|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » The Reversal (book) » User review

The Reversal (Book)

Michael Connelly's Mickey Haller and Harry Bosch Team Up to Retry a Child Killer Whose Sentence Was Overturned

< read all 4 reviews

Mickey Haller and Harry Bosch Make a Great Team!

  • Sep 11, 2010
Rating:
+5
Mickey Haller is asked by the District Attorney's Office to cross the aisle and be the prosecutor in the retrial of Jason Jessup. Through use of DNA testing a key piece of evidence from the 1986 trial was thrown out and Jessup's conviction has been overturned. Jessup was convicted of abducting and killing a young girl and dumping her body.

Mickey is reluctant to take the case at first feeling that it is a losing proposition and against his nature as a defense lawyer but he is soon convinced to do it. He chooses Maggie McPherson, his ex-wife as his assistant and none other than his half-brother, Harry Bosch to be his investigator.

Connelly does a masterful job of writing, using first person when the chapters are more about Mickey, and third person when the chapters focus on Harry. This style works quite well. As the story progresses Harry calls in the services of his old girlfriend Rachel Walling, who blends into the tale quite nicely. Haller tries to use his own experience as a defender to anticipate all the moves of his opponent in court and most times is quite correct in his assumptions.

As Jessup is awaiting trial, he is allowed out and the press follows him around like he is a celebrity. This shows the ugliness of our society where vicious criminals can sometimes be admired Also people mistakenly think that if that if criminals are treated well, they will be your friend and change their ways. It is apparent that Jessup hasn't changed his ways and his nightly travels suggest that he is up to something. It is up to Mickey, Maggie and Harry to keep all their wits and work at constant overtime to make sure Jessup is taken down again before he can get his way.

The book doesn't have as much action as past Bosch/Haller individual tales, but the courtroom dialogue exchanges are great and Harry's investigative talents are at their best. I hope Mr. Connelly can come up with more creative ways going forward to keep Harry and Mickey working together!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
October 27, 2010
This sounds like a great read! Thanks for the review and I will be checking it out soon. :) I'd actually ready several reviews for it, but this one sold me. I think the 1st/3rd person style works great if used properly. And you mentioned the "d" (dialogue) word. Not to mention the story itself sounds engrossing. Thanks again for the review. I'll let you know what I think after I find/read it. :)
October 27, 2010
Both of these characters have a lot of great individual novels (Bosch about 12 and Haller 2). This is only the third pairing of the two and by far the best.
 
September 12, 2010
This sounds more like the character driven psychological story that I've come to know and love from MIchael Connelly. I'll definitely look forward to this one. Nice review, Michael.
 
September 12, 2010
Good review -- does this author have others of a series with these characters?
September 12, 2010
Oh my goodness yes ... do NOT under any circumstances read this book if you haven't read others. All of the characters and their relationships are built up carefully over, (gosh ... what is it now?) almost a dozen novels. The debut in the Harry Bosch series is The Black Echo. You won't regret starting at the beginning.
September 12, 2010
Thanks!
September 13, 2010
Scotman, Mickey Haller was known as The Lincoln Lawyer because he worked out of his Lincoln Continental instead of an office. His first book is called that. Harry Bosch is one of the best investigators in fiction since Sherlock Holmes and his early books are great.
 
1
More The Reversal (book) reviews
review by . March 16, 2011
The perceptive voice of defense attorney Mickey Hatcher leads the reader into a case of kidnapping and murder that occurred over a half century ago. Most of the witnesses and trial officers are deceased or mentally unable to remember the details of the case.      Mickey, who has been a well thought of defense attorney, is asked to cross the aisle and work for the prosecution. Jason Jessup has been in prison for the twenty-four years for kidnapping of Melissa Landry.   …
review by . January 03, 2011
Dream Team
Author Michael Connelly is best known for his superb Harry Bosch series, and in the past few years, has added another character to his body of work, that of brash, unconventional defense attorney Mickey Haller. Connelly is now at the point where he can combine and reshuffle characters from each series, creating a familiar community of pros devoted to pursuing justice in Los Angeles. I’ve enjoyed each and every one of the books that came before The Reversal, and now, without hesitation, can …
review by . December 10, 2010
Connelly is at the top of his craft
              Defense attorney Mickey Haller and his ex-wife, an assistant DA, together with his half brother LAPD detective Harry Bosch, are working on the same side trying to convict a man who allegedly murdered a twelve year old girl. Thus the novel can offer readers keen, clever, and humorous court drama and incisive, in-depth police work, an opportunity that author Michael Connelly fulfils in spades.          &nb …
About the reviewer

Ranked #7
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Longtime defense attorney Mickey Haller is recruited to change stripes and prosecute the high-profile retrial of a brutal child murder. After 24 years in prison, convicted killer Jason Jessup has been exonerated by new DNA evidence. Haller is convinced Jessup is guilty, and he takes the case on the condition that he gets to choose his investigator, LAPD Detective Harry Bosch.

Together, Bosch and Haller set off on a case fraught with political and personal danger. Opposing them is Jessup, now out on bail, a defense attorney who excels at manipulating the media, and a runaway eyewitness reluctant to testify after so many years.

With the odds and the evidence against them, Bosch and Haller must nail a sadistic killer once and for all. If Bosch is sure of anything, it is that Jason Jessup plans to kill again.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists