|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Cooking » Reviews » The Bluapple » User review

Perfect for extending produce shelf life!

  • May 16, 2011
Rating:
+5

 

I don't know about you, but I throw out a substantial amount of spoiled produce. We are very careful about how much we buy and try to have minimal waste, but sometimes it just happens and I forget about that onion or the head of salad. Finally there is something to minimize that waste naturally! I had the opportunity to review BluApple, which keeps fruits and veggies fresh longer by absorbing the ethylene gas they produce in the zeolite packet within the apple.
 
I have been testing it out for two weeks in the produce drawers in my fridge and I'm happy to report that it works! To illustrate - we go food shopping every three weeks, on that trip I buy a head of cauliflower. Since it keeps from spoiling for a pretty long time, I usually prepare it during the second week after food shopping. I know that when I keep it till the third week it doesn't look as fresh and appetizing. So I put in the BluApple on the second week - when I normally would prepare it. I waited until the middle of the third week, took it out of the fridge, and it looked exactly as it did when I put the BluApple in! Normally I cannot keep it that long, it starts to rot. Of course it is best to eat things fresh, but we have to stretch out our produce supply for three weeks and this is doing the trick of keeping things fresh.
 
Some BluApple fast facts:
  • Each BluApple lasts three months in the refrigerator
  • BluApple is infinitely refillable
  • Active ingredient is registered with Organic Materials Review Institute
  • BluApple has the highest percentage of available reactant and the longest life per gram of any other ethylene absorption product
  • The spent zeolite can be placed in your houseplants or garden and will provide plants with trace minerals
  • A full years supply will cost you only $23.90 with shipping and may save about $600 a year in spoiled produce.
"The Bluapple is based on technology that has been used in ships, warehouses and trucks for many years to absorb and neutralize the ethylene gas buildup. The Bluapple does not release any gas or chemical at all, but only acts as an ethylene gas super-flypaper, constantly removing this harmful gas from your produce storage area. The Bluapple is not a "magic" pill, but a scientific, essential part of keeping produce fresh."

 

Win a BluApple 2 pack at Eco-Babyz! 3 winners, ends 5.20.2011
 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
August 21, 2011
This sounds like a great idea.
 
May 26, 2011
This.Is.AWESOME! Thanks so much for sharing, what a useful product. I'm right there with you when I buy produce, forget about it and then, get a little bummed when I've found out that I've waited too long. So, this is healthy and you can eat veggies longer than you would've been able to without this? It sounds too good to be true :P
May 26, 2011
It does sound too good to be true! That's what I thought :) It is completely non-toxic, works much in the same way baking soda does for odors, only this absorbs the ethylene gas. Good stuff, I'm loving mine so far!
 
May 25, 2011
I haven't been as active on Lunch lately and then I come in and find this most useful gem! What an excellent food/money saving suggestion. Thanks!
May 25, 2011
You're welcome! I am not around much lately either. I don't post all the reviews from my Eco-Babyz blog anymore since it is time consuming!
 
May 16, 2011
wwoooow...nice one. I hope to get some use of this too. I like to cook...and often I have leftovers. Thanks for this and nice profile pic!!
May 16, 2011
You're welcome! Just keep in mind this is not for cooked leftovers, it is only for fresh uncooked produce that emits ethylene gas.
May 16, 2011
I am pretty sure it'll work both ways, we'll see...but hey, you would not believe how much fresh veggies I throw out because I couldn't use them anymore...
 
May 16, 2011
Since I grocery shop and cook just for myself, food often goes bad even though I try my best to finish it all. I've never heard of anything like this before, but it sounds fantastic. Thanks for sharing!
May 16, 2011
You're welcome! :)
 
May 16, 2011
Sounds like a great product! Thanks for the tip!
May 16, 2011
Welcome!
 
1
More The Bluapple reviews
review by . September 30, 2011
   How many of you have gone to the fridge to make dinner or prepare a healthy snack only to find that your Produce has gone bad?  This happens to us Frequently! I don't know if it's because we have an old fridge or if we are just horrible at eating produce fast enough, but EVERY week, we have to throw out produce that has gone bad within 3 days of purchasing it. We were TIRED of throwing our money out with the food.   Did you know--American households throw out  …
About the reviewer
Anastasia B ()
Ranked #26
I am a woman, a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a Christ follower, an Interior Designer, a blog author, a cook, an artist, an eco-conscious consumer, a nature lover, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EcoMama
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Tags

Grocery, Cooking, Kitchen, Retail Brand

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists