|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Photography » Reviews » The Fisheye Camera » User review

What the camera looks like

One of Lomography's 35mm cameras.

< read all 1 reviews

Fun Camera to Use for Summer Adventures

  • Jun 12, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I first discovered this camera back in 2006 while I was looking at Urban Outfitter's electronic section on their website.  I thought it looked pretty cool and since photography is one of my favorite past times, I decided to look into some more.

I went to the Lomography site and found that they were a "global community whose strong passion is creative and experimental analogue film photography."  I went on to look up information about the Fisheye Camera and what I found was quite interesting.  The Lomo site allows users to upload their own pictures to show to others and the examples I found for the Fisheye Camera were so cool!  The camera uses any type of 35mm film and can be developed in any 35mm lab, supermarket, drug store, and etc.  It's actually made of plastic, making it very easy to mistake it as a child's toy.  What makes it unique is that it features a wideangle lens that gives the photographer a 170 degree field of vision, making the images circular (which was why I thought the pictures I saw on the site were so cool!).   It also has a flash that you can use so you can take pictures at night too.

My friends were the ones who actually bought me the camera as part of my 18th birthday gift.  I hadn't used a film camera since I was a kid though, so it took me a while to figure out how to put the film in.  Typically, you can only take about 26-27 pictures on a single roll of film, so that's one of the downsides.  However, when I got my developed film back, I was quite happy with what I got.  The first time I used it was on my trip to Rosarito, Mexico, during spring break.  It was sort of a test run I guess.  The pictures turned out pretty decent.  After a while, I found out that the pictures turn out better if you take them upclose.  I also found out that by experimenting with different kinds of film (like black and white or negative film) will make the pictures even cooler.

The camera isn't that expensive (about $40-$60 depending on where you get it) and you can buy it at Urban Outfitters or directly from the Lomography store.  It's a fun camera to use, perfect for capturing moments this summer (or any other time you want) and the results will give you an awesome and cool reminder of how much fun you had when you took the picture.
One of the first pictures I took using this camera My best friend, Katie, and I back in 2007 My 19th birthday cake that my mom made for me Shotgunning a beer at an after Christmas party

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
June 15, 2009
Hi Elise! I've noticed that you're now in my Similarity Network here on Lunch. I came to check out what you've reviewed, and I'm so glad I came across this one on your fisheye camera! I've been wanting to get one especially now that it's summer!
June 16, 2009
You definitely should get one! It's really fun to use. Oh! I'm pretty sure I've met you before! You're Mooshu's line bro from LMU right? I'm his cousin. I'm pretty sure I went to a couple parties at your place like two years ago.
June 16, 2009
Oh my goodness....we DO know each other? Wow! What an incredibly small world! How did you make it to Lunch?! I do remember you now...yes, I'm Moosh's line bro - and yes, I remember you at I think 2 of the Birdhouse parties when we used to live at the old house. WELCOME! Hahaha, glad you're here. =)
 
June 12, 2009
Great review, Elise!  I'm always tempted to pick up one of these when I'm at Urban Outfitter, but I'm very devoted to my old school, gothic Minolta, so I've been shopping around for a fisheye lens that would fit it.  The lomography website sounds very cool.  Seeing your pictures makes me want a fisheye lens NOW!

Do you have a flickr by any chance?  I'd love to see more of your fisheye pics! :)
June 12, 2009
Haha, definitely get one! There are actually a couple of versions of the Fisheye camera too, but I figured I'd stick with the original. I might create different reviews for the others because I do have a couple other versions of it. I just started using flickr! I usually use photobucket, but my friend told me to use flickr to add my DSLR pictures. Haha, I created a new folder on it just so you can see the fisheye pics though. http://www.flickr.com/photos/eliiseeee/sets/72157619536889949/ Enjoy! :)
June 12, 2009
Awesome, thanks! :)
 
1
About the reviewer
Elise ()
Ranked #653
Member Since: May 26, 2009
Last Login: Jul 20, 2013 03:24 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
eliiseeee
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

This is information I got from the Lomo Shop.

OVERVIEW * Size: 4.25" (10.5cm) x 2.5" (6cm) x 2.5" (6cm) * Weight: 0.5lb (0.23kg) * Format: all 35mm (color negative, slide, b&w) * Field of Vision: 170 degrees * Approximate focal length: 10mm * Fixed Aperture: f/8 * Fixed Speed: 1/100 * Electronic Flash powered by one "AA" battery * Film can be processed at any 35mm lab, supermarket, drug store, swapmeet, etc.

FEATURES

170-degree field of view
The heart, soul, and blood of the Fisheye's brilliance: an enormous field of view that takes in literally half of the world around you and compacts it into a nice and tight circular image. Barrel distortions twist and bend your subjects around the edges, stretch them towards and away from your lens, and converge their lines towards the center. See for yourself - the effect is simply stunning.

Extreme close-up potential
Not an exercise for the timid - the Fisheye lavishly rewards those who bravely advance within a whisper of their subject. Get right up to their face, and watch their nose get sucked into your lens while their ears and forehead s-l-i-d-e-s backwards. Sharp, beautiful pictures are possible from even the closest quarters. Party on.

Huge depth of field
Super-wide-angle images like the ones spat out by the Fisheye come with a wonderful bonus: focused sharpness from the front to the rear of your image. Each fisheye image shows massive depth of field, so your subject and background will be nice and crispy clear.

Premium ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists