|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Novel » Reviews » The Curious Incident of the Dog in Nighttime » User review

Some books are simply magic- Don't miss this one

  • Jun 3, 2010
Rating:
+5
The Panama Airport does not have a book store. It also doesn't have a newspaper stand, a magazine rack, or any safety brochures. I know, because I spent my two hour layover desperately looking for anything in print to tide me over the next 6 hour plane trip home. So when in the line onto the plane a cute Australian boy pulled a battered paperback out of his backpack and handed it to me, I knew there was going to be something special about that book.

I started the book on the runway and never put it down. The simple style, the intriguing narration, the addition of drawings and diagrams to help illustrate and get inside an autistic mind come together with 3-dimensional characters and an interesting plot line. I loved the somewhat distanced point of view that allows the reader to see commonplace events and situations as strange or difficult. Fifteen year old Christopher lives with his father. He likes math, science movies, and requires that his food be placed separately, not touching, on his plate. A series of events beginning with the murder of his neighbor's dog leads to Christopher discovering a family secret and venturing outside of the safety of his ordered life and into the unsheltered world. A brilliant and fascinating read, no matter if you are trapped on an airplane or merely wishing to escape for awhile into someone else's life.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
June 08, 2010
Your welcome. This book will always be special to me thanks to that cute Aussie boy! I send my thanks his way wherever he currently is. :)
 
June 07, 2010
Aw, the way that you acquired this book is so sweet! What a cool way to come across a book and I'm glad to hear that it's good. I'll have to check it out. Thanks for sharing!
 
1
More The Curious Incident of the Do... reviews
review by . July 16, 2010
   Emotionally, this book wrapped a tether around my heart and didn't let loose, not even after the story ended. I relate with the main character on a deep level that I often don't with most living, breathing people. It is written simply, almost overly simply, but each well-chosen word brings life to the story.         I would recommend this book to anyone who feels like an outsider or a loner. If you have Asperger's Syndrome, or OCD, I especially …
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
This book draws you firsthand into the struggles of autism with a funny and soft sort of charm.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
I think this book got talked up so much before I read it that it didn't live up to expectations. But it is a pretty good read.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
A fabulous book, with a really interesting narrator.
review by . May 24, 2010
When Christopher, the autistic 15-year old narrator of The Curious Incident of the Dog in Nighttime, discovers that the dog across the street has been stabbed and killed, he sets out to solve the mystery of who did it.  He ends up learning difficult secrets about his own family that turn his world upside-down and send him off on a new journey. The book is unique in that it's written in the viewpoint of a narrator who sees the world very differently from the average reader. Christopher's autism …
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
I was recommended this book by a friend and I am so glad to have read it! Very unique!
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Refreshingly different.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
What a fun read!
Quick Tip by . June 12, 2010
Interesting and fairly accurate glance through the eyes of an autistic child. Humorous but fair.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
An interesting look at life as viewed by someone with autism.
About the reviewer

Ranked #1536
Iam currently traveling the United States in my Toyota Corolla, exploring this huge diverse continent and looking for my next home.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Lindsaylou
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists