|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Video Games » Reviews » Super Mario Galaxy » User review

Platforming on steroids

  • Aug 3, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+4
When I first played this game, I frankly wasn't crazy about it. It got tired of jumping around all the time. However, the more you get into it, and the more you get used the play controls, the more addictive it becomes.

This is Mario platforming in a way that makes the original NES, SNES, and Mario 64 games look like child's play. There are dozens of galaxies and mini-galaxies to play, each one with a unique theme. With over 120 stars, there enough for even the most hardcore gamer, but even novices can probably beat it with 60 stars. Obviously, if you didn't like those games, don't play this. But if you liked those, you'll LOVE Mario Galaxy.

My one criticism is that you don't get much in terms of rewards for getting more stars. If you get all 120, you can play as Luigi, but he's basically the same as Mario. It would have been nice to unlock bonus features (new characters, photo albums, etc) every 10-15 stars or so.

Playing this again has made me excited for Super Mario Galaxy 2. I'm looking forward to getting it over Christmas.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
13
Well-Organized
16
Post a Comment
August 04, 2010
I love love love this game! Definitely my fave on the Wii. Interesting what you said about the stars. I'm so use to almost pointlessly collecting coins and stuff in other Mario games that I didn't even think about it, but it would be cool if the stars meant more. Maybe it is in 2? Which I haven't played yet. Great review, Dom!
 
August 04, 2010
i LOVE galaxy! the idea of walking all around little planets is really cool and got me thinking about games in a way i havent since i was a kid! unfortunately my roommate's wii got stolen before i had a chance to beat it but its great fun!
August 04, 2010
That's too bad... If you get one again, definitely check it out. I just ordered Mario Galaxy 2 (I found it cheap for $32, including shipping!), so I'll write a review of that one soon.
 
August 03, 2010
Well, I always loved the original Mario games, so it sounds like this one would be even more fun! Thanks for sharing! :)
 
1
More Super Mario Galaxy reviews
review by . February 17, 2010
The Most Entertaining Super Mario Game Yet
In the 2nd time since Super Mario 64, Mario is once again placed in a brand new 3D environment. Only this time, it's not on land or in water. This chapter in the Super Mario legacy takes place in space, where Mario flies from planet to planet in a non-stop interactive thriller.       Using the Wiimote and Nunchuck, gamers control Mario throught the game where he runs, jumps, and flies 360 degrees. Personally, the controls of this game are the most intuitive yet in the Super Mario …
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
Honestly a bit overrated. It's like they took Super Mario Sunshine, applied a "sphere" motif to it, and sent it out to production. I know innovation is not always bad, but when I feel like I'm playing the same game over and over - even if it's an amazing game - I get a bit bored.
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
Aesthetically wonderous to behold & super fun to play. A nice new twist on an old classic! :)
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
Aesthetically wonderous to behold & super fun to play. A nice new twist on an old classic! :)
Quick Tip by . February 17, 2010
Aesthetically wonderous to behold & super fun to play. A nice new twist on an old classic! :)
review by . November 24, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
In terms of gameplay, graphics, originality, etc, this beats out any of the past Mario games. The graphics blew me away. It really looks like a high-quality cartoon rather than a game. The movement with the Wii remote and nunchuk feels oddly natural even after decades of playing Mario games with the classic video game controller. I also think it's pretty cool how Mario can literally run around small planets in true 3-D mode. I haven't seen another game quite like it.    Unfortunately, …
review by . March 06, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
Mario is a huge staple in gaming. When a Mario game comes out it can't just be "good" it has to be "great." In the past, Mario games have defined the platformers of their generation. From Super Mario Bros. over 20 years ago, to Super Mario 64 bringing platforming into 3D in a whole new light. Super Mario Sunshine, however, did not turn nearly as many heads as Super Mario 64. Understandable, seeing as how Super Mario 64 is a tough game to compare to. Super Mario Galaxy does compare, though. While …
About the reviewer
Dominic J Nardi ()
Ranked #79
I am a recent law school grad with an interest in Southeast Asia legal issues. Unfortunately for my checkbook, ever since high school I have been addicted to good books. I have eclectic tastes, although … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
FreeDom4
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Super Mario Galaxy is a 3D platform game developed by Nintendo EAD Tokyo and published by Nintendo  for the Wii. It was released in Japan on November 1, 2007, the United States on November 12, 2007, Canada on November 14, 2007, Europe on November 16, 2007, Australia on November 27, 2007 and South Korea on September 4, 2008. It is the third 3D platformer in the Mario series, after Super Mario 64 and Super Mario Sunshine.

The game follows the protagonist, Mario, on a quest to rescue Princess Peach from the game's primary antagonist, Bowser. Levels are galaxies filled with minor planets and worlds, while gameplay is updated with gravity effects and new power-ups.

Super Mario Galaxy was first shown at E3 2006 and enjoyed a high level of pre-release awareness. The game has been hailed by several gaming websites as one of the best video games of all time and has won a BAFTA.

A sequel is currently under production; the first trailer for Super Mario Galaxy 2 was shown at E3 2009.
view wiki

Details

ESRB: Everyone
Number of Players: 1-2
Publisher: Nintendo
Developer: Nintendo
Console: Wii
Genre: 3D Platformer
Release Date: November 12, 2007
Polls
Battle of the Bands

Wii

by

mario kart 64 box cover

The best of the Mario Bros

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists