|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Holidays » Reviews » Saint Patrick's Day » User review

St. Patrick's Day

An annual feast day which celebrates Saint Patrick, one of the patron saints of Ireland.

< read all 5 reviews

St. Patrick's Day is a great day to be Green in more ways than one

  • Mar 1, 2010
Rating:
+5

I am one-fourth Irish so I like to celebrate St. Patrick's Day every March 17th.  I used to celebrate in just the normal way: wear some green and maybe drink a little green beer (when I was at least 21 years old, of course).  Now on St. Patrick's Day I like to be a little greener on the greenest of all days.  Just like you don't have to be any kinda Irish to celebrate St. Patrick's Day you also don't have to be an Eco Expert to be a little more eco-friendly any day of the year.  

Below is a list of simple things anyone can do to be Greener on St. Patrick's day:

  • Make Decorations:  Create your own decorations or crafts from recycled paper, greenery or used fabric.  You can make shamrocks, leprechauns, pots of gold, etc.  It's a great project for the kids.
  • Party Invitations: Instead of sending out paper invitations you could do E-vites or email invitations to all of your guests.  This will also save you money.
  • Utensils & dinnerware: Don't use disposable utensils or plastic plates; more than likely they can't be recycled.
  • Irish Food: If you go with the Irish staple of corned beef and cabbage, look into organically grown beef .  For vegetarians there is always Irish vegetable stew.
  • Wear Green: You could make wear an organic and/or 100% cotton shirt or even make your own hat from recycled paper or left over fabric.
  • Green Beer: buy locally produced beer (better yet organic beer) and add a little food coloring; it's as simple as that (some say to use blue food coloring instead of green for a deeper green color).
  • Buy Something Green: Get a houseplant or weather permitting, plant a tree or bush or anything green to spruce up your landscape.
  • Recycle:  Don't forget to recycle all of the paper, plastic, metal and glass that was used this day, and every day for that matter.
  • Oh yeah, have a great St. Patrick's Day whatever you do.

You can make the greenest day of the year even more green. These are just some suggestions to be more eco-friendly without bringing down the celebration.  Have a great St. Patrick's Day and keep Irish eyes smiling.

St. Patrick's Day is a great day to be green in more ways than one St. Patrick's Day is a great day to be green in more ways than one St. Patrick's Day is a great day to be green in more ways than one St. Patrick's Day is a great day to be green in more ways than one

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
26
Thought-Provoking
26
Fun to Read
26
Well-Organized
26
Post a Comment
March 19, 2012
These are popular St. Pat's Day activities.
 
March 18, 2010
These are great party ideas. Nice job
 
March 06, 2010
I hadn't thought of the possibility of locally-produced beer. Good call, and great write-up. Oftentimes, the holidays are the days when people need to be reminded to be green the most. Holidays can be so distracting.
March 06, 2010
Very true. There are some great locally-produced breweries out there. Holidays are great times to show others some Green habits and maybe it will spread.
 
March 02, 2010
very very nice! How come all I can think about this day is the booze? LOL!
March 02, 2010
I know. There's something about guys and green beer.
 
March 02, 2010
Neat write-up! Great suggestions.
March 02, 2010
Thanks. It ought to be a fun St. Patrick's Day.
 
March 02, 2010
Nice review! Went to an Irish Night last weekend. My cousin is a Catholic priest and his parish has this event every year. Lots of fun with an Irish band and a corned beef and cabbage dinner. I can do without the cabbage though. Love some of your suggestions particularly the one about plastic utensils and dinnerware. Once again we waste some much. Washing a few utensils won't kill you. My wife and I do not own a dishwasher either and have no deisre to own one.
March 02, 2010
Thanks. That does sound like fun. The Irish know how to throw a party. I haven't had much corned beef and cabbage, but for what I've had it is some good stuff. You're right about washing utensils instead of throwing disposables away. It's just a waste.
 
March 02, 2010
How awesome and creative!  Those are some great eco-friendly tips to celebrate Saint Patty's Day.  I'll have to look into the locally produced beers in my area :D  Thanks for sharing, Clay!
March 02, 2010
Thanks a bunch. Good luck in your beer search. Turn it into fun research.
 
1
More Saint Patrick's Day reviews
Quick Tip by . March 16, 2012
A fun day where I can haul out my green garb to wear to work. I do worry about driving because there tends to be people with too much celebration on the roads.
Quick Tip by . March 12, 2010
A great day to celebrate Irish heritage and not just for the Irish- it's for everyone. Top of the morning to y'all!
Quick Tip by . March 01, 2010
Saint Patrick was a violent man who persecuted pagans & atheists. Why we celebrate him when he put a stain on our Irish legacy I don't know.
Quick Tip by . March 02, 2010
My favorite memory of St. Patrick's Day was sitting in a pub, watching a Rugby game, drinking a pint of Guinness, in Dublin!
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Ranked #51
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Saint Patrick's Day, colloquially St. Paddy's Day or simply Paddy's Day, is an annual feast day which celebrates Saint Patrick (circa AD 385–461), the most commonly recognised of the patron saints of Ireland, and is generally celebrated on 17th of March.

The day is a national holiday of Ireland: it is a bank holiday in Northern Ireland and a public holiday in the Republic of Ireland. It is also a public holiday in Montserrat. In Canada, United Kingdom (excluding Northern Ireland), Australia, the United States, Argentina and New Zealand, it is widely celebrated but is not an official holiday.

St. Patrick's feast day was placed on the universal liturgical calendar in the Catholic Church due to the influence of the Waterford-born Franciscan scholar Luke Wadding in the early part of the 17th century, although the feast day was celebrated in the local Irish church from a much earlier date. St. Patrick's Day is a holy day of obligation for Roman Catholics in Ireland. The feast day usually falls during Lent; if it falls on a Friday of Lent, the obligation to abstain from eating meat does not bind as St.Patrick's day in Ireland is a first class feast, thus removing the obligation to fast or abstain. The church calendar avoids the observance of saints' feasts during certain solemnities, moving the saint's day to a time outside those periods. St. Patricks Day is very occasionally affected by this requirement. Thus when 17th of March falls during Holy Week, as in 1940 when St. ...
view wiki

Tags

Green, Holidays, Ireland, St Patrick, St Patricks Day, Shamrock, Irish Holidays, Saint Patrick

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists