|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Video Games » Reviews » Super Mario Galaxy » User review

The Most Entertaining Super Mario Game Yet

  • Feb 17, 2010
Rating:
+5
In the 2nd time since Super Mario 64, Mario is once again placed in a brand new 3D environment. Only this time, it's not on land or in water. This chapter in the Super Mario legacy takes place in space, where Mario flies from planet to planet in a non-stop interactive thriller.

Using the Wiimote and Nunchuck, gamers control Mario throught the game where he runs, jumps, and flies 360 degrees. Personally, the controls of this game are the most intuitive yet in the Super Mario series. I felt instantly comfortable moving Mario around, and found it extremely fun to control him. Almost every aspect of the Wii's state-of-the-art peripherals are utilized in this game, and they all play an important role. From moving the joystick, to shaking the Wiimote, and even pointing the Wiimote at the screen all come into play, and this is just a small part of what makes this chapter so much fun. The gameplay as a whole is something that makes this game so spectacular, and will make it hard to put the controllers down.

Mario starts the story off in the well-known Mushroom Kingdom while everyone is celebrating a fesitval of the stars. In the begining, you have free-reign to learn a bit about the game, it's controls, and some of its features such as star-bits. Star bits add another dimension to the game, similar to what coins have given in past episodes. Soon after the game starts, your greatest enemy, Bowser, comes into action and predictibally kidnaps Pricess Toadstool. During this movie sequence, you eventually end up being wisked away to a far away land, which ends up being a giant space-shit that acts as "home" for most of the game. From here you are able to access all "worlds" and other parts of the game.

While it has a similar feel to Super Mario 64, Super Mario Galaxy take gameplay into a whole-new dimension where Mario visits different planets instead of worlds, which is what you are used to in previous versions of this series. On these planets, gravity, or lack thereof, plays a larger role while you run around, upside down, and even floating to other planets fight enemies and bosses in each level. While the gameplay itself is amazing and can get you sucked-in quickly, the visuals are on another level. This is definetely the most visually stunning Super Mario game ever. The combinations of colors, graphics, and scenery create a very surreal experience that is definetely addicting to look at.

Overall, If you are a fan of adventure games, especially the Super Mario series, you are going to love Super Mario Galaxy. I guarantee once you start this game you will want to play it until the end. It also has great replay value as I find myself going back into the game often and playing levels. It's that much fun!
The Most Entertaining Super Mario Game Yet The Most Entertaining Super Mario Game Yet The Most Entertaining Super Mario Game Yet The Most Entertaining Super Mario Game Yet

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
20
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
February 17, 2010
I love this game so much.  It's not only aesthetically wonderous to look at, but it's also super fun to play, and your review is right on point!  This game also has the approval of Lunch's resident video game nerd @Sean_Rhodes.  You should check out his review, I think you'd like it!  Thanks for sharing, Paul :)
 
1
More Super Mario Galaxy reviews
review by . August 03, 2010
posted in Nintendo Wii Games
When I first played this game, I frankly wasn't crazy about it. It got tired of jumping around all the time. However, the more you get into it, and the more you get used the play controls, the more addictive it becomes.      This is Mario platforming in a way that makes the original NES, SNES, and Mario 64 games look like child's play. There are dozens of galaxies and mini-galaxies to play, each one with a unique theme. With over 120 stars, there enough for even the most …
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
Honestly a bit overrated. It's like they took Super Mario Sunshine, applied a "sphere" motif to it, and sent it out to production. I know innovation is not always bad, but when I feel like I'm playing the same game over and over - even if it's an amazing game - I get a bit bored.
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in Nintendo Wii Games
Aesthetically wonderous to behold & super fun to play. A nice new twist on an old classic! :)
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
Aesthetically wonderous to behold & super fun to play. A nice new twist on an old classic! :)
Quick Tip by . February 17, 2010
Aesthetically wonderous to behold & super fun to play. A nice new twist on an old classic! :)
review by . November 24, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
In terms of gameplay, graphics, originality, etc, this beats out any of the past Mario games. The graphics blew me away. It really looks like a high-quality cartoon rather than a game. The movement with the Wii remote and nunchuk feels oddly natural even after decades of playing Mario games with the classic video game controller. I also think it's pretty cool how Mario can literally run around small planets in true 3-D mode. I haven't seen another game quite like it.    Unfortunately, …
review by . March 06, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
Mario is a huge staple in gaming. When a Mario game comes out it can't just be "good" it has to be "great." In the past, Mario games have defined the platformers of their generation. From Super Mario Bros. over 20 years ago, to Super Mario 64 bringing platforming into 3D in a whole new light. Super Mario Sunshine, however, did not turn nearly as many heads as Super Mario 64. Understandable, seeing as how Super Mario 64 is a tough game to compare to. Super Mario Galaxy does compare, though. While …
About the reviewer
Paul Giordano ()
Ranked #417
I'm a web and graphic designer living in Long Island, NY. I'm a big car fan, and love football and hockey. I'm also the founder of Wii Fitness community, http://www.WiiFitRoutine.com  
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Squintz
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Super Mario Galaxy is a 3D platform game developed by Nintendo EAD Tokyo and published by Nintendo  for the Wii. It was released in Japan on November 1, 2007, the United States on November 12, 2007, Canada on November 14, 2007, Europe on November 16, 2007, Australia on November 27, 2007 and South Korea on September 4, 2008. It is the third 3D platformer in the Mario series, after Super Mario 64 and Super Mario Sunshine.

The game follows the protagonist, Mario, on a quest to rescue Princess Peach from the game's primary antagonist, Bowser. Levels are galaxies filled with minor planets and worlds, while gameplay is updated with gravity effects and new power-ups.

Super Mario Galaxy was first shown at E3 2006 and enjoyed a high level of pre-release awareness. The game has been hailed by several gaming websites as one of the best video games of all time and has won a BAFTA.

A sequel is currently under production; the first trailer for Super Mario Galaxy 2 was shown at E3 2009.
view wiki

Details

ESRB: Everyone
Number of Players: 1-2
Publisher: Nintendo
Developer: Nintendo
Console: Wii
Genre: 3D Platformer
Release Date: November 12, 2007
Polls
Battle of the Bands

Wii

by

mario kart 64 box cover

The best of the Mario Bros

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists