|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Video Games » Reviews » The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker [GameCube] » User review

A473900A81DE29377C753CDBB608931

The 2003 GameCube Fantasy Action Adventure video game

< read all 4 reviews

This is why I love Nintendo..

  • Apr 6, 2003
  • by
Rating:
+5
.. they make blockbuster games that stick with you long after you have finished playing them.

Despite what detractors have said regarding the change in animation styles, the game looks and plays unbelievably well. I've been a huge Zelda fan for years, and bought my GC in anticipation of this game being released. It doesn't disappoint.

The storyline has been recapped a million times, so I won't go into that. What I *will* say is that the developers of this game clearly understood what fans loved and hated about previous incarnations of the Zelda franchise and took those things to heart. Targeting is way better (you use the weapon to target most of the time, not a Z-button + weapon). Load times are SIGNIFICANTLY lower than previous versions. The animation seriously looks like you're controlling your own cartoon. Amazing stuff.

You will spend HOURS playing this game, not to mention all of the extra "side games" that Zelda is so famous for including. I find it interesting that Majora's Mask is completely overlooked here - everything in the story and the feel of the game references Ocarina of Time, as if nothing took place in between. That does not, however, detract from the game.

Well worth the purchase (and hopefully you can still get the bonus disc with the enhanced "Ocarina" included)!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The Legend of Zelda: The Wind ... reviews
review by . January 18, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
A fun but tedious game.
   The Legend Of Zelda: The Wind Waker was the first in a series of Zelda games that made use of cel shading, resulting in a "cartoony" appearance. Due to the childish animation, I myself made the assumption that The Wind Waker would be one of the more kid-friendly Zelda games. After completing the game, I have found that that much is true.       While The Wind Waker follows the traditional Zelda formula, there are a few twists to the plot that keep the …
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Don't write it off just because of the graphics. The storyline is much darker (in a good way!) than I ever thought it would be.
review by . July 11, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
I had loved the Zelda series, but was dismayed when I saw Wind Waker. The cartoonish graphics look childish and amateurish. I nonetheless decided to rent the game and give it a shot. However, I gave up after a half hour or so. It just wasn't fun and wasn't worth my time.
About the reviewer
Michael ()
Ranked #695
Member Since: Sep 29, 2010
Last Login: Oct 1, 2010 01:12 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MTR1973
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker‚Äč is an action-adventure game and the tenth installment in The Legend of Zelda series. It was released for the Nintendo GameCube in Japan on December 13, 2002, in North America on March 24, 2003, in Europe on May 3, 2003, and in Australia on May 7, 2003. The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass for the Nintendo DS is the direct sequel to The Wind Waker.

The game is set on a group of islands in a vast sea—a first for the series. The player controls Link, the protagonist of the Zelda series. He struggles against his nemesis, Ganondorf, for control of a sacred relic known as the Triforce. Link spends a significant portion of the game sailing, traveling between islands, and traversing through dungeons and temples to gain the power necessary to defeat Ganondorf. He also spends time trying to find his little sister.

The Wind Waker follows in the footsteps of Ocarina of Time and its sequel Majora's Mask, retaining the basic gameplay and control system from the two Nintendo 64 titles. A heavy emphasis is placed on using and controlling wind with a baton called the Wind Waker, which aids sailing and floating in air. Controversial during development for its use of cel shading graphics, The Wind Waker received acclaim on release and is one of the Nintendo GameCube's most popular games.

view wiki

Details

Console: Gamecube
Release Date: March 24, 2003
ESRB: Everyone
Number of Players: 1
Publisher: Nintendo
Developer: Nintendo
Genre: Action Role-Playing
Polls
F2B766026CC40ECED528D05A175747A

The best of Zelda and Link

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists