|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

The Demise of Borders

The liquidation of the remaining 399 stores in the Borders bookstore chain.

< read all 2 reviews

A Quick Tip by Sheri_in_Reho

  • Jul 22, 2011
Even though I no longer have a Borders close-by since my move to a small beach town in Delaware in 2008, I still am very saddened by the news of Borders' demise.  When I lived in Alexandria, VA (DC area), I had a huge Borders near my work and a smaller Waldenbooks (which was owned by Borders) near my home, and the same card could be used for both, which was very convenient.

Since I moved to a smaller town with very few of the major box stores, I buy my books (and much of everything else) from online as it is just too time-consuming and expensive with gas the way it is to drive 2 hours round trip to get to the nearest box store.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
3
Post a Comment
July 25, 2011
My girlfriend cried when her nearest outlet was shuttered. Fortunately, Barnes & Noble purchased it, and it's scheduled to open after rebranding, renovation and restocking has concluded. Our first visit there is sure to be a surreal instance of transposed retail marketing.
July 25, 2011
Yes! Muu! I Love Borders! :D I love that particular locationsie *especiallysie* ^-^ I hope that Barnes & Noblesie will have the same yummy, cosy essence, heehee! ^-^

^-^

♥ Annusya ♥
July 25, 2011
Well, our last visit to the outlet in Onalaska certainly didn't leave us languishing in listless boredom. *smooches to both chubby cheeks*
July 25, 2011
Oh, yes, heehee! :D It was so much funsies! :D Heehee! :D Muu! ^-^

*wet kissies to both of YOUR sweet cheekies* ^-^

♥ Annusya ♥
 
July 25, 2011
I used to love shopping at Walden Books! I forgot that they were also owned by Borders. They were always fun and smaller places to shop at when a larger Borders wasn't near by.
 
1
More The Demise of Borders reviews
review by . July 19, 2011
What goes around comes around I guess.
When the big-box book retailers Barnes & Nobles and Borders first appeared on the scene 25 or 30 years ago hundreds of beloved local booksellers around the country were forced out of business. It was painful for many of us to watch as one by one well-established, locally owned family businesses succumbed to the onslaught of the big guys.....just like in "You've Got Mail". Here in Rhode Island "College Hill Bookstore" near Brown University had been around forever …
About the reviewer
Sheri ()
Ranked #69
I have been a customer reviewer on Amazon.com for well over a decade and an Amazon Vine reviewer since the program began. I enjoy writing product reviews that will help customers make a buying decision. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sheri_in_Reho
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

By The Associated Press — After 40 years of selling books, it looks like Borders is preparing for its final chapter. The chain on Thursday is expected to seek court approval to be sold to liquidators. If the judge approves the move, liquidation sales and store closings could start as soon as Friday.

THE DETAILS

Borders filed for bankruptcy protection in February after being hurt by competition from online booksellers and discounters. The chain had hoped to successfully emerge from bankruptcy protection by the fall as a smaller company. But pressure from creditors and lenders eventually led the company to put itself up for sale.

Borders' attempt to stay alive unraveled last week after a $215 million bid by a private-equity firm dissolved under objections from creditors and lenders. They argued the chain would be worth more if it liquidated immediately.

Now the chain's remaining 399 stores could be shuttered by September. Borders currently has 10,700 employees.

Those who have Borders' e-reader, the Kobo, will still be able use Kobo software to buy and read books. Kobo officials say users of Borders e-book accounts, which began transitioning to Kobo in June, will be able to access their e-books uninterrupted.

BACKGROUND

Tom and Louis Borders opened their first Borders store in 1971, selling used books in Ann Arbor. In 1973, the store moved to a larger location and shifted its focus to selling new books and expanding, helping pioneer the big-box ...

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists