|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

St. Patrick's Day

An annual feast day which celebrates Saint Patrick, one of the patron saints of Ireland.

< read all 5 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Mar 1, 2010
  • by
Saint Patrick was a violent man who persecuted pagans & atheists. Why we celebrate him when he put a stain on our Irish legacy I don't know.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
1
Post a Comment
March 19, 2011
Despite the fact his name is on the day, my opinion is that we're really celebrating Irish culture, a people that the USA has persecuted and treated with prejudice during the railroad years of the 19th century. Irish Need Not Apply. :)
March 19, 2011
You really are a sucker for these greeting card holidays which exploit people, take their money, and perpetuate the legacy of long dead fanatics who were conveniently then renamed saints.
March 20, 2011
Maybe, LOL!
 
1
More Saint Patrick's Day reviews
review by . March 01, 2010
posted in Green Living
St. Patrick's Day is a great day to be green in more ways than one
I am one-fourth Irish so I like to celebrate St. Patrick's Day every March 17th.  I used to celebrate in just the normal way: wear some green and maybe drink a little green beer (when I was at least 21 years old, of course).  Now on St. Patrick's Day I like to be a little greener on the greenest of all days.  Just like you don't have to be any kinda Irish to celebrate St. Patrick's Day you also don't have to be an Eco Expert to be a little more eco-friendly any day …
Quick Tip by . March 16, 2012
A fun day where I can haul out my green garb to wear to work. I do worry about driving because there tends to be people with too much celebration on the roads.
Quick Tip by . March 12, 2010
A great day to celebrate Irish heritage and not just for the Irish- it's for everyone. Top of the morning to y'all!
Quick Tip by . March 02, 2010
My favorite memory of St. Patrick's Day was sitting in a pub, watching a Rugby game, drinking a pint of Guinness, in Dublin!
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Saint Patrick's Day, colloquially St. Paddy's Day or simply Paddy's Day, is an annual feast day which celebrates Saint Patrick (circa AD 385–461), the most commonly recognised of the patron saints of Ireland, and is generally celebrated on 17th of March.

The day is a national holiday of Ireland: it is a bank holiday in Northern Ireland and a public holiday in the Republic of Ireland. It is also a public holiday in Montserrat. In Canada, United Kingdom (excluding Northern Ireland), Australia, the United States, Argentina and New Zealand, it is widely celebrated but is not an official holiday.

St. Patrick's feast day was placed on the universal liturgical calendar in the Catholic Church due to the influence of the Waterford-born Franciscan scholar Luke Wadding in the early part of the 17th century, although the feast day was celebrated in the local Irish church from a much earlier date. St. Patrick's Day is a holy day of obligation for Roman Catholics in Ireland. The feast day usually falls during Lent; if it falls on a Friday of Lent, the obligation to abstain from eating meat does not bind as St.Patrick's day in Ireland is a first class feast, thus removing the obligation to fast or abstain. The church calendar avoids the observance of saints' feasts during certain solemnities, moving the saint's day to a time outside those periods. St. Patricks Day is very occasionally affected by this requirement. Thus when 17th of March falls during Holy Week, as in 1940 when St. ...
view wiki

Tags

Green, Holidays, Ireland, St Patrick, St Patricks Day, Shamrock, Irish Holidays, Saint Patrick

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists