|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Mad » User review

"Does Anyone Else Have Anything to Add About Zombies?"

  • Sep 28, 2009
Rating:
+4

I just couldn't resist putting a vintage Billy Zane photo in there. Can you spot it?

Maybe I'm being about a half star too generous with the flick, but then again maybe I'm not because after all it does have Billy Zane in it and I do love me some Billy Zane. Here he's the absolute antithesis of the amped up character he played in DEMON KNIGHT but it still works. Zane plays a rather quite, restrained medical doctor who is vacationing with his daughter Amy (Maggie Castle), her boyfriend, and his own prospective second wife Monica (Shauna MacDonald) who is very much at odds with teenage Amy. Against his better judgment they stop at a small town where some sort of country fair seems to be taking place, his girlfriend read an article about the town in which it was referred to as "hillbilly nouveau"--very chic apparently, so there's no getting out of it.

What none of them know however, is that the $16.95 hamburger special made from local "free range" cattle is not what it seems and before long everybody who has eaten one is foaming at the mouth and attacking all those who haven't. Naturally this brings up the discussion of whether or not they are really zombies or not--a subject they decide to leave for another time.  Ultimately they learn that all the tainted meat came from one area farm and they decide that some course of action should be taken, and all sorts of bloody comic mayhem ensues. There is one especially funny scene involving father/daughter bonding as they casually fight for their lives in a field of zombies that can justifiably be called classic.

Written by Kevin Hennelly and directed by John Kalagis, THE MAD has a few new twists to offer the genre if only in the form of characterization. Haven't you always wanted to see at least ONE person keep their head on straight and think rationally during a zombie attack? Well Zane's your boy. He's virtually unflappable, even going so far as to discuss with  Monica what dress she should be buried in as he performs an autopsy on her to see if he can learn more about the disease that's infecting everyone! Sure this flick isn't perfect but when you have scenes like that you have to love it.

HYPE FACTOR: Zero, zilch, nada, bupkis.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
December 13, 2010
I liked this one as well, Zane is great in anything.
December 16, 2010
He's got a great comedic touch that I really appreciate and he gets to use it here. Maybe the only film I didn't like was TITANIC and that's because I hated the film as a whole--it wasn't his fault.
 
September 29, 2009
You still have the uncanny knack for finding obscure gems! Impressive find and a great concise review to match!
September 29, 2009
It's a fun flick Woop. I think a couple of our friends have been there before me and they liked it too, but even without their recommendations, Billy Zane would have dragged me in. He has definitely hit middle age though.
October 11, 2009
I actually saw this on sale for $ 8.99....I bought it of course along with several horror movies. This month always makes me broke because of all the great horror movie sales!
October 11, 2009
I don't know that I would have spent more that $5.99 for it myself, but then I'm very cheap.
 
September 28, 2009
Hillbilly nouveau?!? That is RICH! LOL...Are you looking forward to Zombieland?
September 28, 2009
I've been chomping on the bit for months waiting for ZOMBIELAND! I'm hoping to catch the first showing--unless they do a midnight show again. I'm too much of an old fart to stay up that late anymore.
 
September 28, 2009
Interesting review. Is that the Billy Zane of "Titanic" fame?
September 28, 2009
That's Billy Zane of TALES FROM THE CRYPT PRESENTS: DEMON KNIGHT  fame. Yes, he was in TITANIC.
September 28, 2009
Ha. He was also in "Back to the Future" parts I and II, as well as in the very silly "The Phantom" film.
September 28, 2009
I liked THE PHANTOM, it was pretty fair for what it was. Hard to believe that Catherine Zeta-Jones was in that. She just sort of melted into the background. Shows what the right makeup can do.
September 29, 2009
Demon Knight will be included in my Halloween horror run! and I liked THE PHANTOM too...we are talking about the purple-garbed hero right?
September 29, 2009
Go get 'em Woop. It's truly deserving of several great write ups! Zane at his best! With the right decisions, he could have been another Bruce Campbell.
September 30, 2009
Am I the only one who thought that "The Phantom" was a campy cheesefest that sucked raw eggs?
September 30, 2009
I dunno, I always thought I was in the minority on this one. It was a great looking movie, nice sets, Sri Lanka looked gorgeous, so did Zane. It was more fun that I thought it was going to be. And don't eggs HAVE to be raw in order to be sucked?
September 30, 2009
No, you could suck on a boiled egg quite easily... not that I ever have (thought I should specify before someone made a dirty joke).
September 30, 2009
A hardboiled egg? How could it be sucked out of its shell?
September 30, 2009
You could suck on the shell, Queenie. I wouldn't try it though, sounds like a potential choking hazard to me.
October 11, 2009
raw eggs are actually quite good. As for the PHANTOM, yes it was campy and fun. The first time I laid eyes on Catherine Zeta-Jones.....good times.
October 11, 2009
I own a copy of it myself. Nice scenery all around.
October 13, 2009
DEMON KNIGHT is reviewed and posted. =)
October 13, 2009
I'm there!
 
1
More The Mad reviews
review by . July 30, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
      THE MAD      I have to say that this ranks way up there with any zombie movie I have ever seen, particularly the comedy ones. I don't think it would be my favorite but it is up there with them for sure, more of a tongue n check type film. There is a lot of intellectual humor in this film and the performances feel real, which usually does not happen. This is the type of film that you would watch with some close friends on a weekend night expecting …
Quick Tip by . May 01, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
An entertaining zombie romp that doesn't take itself seriously at all.
About the reviewer
karen ()
Ranked #21
I am the poster child for inertia. Where ever I am is where I plan to stay FOREVER.   So much so in fact that it took me decades to understand the punchline about why   the chicken … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
QUEENBFLIX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by QUEENBFLIX
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists