|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Sneakers » Reviews » Skechers Shape-Ups » User review

Skechers Shape-Ups

Shoes that work you out while you walk.

< read all 1 reviews

Work out while you walk?

  • Dec 30, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
In what must be the most important invention since fire, the collective genius at Skechers has produced a shoe that simultaneously...
  • Provides a work-out while you walk
  • Adds 2" of height to short people like me.
I discovered these shoes while contemplating wearing a yellow and black striped T-shirt to impersonate a bumble bee in 2010. I can't tell you how delighted I was to elevate myself to 5'7" while using the excuse that I was partly enslaved by fashion and partly "working out". I had thought about buying stilts in 2007 and eventually settled for a spiky haircut, but those won't be needed anymore and now I can go back to long flat hair.

The whole system works by removing the convenient flat underside of the shoe and replacing it with a big curve. Standing still requires constant balancing, uphill stairs become more work, and downhill stairs can end in tragedy if the person in front stops unexpectedly. This, of course, all happens while enjoying an extra 2 inches of brand new vantage point. I think the average height in LA is around 5'6" because I can now see over *everyone* - all while working out!

I don't know how Skechers explains the improved posture, circulation and the other dozen claims but I believe every single one of them. There's even a DVD in the box, which I'm sure I'll never watch, but it could make an excellent coaster to rest my soda on after a work out. The range of superior designs makes every other shoe I own look like cave slippers, and as soon as I have another $120 to fork out, I'll be back at the Skechers store, salivating about my gym allergies again.

Put simply, scientists have been fiddling around for years getting man to the moon and making small cell phones and completely overlooked man's eternal desire to get fit by not going anywhere near a gym. The people at 24 Hour Fitness will be crying their eyes out when they see effectively Skechers has replaced them. Not only have I become slim and chiseled, but my improved posture positions me somewhere between ballerina and ninja.

Buy some today!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
32
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
35
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
March 09, 2010
I have a pair too, got'em on sale. Thanks or the fun review!
 
March 07, 2010
I am reading your review while wearing Shape-Ups...do I get points for that? :) I am an extreme shortie (4'5") so I love the extra height as well. My problem is that I have short ankles and the high upper on the shoe is painful after any length of time, esp. if I'm not walking on smooth pavement (like if I walk in the grass while I'm walking the dog).
 
January 07, 2010
Well written and fun to read! Congrats on those extra inches.... : )
January 09, 2010
Thanks! Always battling the inches...
 
January 05, 2010
Great Review! I've been seriously looking into these lately. I used to scoff at them when I saw commercials, but happened to try them on last weekend while waiting for my boyfriend to pick out some work shoes. They are SO comfortable! Their claim is that it simulates walking in wet sand, so you have a more pronounced heel-to-toe movement, correcting posture and working certain muscles more. With my limited research on various forums, most people really enjoy them. The only down side is that they can look like "medical" shoes if you look at them too closely. That's why I'm probably going with the "Physical" style (which is a cute leather mary jane!). Anyways, thanks for the persuasive review... I've been on the fence about them, but the more I read, the more I waaaant!
January 09, 2010
Thanks! Seriously, I've barely been out of these things for ages. They are really comfortable!
 
January 04, 2010
Are we sure this isn't a sneaky way to get people to simply walk more, which qualifies, so I hear, as exercise in any shoe? How has it been on your ankles?
January 04, 2010
You might be right, but I think it also teaches you to walk with bigger strides too. I can definitely feel my calves more tested when I walk. Clearly, not of this works if you don't walk :-) These are also the most comfortable shoes I've ever worn, btw!
 
December 31, 2009
Great review! I don't have a $120 partly b/c of my membership to a gym, but these are definitely on my radar. If/when I do get them, I am going to borrow some of your funny lines. OK, I'm not gonna lie, I'm gonna outright STEAL some of your funny lines! :)
December 31, 2009
Thanks! I saw some on Amazon for a little less... I run after people who steal my lines but not in these shoes ;-)
 
December 31, 2009
Whoooa, you had me at "between ballerina and ninja"!  It's coincidental that you reviewed this today, because as I was checking out a Seen On TV store yesterday, I came across FitFlops, which was when I learned that that concept of a gym in a shoe actually existed.  I passed it off as ridiculous, but your review is making me think twice.  Oh, and that DVD/coaster?  It's probably what's in that Youtube video that I just added to the wiki :P  Thanks for sharing, James!
December 31, 2009
Let me just add - my legs and lower back are killing me after a day schlepping around LA in these things. They must work!! I'll have to check out FitFlops.... btw, it's the first time I ever dumped a load of cash on sneakers. :-)
December 31, 2009
I'm with Devora. I'm very cynical about the idea of a gym in a shoe. Just a thought ... you don't suppose that your aching legs and lower back are caused by the shoe putting your body into an unnatural posture?
December 31, 2009
Hopefully not! I don't think the shoes can replace the gym entirely but they seem to have some work-out potential by making walking more difficult. If you're trying to suggest I'm a sucker for advertising, it would be the first time it's happened. :-) Now where's that site that helps me make millions out of Google...
December 31, 2009
I'm not as cynical as the other two. You are essentially walking around on a balancing ball. To keep the balance your muscles are constantly working. Now, I don't think it's a "gym in a shoe", but I do think there is merit to the thought that you are adding benefit to your daily routine of walking.
December 31, 2009
I couldn't have put it better myself - I think that's exactly right. I wouldn't recommend climbing ladders with these on, like I attempted to earlier.
 
1
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Ranked #13
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Skechers Shape-Ups shoes claim to give the wearer a workout while walking.

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists