|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Weather » Reviews » Rain » User review

Rain

Liquid precipitation.

< read all 5 reviews

Raindrops keep falling on my head...

  • Jan 20, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+4
I have to admit that most of the time I enjoy rain more from behind a glass window, preferably next to a roaring fire. There's something soothing about the sound the droplets make on your roof as you sip hot cocoa and listen to mellow jazz. The world outside grows fuzzy and takes on a dreamlike quality.
But life happens and not everytime the skies decide to open are you safe within the comfort of your home, or indeed any enclosed shelter at all. Sometimes, should the weatherman be ridiculously more inaccurate than usual, you might even be caught without a jacket or umbrella in inclement weather. Frolicking in the rain is something I imagine more for the purposes of a music video or little children running in the streets in tropical locations where rain is a welcome respite from the heat. It's fun in theory. In practice it's only fun if you've got absolutely nowhere to go and nothing else to do. Frolicking with an umbrella isn't really frolicking and showing up looking like a drowned puppy dripping puddles on the floor is probably going to be frowned upon in most situations. Sad really. Because I've done it and the playing in the rain part is pretty amazing. It's just the after that's a bit of a letdown.
Maybe now that I live in a city where it rains about two days out of the year I can thank it fondly when it comes. There was a time when I have been caught in floods so severe people have had to abandon their cars and all but swim to safety, their homes barracaded by sandbags and concrete walls in an attempt to keep the water at bay. But even then I know that rain is still the primary source of fresh, life-sustaining water for most of the world. For that I'll take it.
I might not always readily run out unprotected to welcome it with open arms but I can appreciate the rain.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
27
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
February 04, 2010
You and me boh, I love a rainy day but after experiencing a flood a year ago makes me really appreciate the dry season. Nice job.
 
January 21, 2010
I agree. Being in the rain is fun at the time, until you realize that you have to change your clothes, dry your shoes, the whole routine. Thanks for this little tidbit!
 
January 21, 2010
I get depressed when it rains! But I do like it in the middle of the night :-) Just not when one needs to be on the road :-)
 
January 21, 2010
I like the rain. It is nature's way of giving us life! Nothing better than having hot cocoa and watching the weather. Thanks for this!
 
January 20, 2010
While I don't enjoy hiking or canoeing in the rain, I thoroughly enjoy the calming white noise of rain pounding on the roof of a tent overnight. I never sleep so calmly in the bush as I do when it's raining lightly ... just enough white noise to cover up the night noises that might jar you out of your sleep and not enough bad weather to worry about whether your tent is up to the challenge!
 
January 20, 2010
It has been totally raining cats and dogs in the Bay Area for a couple of days now.  We even had a slight thunderstorm, which made me really start to hate this weather, but reading your review is making me see rain in a different perspective.  I may just go out and frolick!  Thanks for sharing, Sarinya, and nice to see ya on here! :)
 
1
More Rain reviews
Quick Tip by . October 04, 2011
I love rainy nights, snuggling on the couch under a blanket with a fire, hot chocolate, and a laptop. Though I hope this doesn't last too long (I love perfect days in the City too), I will enjoy this as long as it lasts. The sound of rain against windowpanes is incredibly peaceful and relaxing. I'm not the biggest fan of driving in it but, once you're home for the evening, nothing beats that sound and the excuse to just relax. Then, when the rain clears, everything smells clean and fresh.
Quick Tip by . January 21, 2010
Only like it when I don't have to be out there on the streets and when it gets too hot! Otherwise, I love sunshine :-)
Quick Tip by . October 19, 2009
My husband and I both love rain. There is something beautiful about it. It only gets ugly if it rains for more than 2 days straight.
Quick Tip by . October 14, 2009
Rain, rain, go away, come again some other day.
About the reviewer
Sarinya ()
Ranked #139
I was once asked to make a list of random facts about me so... here's an excerpt of some things I'd like to share and other things I'd like to discover more about here at Lunch:    + … more
About this topic

Wiki

Rain is liquid precipitation, as opposed to other kinds of precipitation such as snow, hail and sleet. On Earth, it is the condensation of atmospheric water vapor into drops heavy enough to fall, often making it to the surface. Rain is the primary source of fresh water for most areas of the world, providing suitable conditions for diverse ecosystems, as well as water for hydroelectric power plants and crop irrigation. However, not all rain reaches the surface; some evaporates while falling through dry air. This is called virga, a phenomenon often seen in hot, dry desert regions. The METAR code for rain is RA.

Rain is also known or suspected on other worlds. On Titan, Saturn's largest moon, infrequent methane rain is thought to carve the moon's numerous surface channels. On Venus, sulfuric acid virga evaporates 25 km from the surface. There is likely to be rain of various compositions in the upper atmospheres of the gas giants, as well as precipitation of liquid neon and helium in the deep atmospheres.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists