|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Cafe Libri » Reviews » The Screwtape Letters & Screwtape Proposes A Toast » User review

Where to even begin?!

  • Jun 21, 2010
Rating:
+5

Seriously, this book...it's fantastic.

I first read it at an age rather too young for proper comprehension, though it did entertain me some at the time. After reading it over a few more times as a teen and young adult, it began to speak to me in a way it hadn't when I was younger.

As a Christian, this book is more to me than an entertaining read. For me it's the second handbook on devils. (The first, of course, being the Bible.)

EVERYONE should read this book. As said, I am a Christian so this book takes on a special meaning for me. But even so, your religion matters not in the slightest. If it does not mean something to you, you will still be thoroughly entertained by reading this and your thoughts will probably be provoked.

The setting and plot consist of during WWII America, an older devil writes letters of advice to his nephew, a young devil just getting started in the way of...devilry, I suppose.

On the topic of character development...the main characters are fairly static, keeping true to Biblical teaching. Their victims, however...very dynamic.

Reading this book is like peering into the window (or reading the notes from, as it were) a "top-secret" devil's meeting, the topic being how to cause people to stumble and ensure their feast of human souls in Hell.

I'm fairly certain I'd not be far off to call CS Lewis the most phenomenal Christian author of all time thus far, not counting the men who were responsible for the writing of the Bible itself.

Bottom line: READ IT. You will not regret it. Unless you are a Satanist, then, well, I don't know what to tell you.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
July 03, 2010
thanks for the review! i totally agree. i enjoyed this book sooooo much :)
July 03, 2010
Glad you liked it and agree! Means you have good taste :)
 
June 23, 2010
Thanks for the insightful review and why it matters to you.  I've finished the Narnia series and have been looking for another Lewis book to delve into.  I now know which one I'm going to pick based on your appreciation for the book.
July 03, 2010
Go for it! :) I must say, I love Narnia just as much as the next person but it's got nothing on Screwtape.
 
1
More The Screwtape Letters & Screwt... reviews
review by . October 23, 2010
I was telling my teens about The Screwtape Letters, and decided to read it again after many years. There are parts of the story that have stayed with me over the years, and others that refreshed in my mind regarding how unsettling it is to see ourselves in the subtleties of evil.    In a series of 33 letters written by a demon named Screwtape to his nephew, Wormword, on how to corrupt mankind, C.S. Lewis has masterfully captured both the large and small evils of life that can …
review by . June 29, 2010
The Screwtape Letters by C. S. Lewis is a really interesting take on the Christian idea of spiritual warfare.  The story follows a rookie demon, named Wormwood, who is being instructed by one of the higher-ups in the demonic hierarchy named "Uncle" Screwtape.  As Uncle Screwtape takes Wormwood under his wing, he attempts through a series of letters to illustrate to Wormwood the proper methods of tempting human beings.  Though it may sound like this book is very dark and …
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
My favorite of C.S. Lewis' writings. For some reason very few people make it all the way through this book. Maybe it lags a little in the middle, but it is totally worth sticking it out for. Great, great read.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Lewis' apologia and gentle explanation of Christianity, where a minor devil explains how to "cure" the "patient" of his beliefs. Satirical and witty.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Not my favorite book by Lewis, but an entertaining read!
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
C.S Lewis is a hero for theologians!
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
A very unique, interesting way to discuss temptation, morality, and salvation. As odd as it sounds, I fell in love with this book when I read it the first time.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
LOVED this book. sooooooo interesting
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Excellent satire.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
One of my absolute favourite books. Required reading.
About the reviewer
Danni ()
Ranked #893
Member Since: Jun 16, 2010
Last Login: Oct 26, 2010 07:28 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
PaperHeart
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic
First to Review

"Where to even begin?!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists