|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A Quick Tip by flyingwitheagles

  • Jul 7, 2010
I always wanted to live there. A great secret escape for girls to read regardless of the era. A timeless classic.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More The Secret Garden reviews
review by . June 28, 2010
   I had tried to read this book perhaps two or three times in my childhood, but had always been put off by the first few paragraphs, which spoke of a “tyrannical and selfish little pig” of a girl who “was yellow because she had been born in India.” The introduction of the book conveyed the image of such a negative and disagreeable character that I didn’t feel like going on! Recently, however, I was required to read Burnett’s The Secret Garden for one …
review by . July 01, 2010
I would read this book all the time in grade school and enjoy reading it again from time to time. Orphaned Mary is sent from India, where she was born and semi-raised by inattentive parents who die in a cholera epidemic, to England to be raised by an uncle she didn't know she had. She's mostly kept under the care of the house manager and finds the garden of the title that had once belonged to her aunt. Of course, she becomes healthier and less sallow as she tends the garden. She discoverers …
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
I always thought this was a cute book. The movie wasn't so bad,either.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
This is a great book for young readers. Ever since I was a little girl reading this, I've been searching for secret gardens.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
A guilty pleasure of mine. Great read and well written.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
I can't imagine how any young girl could not get drawn into this story. a classic!
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
Lovely book for young girls.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
To read it is to experience a foreign childhood
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Sweet story, with descriptions that make you wish for a garden of your own.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
oh man, this briings back memories
About the reviewer

Ranked #1418
Member Since: Jun 18, 2010
Last Login: Jul 13, 2010 01:41 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
flyingwitheagles
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists