|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Styrofoam

The recycling of styrofoam.

< read all 2 reviews

A Quick Tip by QualityBilt

  • Apr 20, 2011
  • by
So what is a responsible warehouse manager to do with all their styrofoam? Torn between the cost of disposal and the environmental issues, most choose to just throw it into the trash to be hauled away and thrown into the land fill. But that isn't cheap either. Styrofoam fills roll of containers quickly and is expensive to haul away. Most give up and fatalistically think "it is what it is!"

Well, it isn't what it is! There are Styrofoam recyclers who will buy back the Styrofoam and recycle it into eye glass frames, picture frames, or even bicycle helmets if you can just find a way to ship it inexpensively. Fill a truck with 5,000 lbs of Styrofoam and the cost per pound is prohibitive. But fill a truck with 30,000 or 40,000 lbs of Styrofoam and the cost per pound is well worth the shipping cost. But how to reduce the volume is the trick. Styrofoam densifiers are the solution. New technology allows for the Styrofoam to be melted into "patties" which feel more like porcelain than Styrofoam. Densifiers reduce the volume up to 90 to 1 and make shipping affordable.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
May 17, 2011
Dart Container Corporation collects foam for recycling at its 15 North American plants and, uniquely, includes post-consumer foodservice in that collection. For information on these locations, visit http://www.dart.biz/web/environ.nsf/pages/enrecy.html. Additionally, earth911.com is a great resource for connection to various materials recyclers including foam.
 
April 25, 2011
I own a company called ReFoamIt LLC. We are located in MA and offer opportunities to recycle your Styrofoam. Our company offers a fee based pickup service and though the towns, cities, churchs etc. we offer public recycle days. Unfortunately, we are unable to pay to obtain the Styrofoam because there isn't much money in recycling it. Hopefully, this will change in the near future. I post all of our events (usually held East of Worcester and in RI) on Earth911. The Styrofoam that we get is recycled into new products such as picture frames. For more information, please vist our web site www.refoamit.com.
April 25, 2011
Thank you for your comment. I do hope one day to see some funding in helping with this matter
 
April 20, 2011
Good to know because I've never known what else to do with styrofoam but to throw it in the trash! Do you know how prevalent these styrofoam recyclers are and where can I find them? Thanks for sharing this!
April 20, 2011
Hi Devora. Its easiest to google styrofoam recycling centers to find one the closest to you. I am in the process of making public awareness to this issue and encourage more recycling centers to take this on.
April 20, 2011
Okay, thanks for the tip! And that's awesome what you are doing.
April 20, 2011
Thank you. Its all about educating the world. I see how things are hnow, and worry what will mother earth be like in 20 years if we dont make a change? Keep in mind, the pop corm shaped styrofoam that is found in packages can normally be returned to shipping stores to be reused. Just be sure to call ahead and verify they will accept them. Not every one participates in this service.
 
1
More Styrofoam Recycling reviews
review by . May 16, 2011
posted in ENN Community
Another wonderful design to recycle Styrofoam trays, cups ect
The designed XT70 Multiple Foam Densifier is great for small places, and to process EPS, EPP, EPE, & PSP wastes including food trays, foam cups, and containers. You won't only be saving money on the waste hauling cost, but also will be generating income with the foam densifier.    We can supply the company name that will buy back your densified foam. This compact size can fit in smaller places.    Why the XT70?   * processes mulitple materials-i.e …
About the reviewer
Laina ()
Ranked #495
I work for an Innovative Waste & Recycling Equipment Company. For the past year I have been doing everything I possibly can to educate the world on ways to recycle.   Every one has a vision … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
QualityBilt
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists