Vegan Marshmallows... the Holy Grail of Vegan snacks! ...Now available at "Sweet and Sara"
Apr 2, 2009
I've been a vegetarian for over 16 years now. In that amount of time, there's no doubt that there are a few foods that I miss (Jello, chicken nuggets, Marshmallows, and Cow Brain... just making sure you're paying attention ;) Near the top of the list is Marshmallows. Marshmallows are made of Gelatin, which makes them unsuitable for Vegetarian and Vegans everywhere (because Gelatin is made of bone protein... which makes Veggies burst into flames if we eat it). What's even more frustrating is that it is damn near impossible to find Veggie Marshmallows that can replicate the taste and texture of the marshmallow without the use of Gelatin... until now :)
To my knowledge, there is only one person that has been able to accomplish that task. And that person is the owner of the company called "Sweet and Sara". In this review, I'm rating these Marshmallows... which I've eaten up like a little piggy.
Pros: -These Marshmallows taste amazing... even better than regular Marshmallows
-Texture and firmness are great (these are a little bit firmer than regular Marshmallows... which I love)
-Comes in different assortment of choices (vanilla, coconut, chocolate covered... oh God, I want one right now)
-You can buy it online using Google checkout.
Cons: -These Marshmallows are a bit pricey... especially when you figure in the shipping costs.
-These also need to be refrigerated to maintain freshness. This isn't a big deal, but just in case you don't have a fridge ...you should know.
-Waiting for the them to arrive in the mail is torturous! LOL.
Conclusion: If you're a veggie that's been craving marshmallows... don't delay! Get them now! You won't be disappointed! Now that you know the scoop, here's where you get these sacred gems... the 'Holy Grail' of snackage for Veggies everywhere:
October-2009 Update: These Vegan Marshmallows are now available in certain "Whole Foods" grocery stores! My local "Whole Foods" only had the original "Vanilla" variety. Check this list for locations near you:
While these marshmallows are groundbreaking in that they were the first vegan-friendly marshmallow on the market, I'm not going to praise and celebrate them based on that alone. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I was never a huge marshmallow fan before becoming a vegan, but I wasn't terribly impressed with these marshmallows. They are available in four flavors: Vanilla, toasted coconut, strawberry, and cinnamon pecan. I ordered the Vanilla and the Coconut from Cosmo's … more