|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Fiction » Reviews » Science Fiction Books » User review

Sci-fi literature

A broad genre of fiction that often involves speculations based on current or future science or technology

< read all 14 reviews

The most fun in SF

  • Apr 15, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Stephenson is one of the 2 best cyberpunk authors, one of the dozen best SF authors, and certainly one of the 100 best authors alive (how's that for random?)

This may not be his best book, but is the most fun, and not to be missed. If you are new to Stephenson, promise yourself to give it 50 pages. If you do, you'll read everything he has written.

I suggest reading his books in this order:

  1. Snow Crash
  2. Diamond Age
  3. Cryptonomicon
  4. Frankly, and sadly, not much else

Okay, I'll take my own random challenge:

The two Best cyberpunk authors are

1. William Gibson
2. Neil Stephenson

For Gibson I'd read 
   

  1. Neuromancer because it changed everything
  2. Pattern Recognition
  3. Spook Country
  4. Everything else

    My top dozen SF authors (in no particular order, and not counting fantasy greats):

    1. Asimov (until you graduate HS)
    2. Clarke
    3. Stephenson
    4. Gibson
    5. Samuel Delaney
    6. Orson Scott Card (the Ender series)
    7. Stephen King (the Dark Tower series)
    8. Larry Niven (with and without Pournelle)
    9. Neil Gaiman
    10. J. K. Rowling
    11. Greg Bear
    12. Robert Heinlein

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
April 27, 2009
Snow Crash was one of the best sci-fi novels of all time. You may want to reserve your "Frankly, and sadly, not much else" comment until you have read Anathem. I am half way through this tome and it is rich!
 
April 24, 2009
Thanks for sharing this! I was assigned to read Gibson's Pattern Recognition in college and was so glad that I read it! I would not have typically picked up that book (or indulged in any cyberpunk works for that matter)-- but I loved it!!
 
April 15, 2009
I was really glad to read this review...I read both Neuromancer and Snow Crash this summer and was blown away by both although I can say that I enjoyed Snow Crash more. What a great Protagonist. I will tackle the next Stephenson book in your recommended order. Regarding your author list vs. my opinion, I would have Heinlein up higher and remove the HS qualifier from Asimov who remains my number 1 even though I am 34. Also, it is hard to separate the SF from the fantasy guys, so I would have to include Philip Jose Farmer, Piers Anthony (although Xanth is terrible) Anna McCaffrey, Le Guin, and Roger Zelazny. Do you have a separate list for these guys?
 
1
More Science Fiction Books reviews
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Sci Fi is one of my favs. I love just reading myself into a new time, new dimension, new planet. I would love to meet some of the great writers of sci fi and shake their hands. I wonder where their minds go to get away from it all.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
Sci-fi is great! I tend to like the dystopian branch of sci-fi best, I think.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
My most favorite genre of books!
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
love this section!
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
I like science fiction. The Kid On The Milk Carton.
About the reviewer
Jesse Liberty ()
Ranked #458
Last 1,000 books I've bought  Recent arbitrary list of favorites    About me, From Wikipeda:   Jesse Liberty (born July 10, 1955 in Brooklyn, New York),now living … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jliberty
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Science fiction differs from fantasy in that, within the context of the story, its imaginary elements are largely possible within scientifically established or scientifically postulated laws of nature (though some elements in a story might still be pure imaginative speculation). Exploring the consequences of such differences is the traditional purpose of science fiction, making it a "literature of ideas". Science fiction is largely based on writing entertainingly and rationally about alternate possibilities in settings that are contrary to known reality.
view wiki

Details

Polls
Masters of Science Fiction: The Complete Series

Miscellaneous Films

by

Age of Wonders: Exploring The World of Science

The Best Science Fiction Books

by

First to Review

"The most fun in SF"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists