|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Billie Myers » Reviews » Tea & Sympathy » User review

Billie Myers - Tea & Sympathy

The third album from singer-songwriter Billie Myers.

< read all 3 reviews

Billie Myers -the Diva is BACK and better than ever... Tea & Sympathy - a MUST listen

  • Oct 18, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

I have waited many, many years for the follow up to her first two albums, Growing Pains and Vertigo and once again, Billie Myers does not disappoint.  What she DOES do is grab your hand through your heart strings and take you on an incredible ride while you are trying to hold on so you can peel back the layers of depth in her lyrics every single time you listen to it.  I look forward to her trying to beat this one.  Not a chance!  Or is there?  

Here's a quick pick of song lyrics from  Tea & Sympathy thanks to EcoMama's loaded quesh...

To answer your question pointedly would be saying to me - can I fly in a cage? Sure, but with limited room! If you don't mind, you asked an excellent question, so let me give you my idea of what I think is the one line "best line" of lyrics from all songs on Tea & Sympathy (strictly from my twisted perspective). I am specifically leaving out the chorus, because anyone can hear that. :) 1) Lady Jane: "Nine lives in a suitcase, she grew old before she was young." 2) Wonderful: "Two sides, one heart, love bites, modern art... your hands on my face the perfect hiding place." 3) Send Me an Angel: "Save me, help me, leave your mark, put the life back in my heart." 4) I Hope You're Happy Now: The lead in is chilling but grabs you from the get go... "Shallow waters, age old ghosts, footprints on thin ice..." \5) You Wear Heaven: (woah this one is HARD to pick) "You're nothing short of a miracle, you're the air I'd die to breathe, You're the reason that I'm lonely, you're the better half of me." 6) Anonymous: This song is like an eternal chorus that is brilliant, so picking out one line is hard, (and not in the chorus)... "LIfe's indifference is far too violent, jaded green by jealousy". 7) Not Another Love Song: (one of my favs) - note the heartbeat as the rhythm backdrop here. perfect: "Eat your words 'cause mine are tasteless". 8) No Regrets Allowed: Ok, I'm going to break my own rule here and say this song is ABOUT the chorus. "Take off the halo you're wearing". I LOVE that line. Who hasn't been judged in life? Who HASN'T played God to someone else one way or the other? Anastasia, I know you believe in God, so do I and I think this nails a lot in that area in between... 9) Flying - Oh don't get me started. My all time Billie fav (originally on her first album, Growing, Pains)- this is a TRUE challenge to pick the one line: "I don't want to make a habit of this, but seeing you is like getting a fix". 10) Painfully Happy: "With no regard for safety, we didn't think to care. Because nothing else seemed to matter as we fell flying through erotic air." Hope this helps - and GET the cd, you won't be disappointed. Best, Meli

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
October 19, 2009
I have never actually heard of Billie Myers, what genre of music would you call it? I'm just asking because I am not familiar with her work. Do you have a favorite line of lyrics from this album? Thanks for pointing out this artist!
October 19, 2009
Hi Anastasia, thanks for the reply, I moved to SC from Boston and I KNOW that you are cold! :) To answer your question pointedly would be saying to me - can I fly in a cage? Sure, but with limited room! If you don't mind, you asked an excellent question, so let me give you my idea of what I think is the one line "best line" of lyrics from all songs on Tea & Sympathy (strictly from my twisted perspective). I am specifically leaving out the chorus, because anyone can hear that. :) 1) Lady Jane: "Nine lives in a suitcase, she grew old before she was young." 2) Wonderful: "Two sides, one heart, love bites, modern art... your hands on my face the perfect hiding place." 3) Send Me an Angel: "Save me, help me, leave your mark, put the life back in my heart." 4) I Hope You're Happy Now: The lead in is chilling but grabs you from the get go... "Shallow waters, age old ghosts, footprints on thin ice..." \5) You Wear Heaven: (woah this one is HARD to pick) "You're nothing short of a miracle, you're the air I'd die to breathe, You're the reason that I'm lonely, you're the better half of me." 6) Anonymous: This song is like an eternal chorus that is brilliant, so picking out one line is hard, (and not in the chorus)... "LIfe's indifference is far too violent, jaded green by jealousy". 7) Not Another Love Song: (one of my favs) - note the heartbeat as the rhythm backdrop here. perfect: "Eat your words 'cause mine are tasteless". 8) No Regrets Allowed: Ok, I'm going to break my own rule here and say this song is ABOUT the chorus. "Take off the halo you're wearing". I LOVE that line. Who hasn't been judged in life? Who HASN'T played God to someone else one way or the other? Anastasia, I know you believe in God, so do I and I think this nails a lot in that area in between... 9) Flying - Oh don't get me started. My all time Billie fav (originally on her first album, Growing, Pains)- this is a TRUE challenge to pick the one line: "I don't want to make a habit of this, but seeing you is like getting a fix". 10) Painfully Happy: "With no regard for safety, we didn't think to care. Because nothing else seemed to matter as we fell flying through erotic air." Hope this helps - and GET the cd, you won't be disappointed. Best, Meli
October 19, 2009
Wow Meli, quite a reply there! You should paste those favorite lines you picked out into your review - I think it definitely helps to give a sense of the 'off the beaten path' lyrics. Thank you so much, I'll have to give it a listen!
 
1
More Tea & Sympathy reviews
review by . October 16, 2009
Billie Myers - Tea & Sympathy
You may remember Billie Myer's breakthrough hit, "Kiss the Rain", but there is so much more to love about the energetic singer-songwriter. Her initial album, "Growing Pains" spawned the sultry and alluring, "Tell Me", in addition to more standout tracks such as "You Send Me Flying", "A Few Words Too Many", and "Having Trouble with the Language." It was her follow up release, "Vertigo", that cemented her status as one of the most …
Quick Tip by . October 18, 2009
Since 9.1.09, these lyrics have been blaring daily... she understates her own talent. I don't! It is a MUST listen... again & again.
About the reviewer
Meli Coulson Lussier ()
Ranked #1449
Member Since: Oct 18, 2009
Last Login: Oct 20, 2009 01:56 AM UTC
About this topic

Wiki

Tags

Billie Myers, Tea And Sympathy

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists