged my brain, too!
October 10, 2009
True, but a "minus three"??
 
1 2 Next
More President Barack Obama Wins 20... reviews
review by . October 09, 2009
“Let me be clear. I do not view it as recognition of my own accomplishments but rather as an affirmation of American leadership on behalf of aspirations held by people in all nations," Obama said, speaking about being awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.      He, along with the rest of the world, were surprised, and many not pleasently, this morning when the Norwegian Nobel Committee annouced him as the recpient.      Obama has now joined the ranks of …
review by . October 09, 2009
Within ten months of his Presidency, Barack Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize for what he has done to bridge the gap between America and other nations.  It came as quite a shock to everyone, including himself.  And thus the Two Sided Politics has started again.  With the left saying this is a great thing for the nation and the right saying it's a horrible thing.  I've already talked once about how the Right isn't going to support anything Obama related.  As has already been …
review by . October 10, 2009
Get on the Peace Wave!
Yesterday AM  and before the Peace Prize announcement I mentioned to a  friend that I thought Obama was doing a great job. Asked why  replied that the world is so much calmer. We don't get daily Palestine  Israel  bad news, we are disarming, there was a UN vote and Russia France China voted with US, things are better in Middle East and  finally Cuba!  America has a most elegant  and inspiring world leader.       He became President …
review by . October 10, 2009
Tenacious Pufferfish
For those who think it was premature for President Obama to win the Nobel peace prize, pleas evaluate what you think one man can do. Obama can only bring us to the well of peace, it is up to us to drink/embrace it. He needs your positive support.  He can create the possibility of peace, will you help make it happen?   He is bringing the nations of the world back together that splintered away when Ex-President Bush was in office.  He is bringing back the respect that the United …
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
What did he do for this?
Quick Tip by . March 14, 2010
The Noble Prize has lost all credibility. The most ridiculous award ever.
Quick Tip by . January 29, 2010
Possibly the most ludicrous Nobel nomination ever. Shame on the Nobel committee.
review by . October 14, 2009
President Barrack Obama's Nobel Peace Prize award win is a giant step forward in bringing peace to the Middle East and rehabilitating America's image after the debacle of Bush Jr.'s eight years in the Oval Office.  It took a lot of stones for the President to Address the Arab nations and apologize for our country's past digressions in the Middle East.  This award win is also an excellent move in the right direction towards bringing dialog to our so called "axis of enemies", moving …
Quick Tip by . October 17, 2009
Obama's hugh ego is being played like a 10 cent kazoo! "The Nobel Peace Prize", indeed. It was an insult...and the boob fell for it.
Quick Tip by . October 13, 2009
While I am happy that President Obama won, I feel like it may have been a bit pre-mature. Never the less, Congratulations!
About the reviewer
Rebecca Low ()
Ranked #124
I'm a mommy to 6 rats, 1 beta fish, and a dozen freshwater fish and married to my college sweetheart. I attend anime & comic book conventions, collect toys & figures, and own a popular Sailor … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
aznaphrodite
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The 2009 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded on October 9, 2009 to U.S. President Barack Obama for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples. He was awarded the Prize for his work to promote nuclear nonproliferation and for international relations especially with the Muslim world.

There were mixed reactions to Obama winning the award including criticisms such as the award was premature and inappropriate. Obama is one of three sitting US Presidents to receive the award.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists