|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Horror Movie » Reviews » Seventh Moon » User review

Run Run, Scream Scream

  • Jun 12, 2010
Rating:
+2
 The case for this flix claims that it's "from the makers of the EVIL DEAD trilogy". Yeah, sure. Only in the sense that they picked it up for distribution, and after seeing it I have no idea why anyone would want to distribute this flick. I was looking forward to a film set in China that would deal with gods and demons from that culture, but what I got was a mishmash of half thought out ideas that broke down into  another run and scream fest. With a lot more script work and a better director there could have been something here. I rarely give out only 2 stars, but this only really deserves 'em. Hey Sam, choose your Ghost House films a little more carefully. There are good independent flix out there looking for distributors. Have you ever met Maurice Devereaux?

Plot wise we have a young couple on their honeymoon in mainland China where husband Yul's family still lives, and he thinks it would be a great idea to kill two birds with one metaphorical stone and use this trip to introduce his new kwailo wife to the folks. Their  visit coincides with the Hungry Ghost Festival which occurs in the month of the seventh full moon when, according to legend, all the dead are released from hell and return to earth. After a day spent enjoying the festival in the city their guide loads his drunken charges into a car and they all head out into the country in the general direction of Yul's relatives. They never get there of course.

The acting is adequate for a film of this type. It's always nice to see an Asian male (Tim Chiou as Yul) in a leading role even though you know he'll probably bite the dust since this is the era of the woman-surviving-against-all-odds cliche, and Amy Smart as his young wife Mel runs and screams and cries with the best of them. Eduardo Sanchez's direction is uninspired--but with a script like this who would be? That script, the less said the better. Oy!  All the critical action takes place at night obviously and I advise you to have the aspirin right next to you because you're gonna need it for the eyestrain headache this ill-lit flick is going to leave you with.  Do yourself a big favor and avoid this one like the proverbial plague.
Run Run, Scream Scream Run Run, Scream Scream Run Run, Scream Scream Run Run, Scream Scream Run Run, Scream Scream Run Run, Scream Scream

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
April 09, 2011
I own all of these ghost house pics but have yet to watch them all, I have yet to see this one. Great review.
 
June 13, 2010
I feel the same as Aerin. Does not sound like one I would enjoy, although I do like the title. Great review, Karen. :)
June 14, 2010
The first run run, scream scream movie for me was the original TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE. I liked the movie up until they scene where they toss the hitchhiker out of the van. He was a very creepy character and the fact that the actor said he based his portrayal on his own schizophrenic cousin was sort of unnerving. But it quicly dissolved into the RR,SS formula that's still so poular today.
June 14, 2010
I've never seen that movie... :( I'm really behind when it comes to horror movies, especially the classics. It sucks cause my partner doesn't really enjoy them, and I have to twist his arm to watch them with me, lol. :-P
June 14, 2010
Usually it's the guy who's trying to twist his girlfriend's arm when it comes to horror movies. My mother warped me for life though by taking me to see one when I was 4 1/2. It scared the hell out of me but for some reason I liked it even though I had lots of nightmares.
June 14, 2010
Yeah, wish that was the case with me, lol. Oh well, lol! You're mom sounds pretty cool, btw. I was never taken to see scary movies as a child, and I had lots of nightmares. I actually think that's why I love them so much--because I never got a chance to see them as a child. :)
June 14, 2010
Trashie's mother never let him see horror movies either thinking that she was saving him for corruption or something. But making them the forbidden fruit just made them more attractive.
June 14, 2010
I agree! Parents need to be careful of over protection and "forbidden fruits" ideas with their kids. I was and still am always attracted to this idea of something being forbidden. I miss Nick. I'm sure he would have posted a witty comment to this dialog...sad days...
June 14, 2010
He was one of the first friends I had on amazone and it just doesn't feel right now that he's gone. It almost seems like a death in the family. It'll be better when he's set up somewhere else.
 
June 13, 2010
ugh! I hate it when they go ahead and fool you with this "from the creators of.." or "the best horror movie of the year"...then you get ouch! I will avoid this for sure. Guess what I am going to see next week...THE HUMAN CENTIPEDE :)
June 13, 2010
Another film I haven't heard of until the past couple of days. Sounds like it has possibilities.
 
June 13, 2010
Yeah, somehow I feel that I can safely skip this one and not have any guilt. Wonderful poster though!
June 13, 2010
Unless you feel the need to inflict painful torture on yourself I'd say skip it. The poster is nice looking though and is living proof of the better the poster the worse the film theory. Too bad the ghosts didn't look anything like this. It might have the helped flick a bit.
June 13, 2010
Well, I am a masochist, but my idea of pain as pleasure does not extend to films. That was probably more than anyone needed to know. (must work on inhibiting inner dialogue)
June 13, 2010
Don't worry about letting that slip because it's not really that much of a secret. To be a genre fan requires a bit of masochism otherwise you'd never be able to survive the amount of drek we endure in order to find the good stuff.
June 13, 2010
True.
June 13, 2010
And sadly so.
 
1
More Seventh Moon reviews
Quick Tip by . April 23, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
If you like this one then you're just too easy to please. Misses the opportunity to give us something exotic & is just another trite flick.
About the reviewer
karen ()
Ranked #21
I am the poster child for inertia. Where ever I am is where I plan to stay FOREVER.   So much so in fact that it took me decades to understand the punchline about why   the chicken … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
QUEENBFLIX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by QUEENBFLIX
About this topic
First to Review

"Run Run, Scream Scream"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists